We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing and Short-Sighted Experience”
Review of Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lanta Resort
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing and Short-Sighted Experience”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We (two couples) arrived at Lanta Resort after a small ferry from phi-phi, looking forward to relaxation and beach lifestyle for 5 nights. As soon as we arrived the "fun began".
We arrived at 12:30, unfortunately the manager told us that we would have to wait till 2:30 for our room to be prepared. This was fine, as we knew that we had arrived early, so we proceeded to the games room to spend some time waiting. We enter the "GAMES ROOM" a room consisting of dust everywhere, old safes open and riddled on the floor (VERY REASSURING FOR SECURITY) and two pool tables with only one cue that was usable and balls and table destroyed, at least it was free. At 2:15 our girlfriends went to ask if our room was nearly ready. The manager scowled at them, raising his voice saying that he had said 3:30 when 4 witnesses, "us", all attested otherwise. It was clear that the hotel was largely empty and he could have easily assigned us with another room, but it was as though he thought that his hostility and aggression would cause no implications for his hotel. Not only will I not recommend it, I am denigrating it as a result of his actions but also other experiences in the hotel. Anyway after this farce, we were begrudgingly given room keys and sent to the E building a solid 300 metre walk from reception, and possibly 1 km from the beach. This would be fine, but at night the whole area is so poorly lit and patrolled that one feels unsafe in the hotel, as any local could enter this outcast building and ransack the clients. This was a horrific start to our stay. Now I will condense and be more clear, I just thought that knowledge had to be passed on.

PROS
Pool is lovely and warm.
Mr. Wee's Pizza down the beach from the resort has some of the best pizza and food in thailand.
Rooms are modern and extremely large and comfortable.

CONS
Staff are abysmal, with the aforementioned manager smoking in the reception at breakfast time for all guests to see. THIS MAN MUST BE REMOVED, that in itself would have been a star higher.

"Free" Wi-Fi in the lobby doesn't work, causing us to miss a flight booking, but that was another debacle.
The poolside restaurant has 3 tables in a complex that could house a 1000 guests at one time, that makes soooo much sense.

Pool is tiny and gets crowded, especially since people leave beach towels everywhere all day.
Valentine's buffet was a shocker flies all over open meat plates, unlabelled noodles, the only thing edible was the roast beef and POPCORN ???

Multiple hairs baked into our Room Service Lasagne, DISGRACEFUL. the only thing they could get right was french fries and some cocktails during happy hour.

If you get lodged in E block get ready for continual trekking.

AVOID, AVOID, AVOID this establishment at all costs. Management are woeful, obviously fail to realise that terrible treatment causes ramifications, I mean we are paying their wages by staying there. Make sure if you fall, hit your head and book this "Retar...I mean...Resort" make sure to get a deluxe, not a superior room !

Room Tip: Make sure to get a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    99
    76
    34
    33
See reviews for
90
144
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February we were very disappointed the room was not ready we were told we could put cases in the room. It was just the bathroom that needed cleaning. Once we got to the room nothing had been cleaned we had to wait a further half hour . The bed looked very creased like it hadnt been changed from the previous occupant, the room was covered in dead squashed Mosquitos they could ave been easily removed with a cloth.the room smelt musty the furniture was old and stained the toilet seat was covered in black stains and looked awful. The sun beds by the pool don't have seat pads and were very uncomfortable it was also very hard to get a sun bed as many people got up ever 6 and put towels on them. Breakfast very bland nothing exciting . Overall we were very disappointed with the hotel it definitely wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is on a beautiful beach with lots of options for meals on the beach. At night the small beach restaurants set up lights and put tables on the beach and offer great choices for delicious food. The resort is also just a tuk- tuk drive into Saladan, an interesting little town for shopping or dinner.
As for the hotel,so much more could be done to improve it. The common areas need a facelift and need to be cleaner. We were in the garden building which looks like an abandoned original part of the hotel and the entrance and corridors were not clean. The room was large but the bathroom was very basic and could have been cleaner and there was no place to hang towels. The towels were old,thin and stained. Breakfast was average, the pool area was fine and the villas and bungalows on the way to the beach look nice from the outside. There are not even close to enough chairs on the beach and they are the white plastic kind. The beachside restaurant looks nice but we did not eat there. This hotel has such a good location and could be so much better than it is.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We had 5 nights at this resort in January 2013. We stayed in a delux room which had pool access adjoining our balcony which was fantastic. Our room was comfortable however we struggled to have a hot shower. Other family members who were in another room in the complex had a similar problem. We mentioned the issue however nothing changed. The daily breakfast was ok as was the poolside menu. We ate in the beachside restaurant and the food was great. The resort is in easy walking distance to lots of other restaurants along the beach. All staff were friendly and helpful with the exception of the front desk who need to work on their people skills.For what we paid we thought we got good value for our money.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed there for 3 weeks on peak season Dec 2012-Jan 2013 with my husband. We had a Deluxe Bungalow near the beach and we vere very satisfied. Had hot water when needed and if some problems the engineers vere there in a minute to fix it. Only bad thing was the stone hard beds. Because on the matresses our backs were in pain for all holiday. Matresses are always quite hard in Thailand but not like these bricks. We complained about the beds and in a minute the housekeeing ladies were making a bed again with extra blanket under the sheet. It gave a little help.

We did not have compulsory New Years gala dinner. In many other hotels we had that before but we never participate as they are quite ridiculous very often.

The beach is beautiful and nice to walk and goot to swim and there are many restaurants by a walking distance where You can keep Your toes in a sand. All of the restaurants are nice and good and most of them with reasonable prices.

And it is only few minutes walk to Klong Dao beach along the road. Take down to the beach beside the Time for Lime -restaurant.

The 300 meters walk to and from the breakfast was great. It was nice to have a good walk after too much eating. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstaI I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife and i stayed here for six nights in November, Very nice upscale resort with a semi private beach, lots of amenities but not many guests. They have a variety of rooms from simple one bedroom cabanas down by the beach to large condo type suites with private pools. Our room was large located in one of the condo conplexes, about $100 a night which for Ko Lanta is pretty expensive. Nice TV extra couch, balcony. The staff was great, Da at the hopitality desk was very helpful in booking things and recommending sights. It is located on the 2nd beach from town and away from the most popular beach . We took tuk tuks back to the Indian Bar every evening for sunset cocktails. You can walk to the next beach in about 10 minutes. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, and the hambergers at the pool were surprisingly good, other wise we didn't eat there. For the size of the facility there seemed to be very few guests. If you like a quiet get away with a nice beach and pools and want to pay extra for it this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yettie_trapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at Lanta Resort for 4 nights in January '13. Staff were friendly & helpful with good English. Good location just afew mins from Pra-ae beach. Lovely clean beach. Room was spacious, clean, perhaps a little dated looking. Hot water was an issue on one evening but this was resolved within an hour. We hired a scooter for 2 days, worked out at just €8 a day excluding gasoline. Breakfast was good but they have a big problem with flies. There are some lovely restaurants along the beach. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snuggybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
398 reviews
1.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Resort

Property: Lanta Resort
Address: 243 Moo 3 Pra-Ae Beach | Saladan Subdistrict, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROMANTIC LUXURY LANTA RESORT ON PRA-AE BEACH OR LONG BEACH, KOH LANTA, KRABI. Serenity, romantic, spacious and in the best location are probably best described Lanta Resort. Lanta Resort is ideally located among lush greenery with tranquil environment. Lanta Resort prides itself with a beautifully-landscaped garden and magnificent view of the white sandy beach. Lanta Resort is located on Pra-ae beach or Long beach, one of the best beach locations on Koh Lanta; only 5 minutes drive to Saladan - the island's centre for shopping, dining and night life entertainment. "Where the nature unfolds" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing