We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great people”
Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay, great people”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at Papillion over Christmas 2012 (about 6 days). It's a nice, lowkey little backpacker hotel. Our bungalow was big enough to spread out a bit. Its a five minute walk down to the beach. The hotel owners were super friendly and helpful- really cool people. The staff seemed dependable and trustworthy as well. Always felt safe and well taken care of. They can recommend good vendors in the area to work with (especially for scooter rental).

Would return in a heart beat.

Thanks for taking good care of us, Caroline & Jens!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaWebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Ohh thank you so much, feels so good to read your kind words :-) Hope you had a really good vacation and you are off course always welcome back!

Greetings from Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    83
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
164
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Great bungalow with a relaxed vibe.
Service great and very friendly. Great location, few steps to the beach.
Our family bungalow was exactly what we needed, clean, confortable and quiet.
We stayed here for 2 weeks with our 2 kids (14 & 12 years old) for Christmas holidays.
It's for the second time on a good experience last year (same period of the year).
Hope to be back soon.
Thanks Caroline & Jens.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Manager at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Ahh, love when you write "relaxed vibe" cause that is exactly what we are trying to achieve.
It was lovely to have you here and we really hope to see you next year again! Thank you for your wonderful review.

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I highly recommend staying at the Papillion bungalows on Koh Lanta. My wife and I stayed for 6 nights in December and really enjoyed our stay. The bungalows are located ~ 10 mins up the main road from the pier and have spacious well decorated rooms. Jens, Caroline and the rest of the staff are always willing to help with advice / bookings and serve great food in the Wifi equipped restaurant. Our particular favorite was the breakfasts served with coffee "how it should be" and homemade bread.

We rented a motorbike through them which allowed us to explore the whole island including all the hidden beaches and bars along the coast. The beach is only a 5 minute walk from the back of the resort; if you time it well you can take advantage of happy hour in Lym's rice bowl restaurant overlooking the beach. For evening meals you can either eat in or walk a short distance in either direction to a full range of restaurants and mini marts.

Thanks once again to all the staff for making our stay on koh Lanta a great one,

Adrian&Donna UK

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidy_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Manager at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you Adrian and Donna, it was so nice to have you here. Glad to hear that you had a great time, and that you appriciated our lovely Lanta and Papillon. You are always welcome back!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay

-very nice and helpful owners and staff
-clean rooms
- DVD player with a huge selection of DVDs
- very close to the beach
- hammocks
- good food at the restaurant
- good value as well

Only 1 set back is they only give one sheet on the bed. So if you like to make your room cold with ac it can get a little chilly

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizmarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Thank you so much for this nice Review, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take notice about the "one sheet" and will Think about if that is something we should change.

Hope to see you again!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

There were seven of us staying in 4 bungalows at Papillon for 2 nights in November. This was one of my favourite places that we stayed in Thailand. The bunglalows are a good size with air con and a hammock outside. It is about 5 mins walk to the beach set in a beautiful garden.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner on the first night and the food ws very good, as was the breakfast. The area near reception is lovely to sit and relax in and even when the bar was closed we were welcome to sit and have our drinks with the music and lights left on for us.

The owners and the staff were very helpful and welcoming, probably the friendliest of eveywhere we stayed in Thailand. I would definitely stay here again, the only downside was that I got bitten a lot here, probably because it is so close to the beach with a lot of flowers around...a small price to pay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Thank you so much! We feel humble and thankful for your lovely review.

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Had a lovely stay here for three nights, warmly welcomed and served by smiling staff which was a treat after some of our other bookings around Thailand. We came here after spending a few nights in Ko Phi Phi and I was so delighted with our little bungalow at a MUCH better rate and much nicer staff. There are a few little places to eat near by, I'd recommend hiring a mo-ped and exploring the island and other beaches too.
All in all a great stay - Good location, good food, great staff.

Room Tip: Visit long beach behind the bungalows and have a drink at Lyns Rice Bowl (or called something simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Manager at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Thank you for your kind review, glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again some day!!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Papillon Bungalows for 3 days during a mini travel break round SE asia. The rooms are clean, comfortable with A/C and an absaloute bargin for the price. The staff were absaloutely amazing and couldnt have been anymore helpful or friendly!! we both felt extremely welcome whilst staying at the hotel. The breakfast with homemade bread was fantastic as was the rest of the food (especially the homemade hamburgers if you cant face any more thai food)

The bungalows are a short taxi / tuk-tuk ride away from endless amounts of restuarants and bars. I would seriously recommended visiting the animal rescue centre whilst there its about 5 mins down the road and well worth the visit and is funded through donations and the profits from the "time for lime" cooking school / resturant which is also well worth a visit just for the food.

The extremely quiet Long Beach is 5mins walk away from the hotel and if that doesnt float your boat the pool area is just as relaxing. Jens and Caroline should be applauded for creating a laid back relaxing hotel with excellent service and acommodation at a budget price!!

Room Tip: If avaliable go for a larger bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it really feels good to hear and it warms our hearts.
We wish you a merry christmas and a happy new year.

Greetings Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Property: Papillon Bungalows
Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Papillon Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing