We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great potential, but...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanta Resort
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great potential, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

After reading reviews from Trip Advisor, it was already clear that the resort was under a major renovation. Which actually is not a bad thing - long term wise.

When arriving to the resort, the first impression is "the days of glory has past already sometime ago for this hotel". Reception is in a building that has a lot of unused space available. In the first floor there is a breakfast room and a billiard "hall". Second floor is totally empty and used as a some kind of storage.

Service at the time of check-in was welcoming and the staff friendly.

We had a deluxe room for a party of 2 adults and 2 kids. The room was on the 1st floor with an access to the main swimming pool. Hotel room was really spacious and equipted as expected. Only major downside was the bathroom, which was bit outdated and below expected standards.

Pool area of the hotel is average. Area could easily be upgraded just by changing outdated plastic sunbeds to newer ones. If you forget the sunbeds and the outdated pool, the view from the pool towards the rainforest is great.

Beach area, well... It took us some time to find the beach. The main building of the hotel is pretty far away from the beach and finding the sea can be quite an adventure. We finally were able to find the beach after browsing our way through the construction area. Hotel seems to be investing a lot on building new bungalows which are closer to beach. This is good development. Bungalows that were build seemed pretty nice. Once they are ready hotel can easily upgrade it´s grading.

Hotel is in the end of Long Beach, which is pretty remote location from services and restaurants. There are few average beach front restaurants nearby, but nice dinner requires a tuktuk to Saladan or central Long Beach. There are no supermarts or 7 Elevens in the immediate neighborhood of the hotel. I prefer southern Lanta anyway over this nothern part, so...

Don´t get me wrong, resort has great potential. Once the new bungalows are ready, the main buildings and pool area might require some serious maintenance. The hotel area has still lot of unused space that could be used as a garden etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    91
    70
    29
    33
See reviews for
82
135
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here for four nights earlier this month after a five-night stay at the the more modest Ocean View Resort, about a kilometer away. We paid around USD 150/night for a deluxe room with two single beds and a cot on the second floor above a roomside pool.

This place was more luxurious than Ocean View--and also 50% more expensive. But it had certain features and offerings that made it more enjoyable. Whether you value them depends on your individual priorities.

The room was large, comfortable, and clean. Beds were comfortable. TV had some international (English) channels. The balcony is well-designed for privacy. The shower in the big bathroom had great water pressure. They provide two sets of towels, one of which is for outdoor use. Housekeeping was good. There are a large pool and a children's pool in the center of the property as well as room-side pools that run along the length of two of the buildings. These are probably intended to be restricted to guests in the rooms with direct access on the first floor, but we used the one next to our building without any trouble. They must be fifty meters long--great for laps! A lot of people lounged around the big pools. It was quiet. Long Beach itself is wonderful--see my separate review--and I wish we had spent more than one sunset there.

If you want a place right on the beach, the rooms in the main part of the resort would not be for you. It's about 300 meters away. That was fine with us. This resort does have villas right on the beach and there are more being built nearby. There are mini-marts and a limited selection of restaurants on the road, which is a couple hundred meters from the lobby. So, this is not a place where everything you need is right on your doorstep.

Buffett breakfast was extensive and good quality, though the coffee was mediocre. My massage at their place on the beach was poor. We had a decent buffett dinner once on the beach and an even better al a carte dinner at Thai Cat nearby. It's a fairly large, impersonal place, and we didn't have any special requests so can not judge their ability to handle problems. Two problems were poor wifi (very unstable) and a lack of loungers at the beach during the day. Even for $150/day, it seems like they would be able to set up a few more chairs at the beach so that guests aren't stuck with putting a towel on the sand. They don't even have loungers for rent.

Room Tip: Second-story deluxe room is spacious, reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knickherboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankreich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Lanta Resort is the perfect place to spend a relaxing Christmas holiday. Luxurious clean rooms, perfect beach, no crowds, nice outside pools. The staff is most friendly and efficient - we had forgotten the camera on leaving, they went into great trouble to send it back to us to Europe per mail:)
We also loved the friendly masseures

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matahari_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Big development, Hotel rooms is a bit far from the beach, cottages are more nearer to the beach,
We go during the non peak season, so no activities or whatsoever on the the surroundings.
Still need to take the shuttle or tuktuk to or from the shopping area..
Breakfast is not buffet. Staffs are ok . The room is big, 3 beds can fir in the room with own balcony overlooking the pool.Overall the stay is ok, its just that nothing so much happen becuase its non peak.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jullio0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in bungalow at the beachfront of Long Beach. It is a very nice beach located in an excellent direction: shadow in the morning (perfect for a comfortable walk or jogging) and beatiful sunset (nice start of an evening). Not too crowdy and quite a lot of restaurants and bars along the beach. Easy to take a tuk-tuk to Saladan where you also find more restaurants at the seaside.
Very nice staff at the hotel. Thanks for a very good stay!
If breakfast would have been served at the beachfront and not close to the reception, then it would have been excellent.
... And free WiFi is nice, but I would not cry if performance had been a little bit better.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StaffanEhnebom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Lanta Resort is a resort is one of the older resorts in Koh Lanta. It does not seeming like it though. We almost supposed to be going somewhere else. But we listen to our agent Andaman Sky. We are very happy that we did this. Yes, not the newest resort, but still very fresh. This place has a very nice beach. But one thing to keep in mind is that if you do not like children, then maybe this resort is not for you as this is a family hotel. I also have to mention the size of the rooms here. Very spacious and airy. I would come back again for sure.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel located on the beach with clear blue water and white sand and not many people...After relatively dirty Phuket and overcrowded Ko Phi phi its an ideal place to finish vacation in the middle of nature. Stuff is helpful, territory big with gardens and flowers, many swimspools..rooms big, clean and new....The only thing you should worry about is book in advance to get a better deal and prepare own entertainment: movies, books or great company of friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alexa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#24 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#35 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#36 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Resort

Property: Lanta Resort
Address: 243 Moo 3 Pra-Ae Beach | Saladan Subdistrict, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROMANTIC LUXURY LANTA RESORT ON PRA-AE BEACH OR LONG BEACH, KOH LANTA, KRABI. Serenity, romantic, spacious and in the best location are probably best described Lanta Resort. Lanta Resort is ideally located among lush greenery with tranquil environment. Lanta Resort prides itself with a beautifully-landscaped garden and magnificent view of the white sandy beach. Lanta Resort is located on Pra-ae beach or Long beach, one of the best beach locations on Koh Lanta; only 5 minutes drive to Saladan - the island's centre for shopping, dining and night life entertainment. "Where the nature unfolds" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing