We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but disappointing accommodation and value for money”
Review of Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lanta Resort
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Marazion, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location but disappointing accommodation and value for money”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed for 9 nights at Lanta Resort having pre-booked this prior to our trip to SE asia. This is our 10th visit to Thailand (first visit to Lanta) so we have some experience of beach accommodation here and also in other parts of the Far East.

I would definitely recommend Ko Lanta and Long Beach but I would not stay at Lanta resort again, perhaps the Sayang Beach Bungalows next door would offer better accomodation at a more reasonable price.

Our room was a superior bungalow B09. This is the cheapest room that the hotel offers but we still felt that it represented poor value for money because it felt in a poor state of repair and wasn't clean. The shower was very old and not a very nice experience, there was a massive crack running up the bathroom wall, one of the skylights in the bathroom was held up by sellotape and there was evidence of wood boring insects in two areas in the bedroom. There was no telephone in the bedroom, we were told to go to the restaurant if we needed to contact reception. Having to pay 50B per night to use the safe in our room was over the top in my opinion. Our bed linen was changed for the first time on the day before our departure i.e after 8 nights of our 9 night stay - why would they do this?. We suspect that this linen may have been left for the guests who came after us. There were dirty marks on the mirror and TV in our bedroom on arrival which we reported to reception. they were still there when we left. The room has no tea/coffee making facilities so we bought a kettly and a couple of mugs from the large store across the road from the hotel.

This hotel appears to be set up to deal with package holidays from Sweden, Norway & Finland with many guests travelling with Ving.se. I would estimate that 95% of the guests at the hotel during our stay were from this part of Europe. There were travel reps visible in the hotel and on the beach on most days organising activities for their guests (including the Lollo & Bernie show for the children). Breakfast was very busy and noisy as the hotel appears to be popular with families with small children. However, we found the actual choice of food at breakfast to be good. Get up early to get a lounger on the beach, you have to put your towels out, or instead sit on the sand and wait for someone to depart!

The layout of the hotel is split, you have the bungalows near to the beach, ours was approx 50 yards away which was a real benefit. The bungalows are set in gardens which are very pleasant. I think this part of the resort existed long before the other buildings went up, as can be seen on Google Maps (only the bungalows are visible). The rest of the resort is set further away from the beach and nearer to the road and the accommodation looks more mediterranean in style. There is one part, which I think is the 'superior hotel' rooms that are near to the road and it's quite a walk to the beach.

Long beach is great and the location of the resort is perfect, at the northern end and near to a stretch of bars and great restaurants and a few small stores selling supplies. The sand on the beach is coarse near the trees and fine the closer you get to the sea. because the beach slopes reasonably steeply (but evenly), the tide doesn't disappear into the distance when it goes out. Swimming was safe and the water was clear. There was no annoying noise from jet-ski's so a great place to relax. This end of the beach appeared to compare well, particularly compared to the Lanta Castaway/Good days Lanta end which was more rocky and had more debris washed up and of course there was a small river down there too. Lanta Resort's location is it's best feature so if you are choosing a superior bungalow and don't mind poor accommodation then you should be fine. We found that there were more than enough options for eating on the beach every evening and there were great sunsets every night.

We enjoyed our holiday at Long Beach but sadly this was despite Lanta Resort, and not because of it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feeni&Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    100
    76
    34
    34
See reviews for
92
144
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We upgraded our room to a pool access room. The design is very nice, you have a long stretch of pool (separate from the main pool) right in front your balcony. This pool is a bit dirty compared to the main pool though.

The location is good! 50bht per person will take you to saladan town which has many shops and restaurant. The resort is also near to the beach, where you can find many affordable seafood restaurants and cheap Thai massage place. ( don't bother going town for Thai massage, I personally love it by the beach).

The breakfast is a bit boring and very western. It may not suit Asians taste bud.

Only 2 things I was not happy with:

The water. I actually upgraded my room for the bathtub inside. But They had some piping maintenance issues during the days I stayed there and The water was yellow very yellow. I Can't stand myself soaking in a tub of yellow water so the bathtub was actually not utilised at all. Even after the maintenance, I still feel the water taste/smell rusty, my hair and skin just feels weird after bathing.

The service. One receptionist can speak good English. The other can't. It is kind of unsecured when they seems not understanding what you are talking about. So do ur homework well.

Lastly, there is no free wifi. If u dont mind.

P/s not sure anyone still wondering, as I myself wanted to find out before I reached krabi: yes, krabi airport DOES visa on arrival. At least for now. It cost 1000bht I think.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach_lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We found this resort through groupon. It turned out to be better than expected. We stayed in room B104. Excellent room, nice location, near to beach. It cost 50 baht to saladan from this resort. Breakfast was good. Only negative point was that they did not take responsibility for any loss of personal goods. You need to pay 50 baht extra/night for using a locker. The staffs were friendly and greeting people when they see. Overall, satisfied with their service.
You can read more about my experience in my blog: http://triptokarabi.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbeeshThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tønsberg, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This January, we went to Thailand for the fourth time, and to Ko lanta for the second time. We had booked two weeks in a delux bungalow, and loved it. Breakfast ok, poolbar menu a bit booring - but you have the beach with numerous restaurants and bars minutes away, so you have an option for lunch.

I have never experienced a soft bed in Thailand - no exception this time. And no surprise - you get used to it. This is how it is!

We experienced however a very friendly and serviceminded staff, and the bugalow was cleaned to our satisfaction every day. The pool- areea is great, especially if you travel with kids - as we did. But the best part: the bungalows are located so close to the bach, that you can walk barefoot down to the beach in the evening, and find the most beautiful sunset and the best restaurant on the beach - Thai Cat - just 100 metres away.

After two weeks at Lanta Resort, we had booked one week at Kata beach on Phuket - at Kata Poolside Resort. What a dissapointment!!!!! Kata beach was so over crowded, so busy and the room so depressing - that we packed our luggage after two nights - and went BACK to Lanta Resort for our last 5 days. This time we got a delux room with poolaccess - almost even better than the bungalow the previous two weeks!

The resort also had a kids club, with actvities in the morning, the middle of the day - and sometimes also in the early afternoon - wich is perfect if you travel with kids. Gives the partents som relaxing alone- time.

I can also recommend the massage - facilities on the resort, just by the pool. Nice and friendly ladies. A bit more expencive than similar massages on the beach - but worth it.

Tha reosrt is located on quite a big area, but kept clean and with well kept gardens with flowers and pathways, throughout the area and down to the beach.

We will go there again - no doubt!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LivR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanta_Resort, Hotel Staff at Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
First at all , we would like to say thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor , really appreciate to know that you have a goodtime here ;)

For the pool menu we will discuss with our General Manager again maybe he can gets some surprise on the menu !

Our concept is " Family Resort " , so .... Yeah, just step in and feel like your second home !

Hope to have a chance to service you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Check-in... reservation can't be found even with numerous email confirmation. Front office staff speaks little English or none at all with limited vocab; e.g. Yep!. Rooms are spacious but everything else is a let down. In room safe deposit box has extra charge if guest intends to use it. It has a little laminated note informing guest to be careful with their belongings and safe deposit box charges per day. Rooms are not cleaned properly. Shower taps are falling apart off it's hinges. Basically, this resort charges the guest as they like with alot of hidden fees if you're not careful. I had email correspondence and Groupon voucher T&C stating clearly surcharge rates are only applicable on 16th onwards. I checked in on the 11th-15th. The GM of the resort happily impose extra surcharge for peak season for every day I stayed. Even when confronted and he held the corresponding documents in his hands, he chooses to ignore. Finally he had to adhere to black & white documents as stated without extra charges else it's unfair to guests. If I had paid full rack rates for this resort, I'd have regretted my decision... so very badly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajslr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Thai Nguyen, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Found this resort by chance. Checked in for one to two days. Stayed one week. Perfect location right on a quiet beach. Good swimming and snorkling around some nearby rocks. Well appointed bungalows set in tropical garden. Kept very clean by friendly staff. Helpfull owner always on site. Internet room with WIFI available. Beach side restaurant with a small bar. Great for watching the terrific sunsets. A few more restaurant/bars a short walk away on the beach. All in all, great value for such a relaxing resort. We will be returning next year and intend to stay longer.

Room Tip: newer rooms closer to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Very nice clean bungalows with fridge,close to the beach with sunbeds and good possibilty to mix sun and shadow. Excellent breakfast with multiple choices.
Infrastructure and architecture is traditional traditional. Position near town, beach and restaurants, ideal for marine activities ie diving. Large choice of dvds and books available. Friendly staff, at reception and spa especially.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Euphorigenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
1.1 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#32 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Resort

Property: Lanta Resort
Address: 243 Moo 3 Pra-Ae Beach | Saladan Subdistrict, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROMANTIC LUXURY LANTA RESORT ON PRA-AE BEACH OR LONG BEACH, KOH LANTA, KRABI. Serenity, romantic, spacious and in the best location are probably best described Lanta Resort. Lanta Resort is ideally located among lush greenery with tranquil environment. Lanta Resort prides itself with a beautifully-landscaped garden and magnificent view of the white sandy beach. Lanta Resort is located on Pra-ae beach or Long beach, one of the best beach locations on Koh Lanta; only 5 minutes drive to Saladan - the island's centre for shopping, dining and night life entertainment. "Where the nature unfolds" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing