We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Beach House Resort - right by the 7/11 Prae Ae”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2012

spent two weeks in the Thai beach houses, (like a hut on stilts) with a sea / beach view. Very clean ,Fan and Air Con. reasonably priced - Some lovely helpful staff , who will arange transfers , days out and advice on where to go what to see. There is a restaurant on the beach, not sure if it does breakfasts, but some nice lunches had there. Will definatlky be booking this resort again

Room Tip: There was a choice of bamboo fan rooms, the Wooden Houses we had and also purpose brick built air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gixxergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

I visited Thai House in May 2012 and I have to say, it was one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed at. Our room was just a stone's throw from the beach, and I woke each morning to hear the sound of the sea lapping on the beach - bliss. I stayed at one of the houses that directly overlooked the water. The room was clean and spacious with nice touches of decoration inside. The free wi-fi was fast. The bathroom had hot water and a good shower. We had a huge wardrobe, with a desk and chair, as well as TV. We also had a balcony with chairs to sit and relax outside. There was a restaurant on the premises, although meals were not included. The restaurant was excellent, sitting with a cocktail watching the sun go down was a highlight of our relaxed trip. There were plenty of restaurants close by, as well as a shop selling drinks and snacks just around the corner. The staff were so friendly, Kim the owner was always on hand to check we were OK and Saibur and Nen (hope I've spelled that right) were lovely. I have visited Koh Lanta before but this was my first visit to Thai House - it won't be my last.

Room Tip: Although there are cheaper rooms away from the beach, nothing beats the sounds of the sea when you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I booked a few days at the Thai House on the recommendation of our dive shop. We stayed for several nights, then moved on to another hotel, where I felt I got a significantly better deal

On the plus side, Thai House is surrounded by a pleasant garden and is as close to the beach as any of the places along Long Beach. The staff were always helpful and polite and there were several places to eat nearby

So why the Average score? I have stayed on Lanta a couple of times now, and booked other hotels in Thailand, and I just did not feel the quality of the rooms at Thai House was quite up to the price we paid. The outside of the huts (we had a 'Thai House' room) was pleasant enough, but the comfort level, decor and furniture inside were what I would expect from a room in a lower price range.

I expect some knocks and scratches, but the two rooms we tried were just a touch too worn and lacking in storage space to really meet my expectations. There were the usual collection of dodgy wiring installations, leaky air conditioning (the staff moved us to a non-leaky room with no complaint though), torn curtains etc. that you often find in cheaper beach places. If the price had been say 30% lower, I might have accepted this, but I really feel the price justified something better by local standards.

Apart from the price, my other niggle was with the restaurant next door (actually bordering on the grounds of the hotel, and only a few meters from the rooms). It was fine for a drink or a reasonable meal, but we were kept awake a couple of nights by the sound system and karaoke singers - not really what you want when you have to get up early for a dive

You should also note that the restaurant is not associated with Thai House, so whilst you can buy breakfast there, none is included in the room price. The hotel has free wireless internet, although you will need to be in or near reception to be able to log on.

To summarise, if you are not worried about a bit of noise in the evening, and you can get a good deal, then consider Thai House as an option - the staff and location were pleasant - but be sure to check out other places at the same price to see if you think it is worth it

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first - there were significant differences in quality between adjacent huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvilTwinSelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Got a room 20 meters from the beach (long beach), which was empty because it was the low season, and the room was only 600 per night for 2 beds w/AC. The place was kept a lot nicer than the cost would suggest. The room was very comfortable and the AC worked well. The front desk woman was also very helpful. My friend did have a little bit of dirt on his sheets when we got there, though, but not enough to soil our opinion of the place. We ate at Jumrat restaurant just outside the resort (go out to the road, make a left, it's about 20 meters down on the right) almost every day, because it was delicious and cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our Thai house was a bit on the rickerty side, but very cute and provided a lovely spot to sit and read as you looked out to the beach. The beach bar had some of the nicest Thai food I had tasted on my trip and all extremely reasonably priced. Kim had been in touch before we left the UK and provided us with the travel information we needed for our transfer. She also let us know her availbility and who we could contact whilst she was on her own trip, very considerate I thought.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Great rooms, great location...a few steps and you're on the beach. The rooms are large and cleaned every day. I stayed in room with seaview and next to the reception. The restaurant Will even bring you your food to your room you order it. The owner Kim and her staff are always friendly and willing to give you advise or help. The massage on the beach is marvelous and they seem to be the best and cheapest of Lanta. There are many things to do in the hotel surroundings but the whole island can be your playgound with a scooter. Try a visit to Flipflop diving school a few minutes to your right when you leave the resort. They rock all of them and I even had my first try out dives which I never thought I would do. I stayed on Lanta as a single female traveller. My stay on Lanta was the best and I will be back for sure. Thanks Kim! Best regards Pascal

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pascal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

When looking for a place to stay on Lanta, I had 3 needs.
1. ON the beach
2. Air conditioning
3. Great scuba instructors nearby
Thai House filled all of these requirements and more! Kim and her staff were always available for us, even when our key was mysteriously swollowed by the ocean. They also booked a 4 island snorkling tour for me and the shuttle back to the Krabi airport. My husband and I were certified with Dive & Relax which is one minute away down the beach. Only complaint is the water pressure is not very good. There is a 7-11 at the end of the road, and May's Kitchen a 6 minute walk away. Don't miss that!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinReisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#2 of 228 in Ko Lanta
382 reviews
3.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta

Address: 707 Moo 2, Long Beach | Ban Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £14 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai House Beach Resort is located on the beach at the southern tip of Long Beach, one of the most popular beaches on Koh Lanta. We are ideally situated on Long Beach, behind the 7/11 store, putting us right at the heart of the local village. In addition to the restaurant at the beach within the grounds, there are many other restaurants close by offering a wide range of both Thai and Western dishes. There are also bakeries, souvenir shops, local grocery stores offering fresh fruit and vegetables and many other amenities, all within walking distance. Located in our beautiful tropical garden, we have a selection of rooms available, including our unique air conditioned Traditional Thai Wooden Houses. We also have a selection of twin, double, triple and family rooms, available mainly with air conditioning, however, there are some fan rooms available also. In addition there are fan Bamboo Bungalows, ideal for those travelling on a budget. A number of the larger air conditioned rooms can also accommodate an additional bed - price available upon request. All rooms have hot showers and free wifi is available in most of our rooms and also at reception, which offers a comfortable seating area. Our resort is Western owned, so you can be sure you will receive first class personal service, while also benefiting from the world famous Thai hospitality from our welcoming Thai staff. Welcome to the Land of Smiles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing