We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, at a great location run by wonderful dedicated people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Garden Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banana Garden Home
Ranked #19 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, at a great location run by wonderful dedicated people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed over Christmas, with 2 little children (3 and 1) and another couple who have a 10yr old. Lanta was the highlight of our holiday in Thailand, not only because of the great beaches, ease of exploration and general sense of relaxation, but also because of the great people who hosted us at Banana Garden.

We were picked up at the pier by a "taxi" which Irene and her colleague arranged for us. This took us to the accommodation, where we were greeted by friendly smiles and a welcome drink.

Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. Throughout the stay, the girls at the front desk were always ready with help and ideas. The restaurant is genuinely good, and Lola would always make sure we got the table we wanted (right on the sand :) ). Fresh fish on the BBQ was excellent.

Overall, we enjoyed this place so much, because we got what we were looking for, which was a need to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellul_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    61
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
175
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

This place is a paradise!! We arrived here to be greeted by Oil and some other staff with massive smiles, drinks, hellos and greetings... The lot!!! The room is simple but clean, spacious and the showers are warm!! The setting is beautiful and the beach is so nice, the water is the warmest I have ever stepped in and it's not a very busy beach either! The restaurant is so cheap and the food is fantastic! The youngish guy and the older lady that deal with the tables and serving are amazing and friendly! The older women I actually saw physically running about getting things done! They are all such hard workers and so nice! Oil is the beautiful receptionist who will do ANYTHING to help you with a smile and she speaks amazing English!! Can not be faulted! And the lady next to her who takes the bookings is equally as friendly and helpful. The vibe is so chilled! Just before the step to the beach there is a private little bamboo gazebo with cushions, floor beds and deckchairs! The place is also completely child friendly too!
I would love to come back and spend a month here.... Especially at the price of the rooms!! Couldn't have ever asked for more and I honestly think it has added to my already decided mind that Koh lanta is the best island anywhere around Thailand! Thankyou
Tony Robertson

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Koh Lanta itself best place for the people in search of Peace, natural beauty, basic facilities and lots more, and Banana Garden enhance the beauty of the place, it is a combo of best location, best facilities, best staff, best care taker, good food, and all basic facilities a tourist required on his holiday, just hire a bike and move around all the island and you will be surprised with the beauty of this island, we spent only 4 days but next time will go there for long time for sure ..... Oil beautiful nice girl on reception will help you for everything ....

Room Tip: all rooms are good, just think you are on a tropical island for rest ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manik_Arora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Where do I start? Annie, Irene, and all of the staff were ALL very warm and friendly, and went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure my wife, and 10 month old baby were comfortable and happy.

The bungalows are about 100 meters from the beach, and I think that this part of the beach is the best part of the beach in Khlong Dao (soft sand whereas other parts were rockier).

Breakfast was served everyday on our patio, and the restaurant at the hotel served excellent and fresh seafood (see my photos).

The rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable, and a steal for it's price.

My family and I look forward to coming back to Banana Garden Home for our next vacation.

Room Tip: I thought room b2 was the best. Had the most sunshine, and 2nd closest bungalow from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mswisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The wooden clean bungalows are just a step away from the beach. They where big enough but not spacious. And there is a terrace with two chairs in front of each bungalow. Also the bath is wooden. Thanks to the mosquito net over the bed we where shielded from too many bites (there were quite a lot as the walls are not closing firmly).

Stuff was more than friendly and helped us out with everything we came up with. Breakfast was ok, but nothing special - just toast and instant coffee and fresh fruit.

Big minus were the cockroaches we had in our bungalow the very first night. We informed the stuff but they told us this would be normal. As we did not see them afterwards we would guess that the guest before us left food lying around....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StudentenkussHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a wonderful time at Banana Garden Resort. Situated directly at the beach and a 20 min walk to Ban Saladan, it’s the perfect place to relax but also a good location to discover the island. You can rent a scooter at the resort. The national park (jungle walk with monkeys and fantastic view over the bay!) and other interesting places on the island can be reached easily within a few hours. At Klongdao Beach, there are a couple of nice restaurants and bars nearby. The barbecue at Banana Garden Restaurant was also great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We can definitely recommend it! Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We missed Banana Garden following a trip elsewhere last Christmas. This Christmas we spent 15 nights with the Oil the new manageress and she was a wonderful host and a great repacement for Annie. Quite simply Banana Garden is spotless, best food on island and its great value for money and the staff are great. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Enjoy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Diarmuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#30 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#53 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Garden Home

Property: Banana Garden Home
Address: 20/2 Moo 3 Tambon Saladan | Klong Dao, Ko Lanta 81150 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Garden Home is positioned just two kilometers from Ban Saladan business and tourist center. The resort is set on the beach front at the middle of the legendary Klong Dao Beach set in a beautiful lush garden. Klong Dao Beach is the most popular beach on Lanta Island. Banana Garden Home offers 20 rooms all with balcony, air conditioning, refrigerators and hot showers. The resort design is simple but comfortable and matching with the surrounding environment. ROOM FACILITIES: Air conditioning, hot shower, refrigerator, cable TV and in-room wireless internet (wifi) also coming soon. OTHER SERVICES AVAILABLE: tour excursion, ticket and booking service center, Thai massage, Internet & overseas call services, beach bar and restaurant serving classical Thai & European foods on the beach with the most beautiful sunset everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banana Garden Home Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing