We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't resist the breakfasts!”
Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

It's taken us 6 months to write this review but we finally got round to it...

We stayed in Papillon for 2 weeks in February having originally only planned to stay for a couple of nights. We had the two bungalows that were joined together which was perfect for us and our 2 kids (3yrs and 1 year). We thought this was really good value for money compared to what else was on offer and made several inquiries up on Long Beach but couldn't get something with a separate bedroom for us for the same money.

The place is clean, nice little pool for the kids and cooling down and really nice food. We thought we'd end up eating out on the beach more but Papillon breakfasts were too good.

Kids loved it and had new friends to play with, including Jens and Caroline's own kids.

The location is pretty good, though tuk-tuk needed for going out shopping or to the bigger beaches further north. However, there is a small grocery store a couple of minutes walk away plus the excellent Three Mums restaurant right next door.

Jens and Caroline who run the place were really nice and provided great service in a very friendly and relaxed way. They seemed really committed to the place and to supporting their staff. Jens' bread is great and the fussy-eater out of our two kids appreciated the pizza and meatballs on the menu.

Disclaimer - one of us is Swedish so a little bit of a "home-from-home" feeling creeping in here ;-)

Thanks Jens and Caroline, good luck with the resort and best wishes to the staff! Hope we make it back again someday! Jon, Elin, Astrid and Sam

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the two joined bungalows for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpt_burger_and_chips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Ohhh thank you so much for this great review, it was so appriciated right now in the middle of lowseason and alla renovations.... now it will be even more fun to prepare for next season :-) We hope to se you again Elin and Jon ..... and please give our love to sweet Astrid and Sam.... we remember you all very well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed in a Papillon bungalow back in January and have been meaning to write a review ever since. Jens, Caroline & their staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, we relaxed within minutes of arriving and were beautifully looked after for the whole of our stay.
Our bungalow was great - hammock, big bathroom, very comfy bed & lovely gardens all around. The beach is two minutes walk away down a little sandy track which brings you out onto a particularly lovely part of Long Beach - what more could you want?
Oh, must mention Papillon's Thai Prawn Salad - flippin fab and the best we had on our short tour of Thailand.
All in all this was probably the best value accommodation we stayed in during our trip. Koh Lanta is not a cheap part of Thailand so this place is a really good find: comfortable, intimate, friendly & relaxing. Thank you Caroline, Jens and team - you really have turned this place around and deserve to succeed. See you next year - Helen & Karen x

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you Helen and Karen for your kind review, it really warms our hearts :-) We look forward to seeing you again!

Greetings Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Pros. has nice pool and surround and the eating area is nice too. The rooms appeared to be pretty clean and the beds comfotable. Food in restaurant pretty good, coffee good when made by owner. Helpful for info on bookings etc.

Its just not worth the money at 900B without any breakfast it just doesn't add up. Could hear everything in the room next door. The area in front/around papillon is just nothing to write home about. Service could be slow until they realized you actually wanted service. Having said that, it seems all most of Lanta is like this. Compared to other thai locations the island has overpriced itself and appears lazy.., cant figure out why its a bit dirty with garbage everywhere on side of roads , beaches and a general badly maintained feeling, also a lack of creativity and smiles for thailand (ouch just my feelings). similar complaints from many other people met at other hotels/Inns
Next door at Long Beach Chalet 1100bt including breakfast with many choices and good coffee you could get a room with excellent facilities, new , clean, working TV cable, pool, great food, great service, even room service and good wifi in all rooms, but then again it was full even in off season, we can see why. However I think Long Beach Chalet is the exception on this island and they deserve all the bookings they get.
Pappilon is fine its just not worth the price they ask.

Room Tip: possibly awat from often busy road, but then there are more mosquitoes further back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagittarian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you so much for your review.... since it´s our first year as owners of Papillon, we really appriciate all feedback. Sorry that your stay in Papillon did not reach up to your expactations.

Earlier this year, many people told us that Papillon gave good value for the money but maybe we need to lower the price in low/middle-season and increase in peak...instead of having a plane pricing as we have now, we will consider that for next year.

If you heard your neigbour next door, that means that you stayed in the "double-bungalow" because all our other bungalows are far apart..... from next season this bungalow will be a double-room for families with connecting doors instead to avoid this problem.

We hope that you will give Koh Lanta another chance, it´s a beautiful island with a lot to offer.

Best regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights back in November 2011 with 3 friends - sharing 2 bungalows. Papillion it is a small, friendly and cosy resort. Small pool which is good for sunbathing in with a few sunbeds around it to relax the day away. The bungalows are spacious with big bathroom, tv, fridge and dvd player.
It's in a quiet location although only a few metres from the main road and a couple of minutes walk to the beach. (great beach with some chilled bars).
The swedish couple who had taken over recently were really helpful and gave loads of handy tips for the island. They also sorted moped hire for us, which was the best day I had in Thailand such an awesome ride around Koh Lanta!
Food was excellent - choice of western and thai, very high quality although I little more expensive than most places.
Some other friends stayed just up the road in a 4* hotel paying 3x as much, it was nice but not 3 x nicer!! All in all Papillion is great value for money, relaxed and friendly :)
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you so much for the review, we really appriciate it!

Greets Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of january and loved it! the bungalows are small but quirky and full of character with a hammock and swing outside. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis and everything within the room was in good working order. Fantastic location, just minutes walk from the beach and nearby bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good value for money and we ate here every morning during our stay! The owners are super helpful and very friendly, the best hosts we encountered during our stay in Koh Lanta. This is a fantastic place for stay for couples, very relaxed and value for money. If we visit Koh Lanta again we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Manager at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you so much for the review, right now it´s really busy at Koh Lanta and many people find us through Trip so every review is highly appriciated!

Kind regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Excellent location! Really close to the beach (about 200m walk) and there are a few really nice beach bars right there. It's near the pier, but quiet, got a pool and the food there is very good as well. Owners and help were very friendly. I must admit that the bungalows are old and a little musty....it's not new or modern by any means (and I refer to the beds, linen, towels etc. I love a rustic little bungalow as much as the next person). TV, AC, Fridge...I think there are bigger bungalows as well with kitchens if I'm not mistaken....we stayed in the double bed bungalows. I enjoyed my stay, loved long beach, easy spot to hire a scooter and just go sight seeing all around the island (small, takes you about an hour and a half or so...). Very cool island, beautiful and affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for the review, very kind of you. We agree that the bungalows are a bit old and we look forward to lowseason when we are going to fresh up all bungalows with paint and new decoration. We do have regular aircon bungalows for two people and big aircon with place for extrabed. No kitchen. Hope to see you again!

Best regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just returned from two lovely weeks at Papillon and are now suitably relaxed!

Owners Jens and Caroline, our friendly Swedish hosts were friendly and considering this is a new venture for them very competent hosts.

The bungalows are set in lush tropical gardens - there are only about 8 in total which means that it's not a huge sprawling, faceless resort but a intimate resort ran by the owners and their staff - they are a good size, with all amenities you would need for a two week holiday, including very good new LG aircon (most aircon in Thailand is ancient and churns out all sorts of strange gasses and smells!!)
This is a budget resort so the bungalows are not the most ascetically pleasing, but if you wanted this then there are plenty of places around (charging two or three times Papillons prices) but if you are like us and simply want somewhere clean and functional to sleep in then this is perfect.
They are not on the beach, but a short stroll down a beach road brings you out onto the lovely Long Beach with a small mix of great beach bars and restaurants (try Calypso bar - great guys and a lovely place to chill out!) I don't see the necessity to have a resort on the beach as you pay a premium for this and there are so many places on the beach to go for a drink or meal.

Papillon is in a great location away from the main town yet within walking distance of some great restaurants and bars. To fully see and appreciate the island though, scooter rental is a must!

The restaurant is also very good and although we only ate dinner there once (the choices on Ko Lanta are amazing!) we ate breakfast nearly every morning and it was always excellent, especially the homemade bread.

We are already planning our trip for next year!

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 1, which is closest to the road so you can hear traffic sometimes - choose one f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boblet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we appriciate it! Hope to see you again :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#16 of 85 in Ko Lanta
215 reviews
0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 85 in Ko Lanta
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#17 of 85 in Ko Lanta
474 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £24 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing