We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Miami Bungalows
Ranked #23 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is not a place for backpackers. I planned to stay here 2 nights with my girlfriend and we were put in the room right at the back of the resort. The room was ok, it was not the worst place we had stayed in...that was until we heard something on the roof. We thought it must just be a cat, so we tried to ignore it but it went on for about an hour until I got up to turn the light on and to my horror saw a rat running around the wooden area on edge of the ceiling. We immediately left the room and went to reception and were moved into another room, the difference in the state of the room was monumental. There was no apology for what had happened or help to move our stuff. In the morning we went back to reception to ask for our money back for the next night as we did not want to stay in our original room again, and the gentleman again didn't apologise and all he mumbled was along the lines of, 'not the rats again'! Yes there is a nice restaurant, but this is only a good hotel if you stay in one of the deluxe rooms! If you are put right at the back beware of rats!

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for three days and hired a motorbike out which was a great way to see the island, cheaper to get this from the supermarket across the road. Nice room and pool. The restaurant had good food with reasonable prices and the bar was brilliant with some fab guys running it. We visited a few places around the island including the lighthouse view with a hidden gem of a beach, the national park and night markets. You need a motorbike really as this is isolated and a very quiet island ..... However if your looking for a quiet get away with some hidden beaches for yourself this place is a perfect base.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed down the road but ate here almost ever night at their beachside restaurant. The food was amazing, the staff was friendly, the sunsets spectacular and the beach was clean while we were there. There is so a cute bar next door. The bungalows and pool look very nice and the lobby was immaculate. Would try and stay here next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A very inauspicious start to my four day stay here. I had been in email contact with the hotel regarding transfer from Saladan Pier and they promised that somebody would be there to pick me up when I arrived at 12.30pm on May 4th. In the event nobody turned up and ninety minutes later - when I got to Lanta Miami, the receptionist said it was because there had been a staff outing to Phuket. No real apology or any offer to pay the cost of my taxi fare.

After that things got better. The garden room was fine - clean and well-serviced and much cheaper than the beachfront bunglaows. The infinity pool at Lanta Miami is gorgeous. Cleaned each morning and a great place to swim especially when angry Andaman waves are thundering on the beach. Near the resort there are rocks beneath the surface of the sea but if you walk a hundred metres northwards the swimming is much safer with a sandy floor and no rocks.

Restaurant and bar facilities are operated by different people from the Muslim family who own the hotel. This causes some disconnected strangeness in catering and alcoholic drinks provision. The lads who run the little P'Dang bar at the front are cool dudes and their bar prices are very reasonable.

A great place to eat out nearby is the family run "Cook-Kai" restaurant on the main road. And I would thoroughly recommend the four-island snorkelling trip by longtail boat - if it's not too packed with holidaymakers. To see Morakot Cave (Emerald Cave) on the island of Koh Mook is to see one of the secret wonders of the natural world. The inner beach comes straight from the world of tropical fantasy. Nui Bay south of Kantiang is also a wonderful unspoilt beach.

Room Tip: The garden rooms at the rear of the compound are great value and the road beyond is pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil_in_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I couldn't recommend Miami Lanta more! Stayed here whilst backpacking Asia as a little treat and enjoyed every minute (very very reasonable prices for a non-backpacker). Staff were so nice and friendly, and spoke great English. Some of them felt like friends by the time we left after 5 nights. The beach bar and restaurant were gorgeous at night, great authentic Thai food as well as seafood BBQ at reasonable prices. Lovely eating on the sand then relaxing on the beach with a cocktail afterwards. Fire shows were a great bonus. Loved the banana pancakes and fruit juice cocktails at breakfast. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilycorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Great bungalows, clean and reasonably priced. Terrific bar that serves you while relaxing on the beach in front...fantastic cocktails (especially at happy hour) Restaurant is right on the sand, meals very good and also reasonably priced.
We had a few issues with the hot water ...or lack of it , but with the warm weather it didnt really matter having a cool shower. They also had a nice bath tub.
Breakfast was very basic, but adequate . I hope to return again. Thankyou for a very relaxing stay!

Room Tip: I like a sea view room and they have several available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayhopefuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

These bungalows were probably the best appointed ones we have stayed in. Beautiful wood and great bathrooms. The staff however leave a lot to be desired. The breakfast was awful - everything, eggs, sausages were cold every day. Stay here but do not buy the breakfast!. Also there is a very noisy bar next door which plays music well into the night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
5.7 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
432 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#3 of 229 in Ko Lanta
381 reviews
7.2 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#34 of 229 in Ko Lanta
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,085 reviews
1.4 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
1.0 mi away
Narima Bungalow Resort
Narima Bungalow Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Miami Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Miami Bungalows

Address: 13 M.6 Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Miami Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lanta Miami Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Miami Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing