We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but slightly pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Good Days Lanta Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice but slightly pricey”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

One of the first places I stayed in Thailand. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was right on the beach, also with a nice clean pool. The food was good, and there was also a great selection at breakfast. The room was basic, and a bit pricey for just a fan room. There was also no toilet door, which I suppose is one of the things you may have to get used to in Asia, but at the price it would have been nice. The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided.
It seemed like a family resort, but overall it was a nice stay for our first couple of nights in Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    65
    41
    15
    8
See reviews for
34
69
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Good Days Lanta is a nicely run, clean, neat and well located family run hotel. Its the kind of place that most travelers wish there were more of. I've stayed there twice and enjoyed both stays. It is not a luxury resort, has no pretense, and is a great place to stay.

I scanned the reviews below and rather than starting from scratch thought I'd address some of the complaints:

1) Funky Monkey. The new bar wasn't there during my first stay and yes it makes a lot of noise on nights when they have live music. Its certainly not the fault of Good Days Lanta that their neighbors are noisy, but it is a consideration if you are a light sleeper. Rooms at the southern most part of the resort are best. I do agree with some reviewers that this could be a problem for some travelers. I wish the Funky Monkey would go out of business!

2) Thefts. My room had a safe in it and I used it. Need I say more? When scanning the reviews for hotels in Koh Lanta many had reported small petty thefts. This region of Thailand is poor and invariably some inhabitants will be tempted to steal. Sad but true. It is my opinion that Good Days Lanta runs a pretty tight ship as it is family owned and it is highly unlikely that the staff are going to rob you. Most of the staff have been there for quite a while.

3) Breakfast. Breakfast is good but not great. I agree with other reviewers that this is one feature of the hotel that could use a bit of an upgrade. The food is fine, just not inspiring. The selection of restaurants in the area, including a French baker, does make up for this.

4) River. It was interesting to hear someone complain about the small river that runs along the side of the hotel and out onto the beach. It is quite scenic and the kids play in it for hours. I thought it makes the property unique.

OK so Good Days Lanta is not perfect, but I think that the location, combined with clean rooms and nice beach are really worth a visit. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Divers: Dive and Relax is Koh Lanta's top Scuba company, and is just next door. I dive with them twice now and cannot recommend them enough. The combination of Dive and Relax and Good Days Lanta really does work well. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the southern part of the resort......as far away from Funky Monkey as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mainsail10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We arrived in Koh Lanta with nowhere to stay and this was the first place we came to where we didn't think we'd be eaten alive by insects.
The beach front location is great with lovely views, although there are nicer beaches on Koh Lanta as this part is very rocky.
The small bungalows are very run down inside. The decor etc looks as though it needed replacing some years ago which is surprising for the price of a room.
There is a nearby bar/club which goes on untiil 2am. THIS IS NOISY! It kept us awake until it finally closed so if you want a good nights sleep then choose somewhere else.
Breakfast was included and was good. The staff were helpful and provided advice on excusions etc.
We only stayed for one night and then chose another hotel. I would not stay at this hotel if i returned as i think it is overpriiced.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This resort is really chilled, nothing very fun. I was quite skeptical before I booked it but upon arrival I was quite surprised. This place, in my travelogue, is a bit of a luxury. It is so close to the beach, up the road you can find anything (anything basic, dont expect an Apple store please haha) within 100m. The daily cleaning was very appreciated. One day I slept in late and they tried knocking twice. After I went for a cuppa and back the room was cleaned. Impressive aint it! Breakfast was average - western food is really not Thai peoples forte lets face it. But if you are nice and treat the staff with respect, they are very friendly and the lady who works in the morning remembers my order daily.

With regards to the river - it didnt look muddy at all to me. The river actually cuts through so you can decide to stay if you are reluctant to cross the river. If you intend to cross, just be aware there is a drop but nothing steep to speak of. The beach around Good Days have lots of tiny rocks which can make it less comfortable. If you want nice beach its good to make a trip to Koh Rok. I've seen many families with young children and even babies so didnt think it would be an issue. Otherwise, they have pools.

The bar smacked on the beach is where I hang out almost daily. It gives a good view of the sunset. The ladies there were very nice too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cattidudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otta, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed there for 11 nights in dec 2012, and had a very nice stay. We had a beachfront AC bungalow. It was no luxury, but clean and cosy. Only steps away from the beach. There is a nice little bar down by the beach, Moonshine bar. Perfect for the beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirkeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I knew going in that Good Days was pegged as a budget hotel and that was exactly what I was looking for. I was in Lanta to do some diving and just wanted a place to sleep close enough to restaurants and beaches. I chose the most basic fan bungalow. Being the offseason I think I was one of three people in the entire resort and got lucky with a room right in front on the beach. If youre booking the basic fan room ask for room number 1 if they have it. The room itself is basic- bed, safe and fan. Be warned, the fan is a table fan mounted on to the wall so doesnt really do a great job of providing air so it wont be near enough if its hot. I was there in october and it was just passable. The bathroom is fine- clean and neat with a nice hot shower which is just what I wanted.
The resort property is very nice- the entire place is lush and green and right smack on the beach for amazing walks and sunsets. And right outside on the main road are excellent restaurants and bars.
The staff at the resort are excellent- they really did take care of everything I needed. They arranged a minivan pickup directly from the airport and drop off at the resort, I hired a scooter for a couple of days from them directly and they pointed out restaurants and things to do on the island. Very very polite and helpfull at all times!!

I read some reviews complaining about the 'river' running between the resort and beach. Its more of a little stream which really doesnt stop you from getting to the beach even at high tide and it makes for fantastic scenery. And its not dirty at all. And I was there in so called dirty low season.

Be warned that the resort restaurant and bar is closed in the low season- something that is not mentioned on their website. Which is allright because there are plenty of options within walking distance. For some of the best thai food in thailand try 'May's Kitchen' on the mainroad just outside the resort entrance to the left as you come out. I also tried the breakfast at the restaurant on the corner nearest to the resort and was very very dissapointed- they dont know what scrambled eggs are and the sausages are thai style uncooked. Had many thai meals at may's and was never dissapointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room as close to the beach as possible. Gorgeous scenery and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GovindKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We Stayed at Good Days in March and some of our friends woke up to a buglar in their room. When the police came to speak to the guests, police told guests this particular accomodations has been broken into numerouss times. Yet nothing has changed. FYI

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanta Casuarina Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Lanta Palm Beach Resort
Lanta Palm Beach Resort
#68 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Resort
Nautilus Resort
#14 of 210 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Days Lanta Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Days Lanta Beach Resort

Property: Good Days Lanta Beach Resort
Address: 183 Moo 2 , Phra-ae Beach (Long beach) | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Good Days Lanta Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most beautiful beach, Long Beach or Phare-Ae Beach with blue crystal clear seas, a self white sand beach and pine trees, This is what one can call a real picturesque, virgin- resting paradise .Come and check it out yourself ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Good Days Lanta Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Days Lanta Chalet And Resort
Good Days Lanta Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing