We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“false hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Ranked #1 of 146 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“false hospitality”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Let's start with pros, always, even if there aren't so many at the end.
The island is amazing, the people, relaxed environment, a swedish flair. Because of some reason (now I know many) this island is so popular among swedish people, they keep coming every year, there are plenty of repeaters. The good thing about it is, they are very open and willing to give you useful advise about all different aspects of perfect holidays. In our hotel I liked a couple of people from the service, charming genuine hospitality.
However even them couldn't fix some very bad experience of our stay there. First of all, the stress of paying everything straight away you're not used anymore in the hotels. Common a bit of trust, we're not running away! We're good honest people and what is even more important, we came here to relax, to forget our every day stress and get spoilt by our hosts. Not even a trace of it! The best part was, I mean it ironically, the breakfast. Imagine, you come relaxed and well rested to the breakfast room and you're challenged with very "important" decisions...how many slices of bread, how many eggs, how many, how much etc. Which means, you have to have a plan before entering the breakfast room, a very clear one. Pretty disturbing. Common, put a couple of basket with bread, butter etc. The people will only appreciate a smooth start into the day!
The hotel is located on a very trafficked road you should across to get to the beach. It´s very noisy at the night as well. Beside that the hotel is not cheap at all, staying on the island for some days you can find plenty of properties at the same price and directly on the beach. We talked to some people who would book a hotel only for one night, explore the island very quickly and move to the hotel they liked on spot the day after. It's definitely a very good idea!
The worst part within our stay were the arrangements with your transfer to the airport. The cheapest option is a collective transfer which is priced the highest in the hotel. Ok, we wanted to order it in the hotel anyway and got a very vague explanation that is very bad very slow not reliable at all. The whole way to push us to order a private transfer which is much more expensive. We refused, got recommendation by almost local swedish friends to use a local travel agency. We're very satisfied. A much cheaper transfer, a car was much more comfortable than a private transfer (we used one to come to the island) and it was so fast!
It's so sad that the hotel kind of playing you around. For me it's alfa and omega to rely on the information of the hotel. A very bad sign though that you can't do it in this one.

Room Tip: not the one overviewing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LantaMermaid, General Manager at Lanta Mermaid Boutique House, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review as it is always good to receive constructive feedback and I thank you, on behalf of my Team. I have noted your comments and will ensure the Operations Manager, Food & Beverage are addressed and remedial action is taken.
We apologize that we could not reach to your satisfaction and thank you once again for your valuable reviews.

Kind Regards
LMBH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    90
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
55
384
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful! You can just cross the street and you will get to klong dao beach. The staff is amazing, U-sa and Mr Chai make you feel at home, they give pretty good advice about tours and places to visit and they take care of you in every way they can, lending umbrellas when raining, lending books, games, etc. Beautiful beautiful place, stay at Lanta Mermaid and you won't regret it.
Tip: rent a motorbike and take a look around the island, in my opinion this is the best and cheapest way to do it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Albany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydeny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights the manager was very friendly an helpful, the rooms were spacious and have a nice private balcony. The hotel is in a good location for exploring the island. I strongly recommend stating here when you visit Koh Lanta.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimentz, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent 5 nights in this hotel just before the start of the monsoon season: me, my daughter Soph and my son Tom. Sophie lives and works in Thailand and was already familiar with Koh Lanta, but it was Tom who found this particular boutique hotel (we'd already done Phuket, Bangkok and Chiang Mai) as our last place to stay before the end of our Thailand adventures. The hotel was simply perfect: amazingly clean, very friendly staff, the best and most generous breakfast I've come across in a long time, easy access to the beach across the main road, yoga, the local town of Sala Dan -- vg aircon in the room, very hot showers, a generous supply of iced water. The Thai restaurant next door was excellent and very good value for money, and we were within easy walking distance of the nearest 7/11, and even a local tailor to mend my torn shirt. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the mountain, rather than the beach side, for a quieter night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here with my family at the end of April and can't speak highly enough about this lovely hotel. The staff always went out of their way to ensure we were well looked after. The breakfast is delicious and really good value too. It's within walking distance of Khlong Dao beach which is lovely, quiet and clean. I'd recommend going with a mountain view room as there are cracks in the door for the sea view rooms and you can pretty much hear everything out on the road. Very high standards of cleanliness. Just be aware the cleaning staff will move your possessions when they clean, so put anything away that's of value to you just in case.

Room Tip: Go with mountain view room as sea view is by road and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank schmeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We chose this hotel based on recommendations and were not let down. It's perfectly clean, the rooms are functional and spacious. We had one with sea view which overlooked the street and then soon the sea. Not exactly a full-on sea panorama, but was good enough.
The price in the low season was very good and as others say it was not an issue to walk 2 minutes to the beach. Beach towels and beach mat is free of charge just as beach-volleyball and other stuff to play with.
Chai had great recommendations on restaurants (the Thai Orchid had indeed great food) and arranged whatever we asked for.

The only slight annoyance was with the AC, it's quite noisy and blows directly on the bed. We didn't catch a cold or anything, but this could be a problem for some.

Room Tip: Choose sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Very, very clean and new hotel with aircon, TV, balcony. The furniture is excellent, the staff super friendly and helpful and the road is not loud! Next door is a good restaurant, a german bakery 10 min walking, beach 1 min. walking. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
1.4 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,401 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Mermaid Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Mermaid Boutique House

Property: Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Address: 333 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Mermaid Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House is an alternative choice for your relaxation. You will be welcomed with the luxurious rooms, comparable to five stars hotels, yet having lower price and impressive environments and surroundings. Here! The place where you will learn that ‘Heaven is really on earth.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lanta Mermaid Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing