We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - our haven in Koh Lanta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Ranked #1 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel - our haven in Koh Lanta”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed at the Mermaid for most of our trip in Koh Lanta - a little over a week. We started with two nights booked from Agoda, and then ended up extended almost a week more. The place is immaculate - we didn't even want to wear our flip flops in the hotel it was so clean - with free internet use for guests. The hotel staff were top notch, arranging for a motorbike to be brought to the hotel for us an hour after we arrived. The location is close to Saladan Pier, which has quite a few seafood restaurants and where you take off for dive trips, so convenient in that way, and there are a few good restaurants a motorbike ride away (Time for Lime is a must try for example). The bed was one of the most comfortable we had during our three week trip in Thailand... which meant at times, getting up for breakfast and coming back to bed until one in the afternoon... when there were lovely beaches to visit! The rooms look like the pictures on their site (unlike other hotels, I've noticed from booking online quite a lot in Thailand) and the rates during low season are a steal. No pool, but five minute walk to the beach. I'm recommending to all of our friends to stay here when they come to Lanta.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    89
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
383
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and payed 950 bath for 1 night for the frontside room.
We chosen this hotel because of the good reviews here on TA.
The manager and his staff are very friendly and do everything for you to enjoy your stay.
We rented a scooter for just 200 bath a day so we could see the island by our own.
The rooms are very clean and cleaned everyday. Bathroom is fine with a shower and free showergel en shampoo. Television with loads of channels and with GOAL TV so I could watch the dutch league in my room.
I can recommend this hotel to everyone, the combination of the rooms and the hospitality are PERFECT.
We stayed at the second floor and you will hear some traffic but it's not annoying.

Lanta Mermaid thanks for your kindness and see you next time!
Greetings,
Merijn and Maartje

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merijn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

2 nights in low season...nothing to do in ko lanta but the owner offered us many things we could do anyway...he did everything for us!Altough the weather was pretty bad, we enjoyed our visit in ko lanta....and BUBU island!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spandou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I just stayed here last week with a buddy during the off season and really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are top notch - clean, fancy, comfortable - and the staff very courteous and helpful. The one who took answered our questions and gave us great recommendations on what to do and see, Somkrit, as well as the staff there, were very professional and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone who visits Lanta.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_b577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Stayed there two nights on 27 and 28 January 2010. We chose the hotel based on reviews on TA and booked direct paying discounted rate of 1800 baht per night with breakfast, but 3% added for reservation by credit card. The only way I can understand
why this hotel is so highly rated on Trip Advisor is that the standard
of accommodation in Koh Lanta is so low in general.
First the good news: the hotel is spotlessly clean, it's easy to find,
the rooms are modern and well equipped, the beach is across the road
and walk about 100 metres. The owner is friendly and helpful with travel advice.
Unfortunately there's more bad news than you would have hoped for: the
main road that passes directly on front of the hotel. Having read the
other reviews we asked for a mountain view room at the back, but it's still noisy.
The mountain view rooms don't have any window so it's very dark inside
and you need the lights on all the time. There's a small balcony with
two chairs but you'd be brave to sit out there as it smells bad from
the bin/trash that must be kept below. There's also a problem with
mosquitos that come in if you leave the balcony door open. There's an
ac unit in the room, but infortunately it's either old/cheap or both
and is noisy when you try to sleep.
On arrival, the owner presents you will a long list of instructions
that need to be followed and there's a copy in the room in case you
forget them. He also takes a credit card guarantee of 4000 baht in
case you break the rules eg. You mark one of the white sheets with
suncream. At 5.45am you will be awoken by the call to prayer from the
mosque just up the road.
We hoped the breakfast would be the redeeming feature but again it was
poor: a banana, a piece of papaya, two toasts, orange juice and coffee
- all of which were not of the best quality.
This is one of a series of 18 reviews posted during a two month stay in southern Thailand from Dec 2009 to Feb 2010.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank we_love_two_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LantaMermaid, Manager at Lanta Mermaid Boutique House, responded to this review, 26 April 2010
Dear valued guests,
Thank you for your review though unfortunately there are things at our hotel which are not up to your high standard. We beg for your apology if you were not satisfied while staying with us. But we would like to have a chance to explain as it might affect our reputation in the future.
1. As for the smell from the balcony, we never keep any garbage to be rotten , we always put our garbage in garbage bags and get rid of them everyday . And we are 100% sure that on the fourth floor which you stayed (we know from our guest record) , there would be no smell at all.
2. The balcony’s door has glass window so it is easily get the light if you open the curtain. And there would be more light coming in from the glass window of the toilet room too. And it is possible that there maybe some mosquitoes coming in the room if you leave the balcony’s door open because we are in Thailand which located t the tropical zone. Mosquitoes are one problem in our way of life too. But to avoid the mosquitoes, please close your balcony’s door in night time.
3. Our breakfast is American breakfast, ( A la carte) with Eggs & Crispy Bacon or sausage, fresh fruits (2 kinds of fruit ), Orange juice, Toast, Coffee or tea (which we add more until you are full).
4. As you mentioned in your webpage that , When traveling, I:Try to blend in with the locals.
The prayer from Muslim Mosque every morning is one thing in their way of life which makes the charm of Koh Lanta. Because you may see that there are people in vary races and religions staying at Koh Lanta with harmonious way. They can live together though they have different beliefs and cultures. And we respect that.
5. As for the credit card verify 4,000Thb for room guarantee, we have already mentioned in our website, which you must have known already before you decided to make a reservation with us. The reason we have to do this is because some of the guests had broken things in the room, though unintentionally but carelessly, and it is a cost for us.
Please kindly understand that this is not an excuse from us. We just would like to explain the truth. And we are really sorry for any inconvenience that might cause you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We travelled for over a year and stayed in dozens of hotels (1* in outback Australia to 5* in Dubai) so we certainly have a good idea of service. These guys are absolutely exceptional! We have not met staff who push as hard as these lot do to provide such a great service. Breakfast is delicious and well balanced; rooms are immaculate; and service is second to none. We would also suggest ignoring the 'poor' review mentioning aggression - we both laughed when we read this. If you met the lovely people that run this hotel, you'd know exactly why. This review is surely an error and meant for another hotel. Thank you everyone at Mermaid Boutique. We wish you all the success in the world. Lee and Annabel

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I wish we could have stayed longer. Ridiculously clean, beautiful, steps from a gorgeous beach. Owners and staff are always present and very helpful. From meeting us at the pier with our names on a sign, to arranging cooking classes, tours, and airport transportation, they made us feel welcome every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
1.4 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Mermaid Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Mermaid Boutique House

Property: Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Address: 333 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Mermaid Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House is an alternative choice for your relaxation. You will be welcomed with the luxurious rooms, comparable to five stars hotels, yet having lower price and impressive environments and surroundings. Here! The place where you will learn that ‘Heaven is really on earth.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Lanta Mermaid Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing