We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
42
32
19
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
32
19
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fan room national park beautiful beach stayed for nights accommodation beaches bungalow geckos lanta paradise saladan chill
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We booked a fan room. We were given one at the very top of the hill. The bathroom was not clean, toilet was blocked and door didn't close properly leaving a bit gap in between. Because it was extremely hot we just went to the reception and ask for a AC room. The women kindly showed us one next to the beach and restaurant. It was worth to pay a bit extra. It had a very good mosquito net. If you book though Agoda and you make any changes to your booking make sure you contact Agoda to let them know so they do not charge you more than what they should. The hotel will not contact them.
The restaurant and the bar are very cool decorated. Food is ok and not much more expensive than in more populated areas in the island. If you're looking for inspiration, do nothing and relax this is probably your place. No shops, no bars, no restaurants, non other activities like yoga and the beach is a bit rocky with not much shade.
I really think your experience in this place relies completely on the room you're given so make sure you do not get one on top of the hill because going up and down is tiring and it is extremely steep.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jandrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Me and my friend booked Bamboo bay over the internet and got very little information about the place. We arrived at Koh Lanta late at night and had trouble getting to Bamboo Bay because no tuk-tuk wanted to drive there. We didn't understand first but when we finally found a car that could drive us there we got it. The road was crazy, big hills.
If you didn't have a motorcycle (like us) it becomes pretty boring staying there if you don't want the total isolated feeling. The hotel had a car that could take you somewhere else on the Island two times a day.
The closest beach is not so nice, many rocks. But 10 minutes walk away there is a great and Beautiful beach.
No supermarkets around.
The hotel is build on a hill, reception and restaurant at the bottom. Our hotel room was at the top, so it was a workout for sure getting to and from the restaurant.
Great breakfast, beautiful view.
If you are looking for a calm place this is great. Do not recommend for any backpackers.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

This is a very old review (December 2004, not 2014) but I wanted to write because my sister and I stayed here for a wonderful week over Christmas, 2004. We had a tiny, very simple little bungalow on stilts, ate every day in the wonderful restaurant, and enjoyed daily massage. The private beach was beautifully quiet, but we still met some lovely people to hang out with in the evenings and the hotel put on a great party on Christmas night. We ate breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea on our last morning, our bags packed ready to go... and watched the first wave of the Tsunami roll in. The next 15 minutes changed everything... the walls of the kitchen went down, the massage platform and the restaurant were dragged into the sea, and everyone scrambled to safety up the rocks. We were all extraordinarily lucky - and the owners and staff of this resort cared for well over a hundred people who camped that night up on the hill-top, away from the wreckage on the shore. Some of the staff there (the massage lady was one, the young man who sold jewellry another), and some guests lost everything - and there were some injuries, but everyone helped everyone else and that day was a day during which we truly saw the very best of human nature. I've always been grateful to Bamboo Bay for their care... and for the marvellous stay that came before the disaster. I'm glad to see they're still going strong - and just hope they get those bathrooms cleaned that some of the more recent guests have complained about!!

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

As a tourist in Thailand (especially on an island as popular as Koh Lanta) you'll be hard pressed to find a beach as secluded/private as the one at Bamboo Bay. It's on the very opposite end of the island from the ferry you'll arrive on and the entrace is white-knuckle steep. Don't rent a scooter out here unless you're experienced. The bar/restaurant set up is amazing and puts you out over the crashing waves, plus the food is great. The only "complaint" is the property itself. The trek to your bungalow is steep and exhausting and the rooms are little more than concrete cubes. I'm very low maintenance about things like this but if your travel buddy is fussy, warn them of potential frog roommates and torn mosquito nets. Food, drinks, beach and staff were lovely, what more can you ask for??

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrillGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Situated in the last bay at the southern end of Kho Lanta, Bamboo Bay is well placed to be a fabulous retreat. Sadly it's great location, beautifully designed bar and restaurant and friendly staff are marred by very neglected rooms. Ours was like a concrete boarding house, filthy bathroom in need a good scrub and imbued with a general air of neglect. I did complain about the bathroom, and got a charming smile and thanks for my feedback, but it barely concealed and air of 'we don't really care' and I'm confident nothing was done to clean the place up. Somewhat misplaced complacency I think. The restaurant was good but a little westernised, as is so often the case now, and not particularly well priced. The staff were friendly and helpful though I can't help feeling the management were sitting on their laurels somewhat. We had booked for three nights but left after one rather unpleasant one. Pricing is pretty random in Thailand, but for what we paid we definitely didn't get value for money.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews