We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
247
90
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
90
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong beachthe main roadtv with dvd playerfamily bungalowstayed for nightssmall poolminute walkthai foodenjoyed our stayclean bungalowswestern dishesrelaxing placerestaurants and barsstayed longerrelax bayfridgescooter
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We loved our stay at Papillon Bungalows. This place is fantastic value for money, is quiet, relaxing and had a lovely swimming pool which was great for our 2 young boys. The owner and staff were really friendly and the bungalow was a good size for 4 people. The breakfasts were superb, made to order, not buffet.

Unfortunately being low season the beach was not that good for swimming and there were jellyfish also, so was nice having the swimming pool instead. The restaurant/bar closed at 3pm however we could still sit there in the relaxing chairs and use internet and read. There was a shop close by where we could buy some drinks and bring back to Papillon and there were also excellent eating options close by (May's Kitchen was excellent!). Overall it was a great place to stay and would definitely recommend for those looking for basic accommodation options at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate your kind words. Next year we will try to keep the restaurant open all days even in lowseason.

Hope to see you again on Papillon :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My partner and I travelled Thailand for a month starting from the 1st July. We stayed in many guest houses, hotels and bungalows and for us Papillon was number one. After reading many reviews on here we decided to walk in after arriving in Ko Lanta from Railay by boat.

From the moment we walked in the staff we attentive, helpful, professional and polite, Sunny was especially helpful. The resort is beautiful, the bungalows are clean, comfortable and were just perfect for what we needed. The house keeping staff work very hard to keep the whole place up together and it shows throughout. We booked one night and ended up staying 4.

We also met the owners the day we booked in and saw them a lot through our stay, they couldn't have been more helpful if they tried and made up feel so at home, thank you Caroline & Jens! They gave us so much information on what to do, how to get to our next island etc.

The location is perfect for Ko Lanta, right on Long beach which is quiet and clean. Everything being quite spread out in Ko Lanta renting a bike is a good idea, the roads are quiet and you can get around the whole island in no time.

Thank you so much to everyone at Papillon for making our stay absolutely perfect. I couldn't recommend this resort enough to anyone thinking of visiting Ko Lanta!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiaSurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your stay, we really appriciate your warm and kind words! Although, we have to say that it´s not hard to be a nice host with such lovely guests :-)

We hope to see you on Papillon again.

Warm regards
Papillon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Lovely little bungalow resort with swimming pool. Very friendly owners and staff who helped me out finding my way around the island. Bungalows are clean and, in my case, had AC which I could easily adjust. Great breakfast included and also the food served in the restaurant was good.

Only minor thing was that there was no Wi-Fi available in the bungalow (only at the restaurant area). But they are working on this issue.

Overall very good value for money!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eki100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you so much, we are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. About the internet, we are working on it right now so when highseason starts there will be wifi also in every room.

We hope to see you next time you visit Koh Lanta...and thanks once again for taking the time to write a review :-)

Greetings Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Papillon bungalows is a very relaxed place and very safe with children. The food at the restaurant is good (I loved the chocolate cake and the big breakfast !) and the service is fast. You're just a few steps from the beach and if you prefer there's a swimming pool. We stayed in a large bungalow with an extra bed and there wasn't any problem with the space, it was large enough with the 4 of us. The prices are very competitive if you look at the other hotels. Well, we recommend Papillon to every tourist who plans to stay in Koh Lanta !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CALIGULETTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for this nice review, we really appriciate your kind words and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again at Papillon :-)

Warm regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I shall try and write a fair review of this hotel but I was rather disappointed with the accommodation offered at this resort.
Firstly the positive things, friendly hosts, decent size accommodation and bathroom, delicious breakfast served each day, near to the beach as promised, easy to organise a scooter and easy to reach restaurants.
We found the air conditioning very cold, we tried setting it a few degrees below the outside temperature otherwise the contrast was too great but still we were cold as the air conditioning blew straight down onto the bed. The only covering provided was a very inadequate, short sheet for two people, we had a constant tug of war and I ended up covering myself with a sarong and my husband used a towel so a thin fleece and a large sheet would add greatly to guest's comfort.
There are bath towels provided but no beach or pool towels. I know this a budget place but a beach towel is really essential since the hotel has a pool and is in walking distance of the beach. The bedding and towels are changed every 3 days so that makes the towel situation even more difficult. I think a warning to people booking about the towels is necessary, we bought two towels locally otherwise we would have struggled.
Our bathroom was sadly lacking a towel rail, there was nowhere to hang the towels after a shower. The water was plentiful but the towel rail and even a small shelf below the mirror to put a brush and a few toiletries would have added to the comfort of our stay. These are little things.
The mosquitoes are a real problem, I covered myself in repellent every day, the hammock on the verandah is a lovely touch as are the two chairs but a table to put a drink on would be really welcome. The mosquito coils are very smelly but it's that or be eaten alive.
The wi fi being available only in the unairconditioned mosquito ridden restaurant/pool area was inconvenient in my opinion. This was compounded by the fact that the hotel restaurant shut at 4pm which was not ideal, it gave a deserted feeling to the place, I felt sorry for late arrivals who had to ring for the owners, they always looked bewildered! I suppose the thing is that whilst on holiday one has a latish breakfast and goes out for the day to return around 3.30 pm and there is just a half hour window to organise anything or get a drink eg.
The pool is a good idea but it is shallow and best for little kids although there were many sharp tiles that need to be fixed, the sides need to have the algae scrubbed away. There are a few loungers and chairs around the pool which is nice but come 4pm the mosquitoes hone in.
Perhaps because it was low season the garden needed some work too, it didn't feel well cared for.
I feel as though I am being super critical but I want to put a true reflection of this hotel on TA as there are many over the top gushing ones that I don't feel reflect what the accommodation is really like. This is a really budget, low key place so as long as you are prepared for that you will be happy. Lanta is more laid back, rural and simple than Phuket. The beach nearby is nice but I think there are nicer on Lanta. Lym's Rice Bowl next door offered nice meals and a cold drink and Thai Cat Fish just along the beach was also nice to enjoy a meal with your feet in the sand. Reasonably priced and delicious food. May's Kitchen just 500m down the road provides lovely Thai meals too, it was a really nice place to go in the evenings.
I think the owners do try with this resort but there are a few little things that can be improved that would make future guests really happy.

Room Tip: All set separately in the garden
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your review, we really appriciate all feedback so we can improve Papillon. We are very sorry to hear how dissapointed you got and we wish you had told us this during your stay since some of the things could be solved easily.

For example the aircon can be set higher and lower in temperature but also set in direction. If you direct it higher it will not blow on the bed. If someone prefers not to use the aircon, we also have a fan in the ceiling. We provide bedsheets for a doublebed but if someone asks for one extra we always provide that as well. All people have different needs and if you just ask we will off course do our best to help.

Papillon is a budget 2 star hotel and our low rates does not allow us to provide beachtowels but we could definitely inform about this on our homepage, thank you for the tip.

We agree that a table on the terrace is a good idea, we will definitely invest in that for next season.

Mosquito is a big problem on Lanta in lowseason. We are one of the few places that spray against mosquito every second week but the weather conditions sometimes makes it impossible and that is often the case in lowseason.

We offer free wifi in the restaurant and poolarea. As you wrote we don´t have aircon in theese areas. That´s because the pool is outside and our restaurants has no walls, which makes it impossible to have aircon there.

About our garden we did our best but that was probably not enough. The company who takes care of our garden closed in the end of march and since we have a big lush garden it´s a lot of work every day. We could not get any new staff (very hard to find staff on Lanta that time of the year) so we did it ourselves and unfortunately we couldn´t keep the garden as cleen as usually. Sorry for that.

We usually keep our restaurant/ reception open from 8am to 10pm from october till april. This year 2 people in the Papillon team had to go home to their village up north already in the beginning of april which put us in a very hard situation. One of them was our main chef and it became impossible to stay open all day. We decided to close in the evenings from 4 pm and we were not satisfied at all about that, we will do our best to make sure that will not happen again.

Our pool is a natural pool with one shallow part and one deeper part. We are aware of that some tiles are loose and can not be fixed until we can empty the pool. Papillon is closed right now for improvements and the pool is one of our top priorities.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the restaurants nearby. Both Lym´s, Thai Cat and May´s are very nice restaurants and we are glad to have them in the neighborhood.

We think it´s important to know that Papillon is a budget hotel and that´s why we can keep our low rates. Our goal is not to be a 4 star hotel but a simple and relaxed place with good service.

Thank you once again for your feedback, the things we can change we will take care of asap.

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews