We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Resort with Good Intentions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanta Miami Bungalows
Ranked #27 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Other than the most recent one, there seems to be a lack of newer reviews for Lanta Miami--not sure why. We spent a week there and loved it! It was still early in the season and there were not many people in general, although Lanta Miami was booking up every night. But the beach and restaurants were generally quiet. There were a few families with toddlers at the resort and I can see it being a great place to bring the kids.

Our only real complaint was that we had booked a beach front cabin, after looking at the resort layout. Well, our beachfront was occupied by the massage area, so when we had hoped to be able to sit on our deck watching the sunset, instead we faced right onto the massage deck, watching half-dressed people get oiled and rubbed. Yes we easily could walk a few meters way and sit on the beach, but we felt it was misleading to post a map of the resort on the website for people to choose a cabin and not show that the massage area is directly in front of a beach-front cabin, which of course you pay a lot extra for.

As for the rest of the resort, we really enjoyed the infinity pool and beach. Yes the beach is a bit rocky but it was no problem to swim, especially when the tide was in. The bar and dining area on the beach were fabulous. We ate at the restaurant 4 out of 7 nights, and enjoyed the food for the most part. One can easily walk down the beach and try another resort restaurant but we felt that most of them were very similar in menu and atmosphere (however, we did have a great prime rib and pasta meal at Otto’s Bar & Grill). The service we got at Lanta Miami restaurant and bar wasn’t poor as it was for the previous reviewer. We ordered and got our meals in a timely manner, and the staff was friendly, even remembering our favourite table and what we liked to drink with our meal. The only negative was that they did not ever come by to check on us once our meal was served, so we usually had to flag them down for the bill, and there were separate bills for food and drinks, so getting both bills at the same was always a challenge.

The cabin itself was lovely, with 2 double beds and a large bathroom with separate tub and shower areas. TV reception was poor—but we weren’t there to watch TV. WIFI was a bit sporadic as we were on the edge of the resort—in fact, the WIFI signal from the resort next door was very strong!

On the road next door to the resort entrance is a store selling alcohol, and across the street is a place to rent scooters (a fun thing to do and the roads are great—go to Old Town for lunch and the National Park for swimming and a hike for a great day trip).

All in all, I would recommend Lanta Miami for those looking for middle-of-the-range beach-front accommodation. It was perfect for the 2 of us (older, semi-retired) as all we really wanted to do was lie on the beach, swim and relax. However, I think the resort might have a different atmosphere during holidays and school breaks as it is very attractive to families.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LvanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Lanta Miami Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

Lanta Miami has decent facilities, is right on a nice beach, and its food offerings seems on par with other offerings. The dinning set-up and the bar rock! Based on the past reviews, Lanta Miami seems to also improve over the last year. The wifi is reliable now and is free. There is also free water in your fridge everyday.

However this place has problem with service. We staid in several places in Thailand and we always felt welcome. In Lanta Maimi, there is just this money-pinching attitude in the air (most prominent in large signs that promise to charge you for everything they can). While the restaurant staff is friendly, it takes on average 20 minutes to order your meal and, often, they will get something wrong with your order.

When this place improves their attitude and service they will be the best place to stay at Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Miami for four nights recently. Unfortunately its low season so the weather was a little unpredictable and the local area was a little deserted. Being low season also meant we got a great rate.

The resort complex is quite small, yet has everything you need. The swimming pool is a good size and has a seperate shallow area for children. As the pool is directly next to the beach you can enjoy the sights and sounds of ocean waves while sunbathing or taking a dip.

The restaurant serves good food, but is perhaps a little more expensive than some of the restaurants in the local area. The beach was pleasant and the Andaman Sea is nice and warm. The staff were all really friendly without exception.

We opted for a superior bungalow which was a decent size with a really big bathroom, there was a double and a single bed. The WIFI worked in the room and was reliable.

We really liked the place but being out of season was a little too deserted, most the local businesses were closed. This was good for a few days for peace and quiet but it soon got a little boring, especially when it rained. Would defiantly go back in season though!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

stayed here in may with 3 children. lovely spot, the staff is vey friendly . pool was exelent.
the rooms were so big that we could stay all 5 in one. which was very nice. nice bar on the beach. allways a lot of children around, which is very nice. we ll be back :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I did not stay at the Lanta Miami Bungalows, but I did eat there twice and spend time by the pool. If I go back to Koh Lanta, I will probably stay here too. The restaurant is amazing with tables that look over the beach and a cute decorating beach style. The wait staff was amazing. They did not hover (as indicated by other reviewers) and were incredibly pleasant. The food was delicious. I had the Pad Thai and the Curry. The pool was also very nice and available to paying customers. It was clean and overlooked the beach. I highly recommend visiting this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I am staying on Lanta with my wife and we have had the pleasure of eating here and using the pool for the last two days. The food has been impeccable, the staff have been very friendly and the very well maintained infinity pool has a stunning view over the ocean.

If you are looking for pool to hang out which offers great food at reasonable prices, look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 days as part of our round the world adventure. We were approached on the boat from Phi Phi by the managers sister. We usually avoid these situations and prefer to find places when we arrive but we looked at the brochure, the price quoted was well withing our budget (500-800 baht per night for 2) and we got a free drop off there so we decided to have a look.

This place is lovely, with a beautiful big infinity pool, spacious restaurant with chairs right on the beach and some very popular cabanas. Staff we really friendly and accommodating and the 2 waiters were great!

Our room was lovely, with a view of the beach from our porch, 2 big beds, good aircon, a huge (if rather basic bathroom) which randomly had 2 showers, also had a Tv and fridge in the room.

Food in the restaurant was good, wifi connection was strong across the resort and food and drinks very reasonably priced.

The beach here isn't great for swimming as quite rocky and we were there in 'green' season meaning rough waves and surf which were too appealing. But the pool more than makes up for it.

There are a few bars and restaurants along the beach and a shop just across the road from the resort which also does laundry and rents Motorbiks for cheaper than the resort does.

All in all a lovely please to stay for a few days... Khlong Nin beach is much busier during the peak season when prices are a lot higher, but nothing on the scale of Koh Phangan in the gulf!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTeam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
3.2 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#2 of 217 in Ko Lanta
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thai Island Dream Estate
Thai Island Dream Estate
#28 of 217 in Ko Lanta
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lanta Paradise Beach Resort
Lanta Paradise Beach Resort
#64 of 217 in Ko Lanta
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.2 mi away
Baan Pakgasri Hideaway
Baan Pakgasri Hideaway
#37 of 150 in Ko Lanta
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Miami Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Miami Bungalows

Address: 13 M.6 Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £22 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Miami Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lanta Miami Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Miami Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing