We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to leave BGH - best bungalows and location”
Review of Banana Garden Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banana Garden Home
Ranked #21 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sad to leave BGH - best bungalows and location”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Sad to leave BGH after 9 days stay in lovely bungalows on Klong Dao beach. What to add to below reviews? Let me just summarise here. BGH: very nice and clean wooden bungalows with a/c, large fridge, hot water. Cleaned and towels changed daily. Small but filling breakfast every morning is brought to your porch once you open the door. Location: all bungalows are close to the beach, with furthest just 30secs walk from it. Restaurant is literally on the beach - they put tables for dinner on sand close to water.:) The Indian bar next door is great, Pas - the owner- serves the best fruit shakes, lets you use the beach chairs and sun ambrellas for free, and has great fire show in the evenIngs.
Overall - we really enjoyed every day at BGH. Advice: book in advance by email as they are always full, don't need to guess why!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vol4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    61
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
175
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at Banana Garden for 5 nights in December 2012 and had a fantastic time.

The huts themselves are of a very good quality with a nice bathroom and porch area. The bed was large and very comfortable and had a large mosquito net over it to prevent too many bites during our stay.

Breakfast was lovely and could be eaten on the porch outside of your hut which was a really nice experience.

Although the huts are not on the beach it is only a 30 second walk away and the restaurant is right on the beach. The food in the restaurant was our favorite of all the places we ate on Lanta (try the fried rice with chicken and pineapple in a pineapple!). Also, try the Indian Bar next door for a beer/cocktail which has a great chilled out vibe.

All of the staff were fantastic and you definitely feel well looked after.

Our only slight negative was that there were a lot of young children around but that comes from Klong Dao being a very family friendly beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zurich_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I think the previous reviews have mentioned everything about this wonderful place and the wonderful manager, Annie. She was like a motherly figure and helped us wherever possible. She did organise trips for us to the Phi Phi islands as well as local site seeing in Koh Lanta and our airport drop. She was gracious enough to offer us a late checkout and also handed over a bag of fruits to us prior to the departure.

Breakfast was served at our doorstep every morning and Annie even gave us the liberty to ask for extra food/coffee etc in case we needed any !!! The rooms had basic furnishing ( including an ac and a fridge) but the bed sheets and towels very extremely clean and changed daily.

Overall, this was one of the most homely experiences that we ever encountered !!!! Thank You Annie.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debadatt2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

What can be said that hasn't already been told here? The reviews we read before staying in BGH seemed a bit exagerrated, but it's all true! The owner and all the staff are really friendly and helpful, but never in an intrusive way. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and cleaned daily. Grounds are lovely, especially the tropical garden, which compensated for the absence of sea view from the room just fine. Restaurant was a pleasant surprise - food was great tasting and affordable, the service was fast even on busy nights. The children's play area was a bliss. The beach in front of the BHG is beautiful, clean, and not crowded at all. And the sunsets - aaah, those sunsets...
Yes, BG was our Home on Koh Lanta. Thank you Annie & co. - we hope to return back Home soon!

Room Tip: No real disadvantages in any room size or location, all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Banana Garden is without any doubt one of the best places we have ever stayed! Annie the owner is worth of all the hearty adjectives you can imagine, and her team really makes all the possible to make sure you feel yourself pampered.

The small but surprising and tasty breakfast they bring to the balcony gives an excellent start for the morning. We got usually fruits and/or toast, but for Xmas they brought even mudcake slices!

Location is excellent - few meters to the beach, and on the other hand main street is not far away at all. Good pub (Indian) next door, the best restaurant on the island (L. Maladee) even within walking distance (at least for those who are not afraid of 20mins walk).

Only drawback during our stay was the bike we rented through Annie's friend - they turned out to be really old and not so effective (had severe problems with uphills when two on board), and ours even broke up due to outwearn engine. Better to rent new and bigger bike at some of the street-side places near 7eleven at the mainstreet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiiJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Is it weird that I was excited to review Banana Garden on Trip Advisor while we were staying there? Probably. My boyfriend and a couple friends and I recently returned from our dream vacation in Thailand. Koh Lanta was the first island we stayed on and our experience at Banana Garden certainly set the bar for the rest of our trip.

We were picked up from the pier and promptly taken to the bungalows not too far away. The bungalows themselves are spacious, clean, and comfortable. We agreed this was probably the best place we stayed at during our entire time in Thailand. We stayed for four nights and the group of us fell in love with Annie. She was extremely helpful and attentive and always made sure we were all right. She helped book us a snorkeling trip, scooter rentals, and our bus and ferry to Koh Phangan. She did her best to get us discounts and we overheard her arguing with the scooter rental guys to lower their daily rate for us. We totally felt like she had our backs! :)

Koh Lanta is an amazing place to chill out and watch some epic sunsets. Banana Garden is located around the middle of the 3km stretch of Klong Dao Beach. The food from Banana Garden was pretty good. We'd order fresh smoothies and I was a big fan of the Crispy Fish Salad and my boyfriend really enjoyed their pizza. Koala Bar further down the beach also had some really good handmade pizza.

Make sure to book early. We also asked for bungalows closest to the beach and thankfully we were only a 20 second walk away. I'd go back here in a heartbeat and if we ever go back to Koh Lanta!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been echoed by others below? We stayed at Banana Garden Home in December 2010 for 10 days. We are going back in a few weeks for another 8 days. The first place I booked for our Thailand return was here. My boyfriend and I fell in love with Koh Lanta, and part of the reason was Annie and Tong. They truly go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Some examples: every afternoon we came back to a snack! Toast, coffee, and tea delivered to your room every morning. Our rooms were cleaned every single day, and if we had dirty clothes on the floor, they lovingly folded them up (even my bf's stinky socks!). It was raining one afternoon so Annie had her son take a few of us around the island in his truck for a little tour (free of charge). The night before we left, Annie grilled up a bunch of prawns and shared with everyone staying at BGH (free of charge, though many contributed to the purchase of the prawns).

Annie will pick you up once you debark from the ferry. I just went to the help desk and told the lady where I was staying. She called up Annie and 5 minutes later, we were on the road. Koh Lanta is not a huge island, and it seems everyone knows everyone else. I like the feel of it. The beach BGH resides on is gorgeous. No rocks and not a ton of people. There are sea lice though, and we got a few stings while swimming. Your bungalow isn't on the beach. You won't look out and see the water; however, the grounds are beautifully landscaped and you are literally 20 seconds from the beach. I never once wished I stayed at a sea view bungalow.

The Indian Bar is THE place to be at night (it sits right in front of BGH on the beach). You have fire dancers, great drinks, great view, and the best bartender ever (Pas). We spent almost every night lounging here.

I truly could go on and on and on. While the price isn't the cheapest of the cheap backpacker-wise (1500 baht per night for your own bungalow), I would gladly pay double to stay here. Book early and don't even hesitate! Just do it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLemler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.5 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#59 of 84 in Ko Lanta
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#28 of 84 in Ko Lanta
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden Home

Property: Banana Garden Home
Address: 20/2 Moo 3 Tambon Saladan | Klong Dao, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Garden Home is positioned just two kilometers from Ban Saladan business and tourist center. The resort is set on the beach front at the middle of the legendary Klong Dao Beach set in a beautiful lush garden. Klong Dao Beach is the most popular beach on Lanta Island. Banana Garden Home offers 20 rooms all with balcony, air conditioning, refrigerators and hot showers. The resort design is simple but comfortable and matching with the surrounding environment. ROOM FACILITIES: Air conditioning, hot shower, refrigerator, cable TV and in-room wireless internet (wifi) also coming soon. OTHER SERVICES AVAILABLE: tour excursion, ticket and booking service center, Thai massage, Internet & overseas call services, beach bar and restaurant serving classical Thai & European foods on the beach with the most beautiful sunset everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Home Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing