We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Bamboo Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Bay Resort
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at Bamboo Bay I knew we would be looked after well when we were warmly greeted by Nook. The food is great, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the setting idyllic. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. I hope I get the chance to go back some day.

Stayed December 2556
Helpful?
Thank Mat1lda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    19
    13
    3
See reviews for
17
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

You can't beat the location, the beach is stunning and deserted.
The restaurant and staff are also lovely.
Unfortunately the rooms really aren't very nice ( we had a fan room). I've done a lot of travelling and I'm not usually bothered by rooms but I really didn't enjoy going back to this bungalow.
With a bit of renovation this place could be paradise!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1G6H5H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Bamboo bay has the great location and beauful view. It’s far from everything (located on the last beach of island) so it's very peaceful. However, the room ,especially bathroom, is bad and need urgent renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We recently stayed at another hotel on the same beach for 10 days and ate at Bamboo Bay for dinner every other night during our stay. I cannot recommend it highly enough, the food is really high quality and all delicious - curries, fish, and as for the desserts - the pancakes in particular are amazing! The staff are all lovely, very friendly and welcoming, and it is a gorgeous, very relaxing setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hols_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stay here!!!

One of the best views I have ever had from a hotel room.
Staff was very friendly!
Food was great!
Great, great location on quiet beach. Best for couples.

Stayed in a fan bungalow, was pretty basic and a little bit rickety, but for the price and location, I can't complain.

Wifi only at dining area, and spotty and slow at that.

Room Tip: Big difference between fan bungalows and A/C rooms. I'd ask to take a peak at both before you de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at Bamboo Bay whilst travelling around Thailand and Malaysia. Having had enough of Bangkok we flew to Krabi for a night before getting the ferry across to Koh Lanta. What a welcome relief it was stepping off the ferry onto the rickety pier. Bamboo Bay kindly sent a truck to collect us. We were put in the back of the pick up truck with the luggage and held on for dear life, in fairness, we could have shared the cab with the driver but being in the back with the wind whistling through your hair was much more fun. The journey to Bamboo Bay itself was very bumpy and dusty but fantastic, we saw monkeys playing at the side of the dirt tracks, elephants being washed by villagers and gorgeous scenery all the way. Our room was up on the hillside, with air conditioning, an ensuite and beautiful views over the bay from the balcony. The restaurant was great, it was on the waters edge with lovely views and a cooling breeze. The food selection was fantastic, always freshly cooked and as it turned out, some of the best we had in the 3 months of travelling. The staff were so kind and helpful, even making us packed lunches when they knew we were going to trek to the National Park for the day, which is totally worth the hot sweaty trek. The beach is usually deserted and the old lighthouse is open to climb up, very scary iron ladder, but well worth it for the amazing views once up there.

I don't know when, but I will definitely return to Koh Lanta and Bamboo Bay. I visited in 2005/2006.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaSomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If you are looking for a relaxed and friendly place to stay that is away from the crush of the more touristy parts of the island, you will like this resort. The staff were really wonderful. They helped in every way, and especially when my daughter was ill. The accommodation was not fancy, but it had all the basics and was very clean. The restaurant food was delicious. The beach is a mix of rocky areas and lovely expanses of sand, and the best thing about it is that it was never overly crowded, even in the high season. Beautiful sunsets and truly lovely staff. A little piece of heaven for me and my daughter.

Room Tip: If you don't prefer not having to climb a bit of a distance to your room, ask for a lower bungal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.6 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
445 reviews
9.9 mi away
Leaf House Bungalow
Leaf House Bungalow
#55 of 84 in Ko Lanta
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
667 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#26 of 84 in Ko Lanta
170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#46 of 84 in Ko Lanta
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Bay Resort

Property: Bamboo Bay Resort
Address: 87 Moo 5, Aow Mai Pai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bamboo Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bamboo Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Bay Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing