We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and weren't once disappointed. REALLY nice, friendly, helpful and always present staff, called you by your name making you feel at home. Extremely nice bar/restaurant/lounging area right next to the pool, ideal if you have kids! Very nice food ( try their papillon salad!) Very clean bungalows and comfortable bed. back door from the resort only two minutes walking distance from the beach. They even made us special take away breakfast the day we left because we were leaving earlier than the bar was open. In all, a big thanks to the whole staff, you made our stay in Lanta great!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tibo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you so much, we are so glad to hear your kind words about Papillon and especially our staff, wonderful! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back and visit us again some day :-)

Warm regards
Papillon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    82
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
162
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed at Papillon for 4 nights in October and had a very pleasant stay there, the hosts Caroline and Jan are most welcoming and attentative as any family owned business should be.

Once I got over the shock that I'm not staying in a higher priced hotel but essentially a excellently priced bungalow, it all made sense.

The bungalow I stayed in was furnished with a double bed,fridge,ac, ceiling mounted fan and shower room and toilet behind the bedroom.

Sadly it rained most of the time but that wasn't Papillon's fault, managed to hire a moped via the helpful girls on reception and on the nice days managed to ride round most of Island.
After the hosts have listened to customers regarding lack of Wifi apart from reception, they have had installed more wifi hotspots so the rear bungalows are now online.

Food at the restaurant was also good and cheap, if your up for breakfast then there's a choice of four options but I once tried the big bowl of Musili with fresh fruit and layered with yoghurt I was hooked.

The always someone present on reception till 9pm unlike on some previous reviews to help you with any requests, they also arranged a minibus for a direct trip back to the airport.

So to summarize, If you fancy staying in bungalows that are excellent value for money with really nice hosts and not forgetting Long Beach on your doorstep then Papillon is for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you Henry for your wonderful review, we really appriciate your kind words about Papillon. We hope to see you again some day and hopefully we can offer you some better weather then :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at the Papillion Bungalows. Arrived to a very welcoming Thai host (name forgotten) and Caroline who owns the business. Check in was swift and and a cold glass of complimentary juice on arrival was a welcomed gift.

We were taken straight to our Bungalow of which there are approximately 11 in total. There are no porters or bell boys so do not expect this. The bungalow contains a double bed with an overhead mosquito net. There is ais single ceiling fan and air conditioning. There is a television and dvd player. No channels can be viewed on this but the hosts have left an array of dvds which can be watched for free in the communal area.
The bathrooms was a basic wet room although the shower did provide warm water.

The facilities at this location are a smallish pool not suitable for swimming but paddling only with an adjacent lounging area. The grounds are beautifully landscaped to give a jungle retreat feel to the residence. There is no wifi in the rooms although there is free wifi in the combined bar/lounge/communal area. Fortunately we could pick up a weak signal from our bungalow. The communal area also contains a book corner as well as dvds. The beach is approx 300m or 5 mins walking distance by a back route. There is no direct access or road mapapillont easy enough to find. There are a handful of local shops and restaurants within 10-15 mins walk although nothing in direct proximity. Renting out scooters to travel around is cheap (200 baht/day) and highly recommended. Breakfast is a set menu of 3 packages with standard continental breakfast options. What sets this places breakfast apart from other thai establishments is the nice coffee and fresh juice which is not watered down.

As with any place there are a couple of gripes which are easily rectifiable and prevents it being ranked higher. Firstly there is only a visible staff on duty until 3pm after which these bungalows appear unstaffed. There is no safe within the rooms and we were not offered an alternative for safe keeping of money or valubles. This is particularly concerning as bungalows are easily accessible from the road and with no visible staff present a risk for security. There is no bar or food service past 3pm however we were refused food well before 2.30pm on two occasions which would seem odd as other residents we spoke to also noted this and felt a large source of loss on revenue for the hosts. The rooms are provided with 2 towels for the stay. These are not replenished or replaced during the stay. Our A/C in the room did not work correctly, very difficult to turn on and off, and was fixed at 18degrees. This resulted in tempertures being freezing cold or boiling hot throughout our stay. Further to this there is no duvet on the beds only a single cotton sheet. Unfortunately there was no staff present to discuss these concerns with when they arose as past 3pm the residence is not staffed.

Overall for a cheap and cheerful place to stay with a nice breakfast and friendly hosts papillion is well recommended. Unfortunately there are a few small issues preventing it being ranked higher than 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Z M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback we can get.

I´m sorry for the inconvenience.

There are a few things I would like to sort out:
- We have green wood-signs in all our rooms that the guests need to hang on the door handle if they want cleaning of the room. Towels and sheets are changed after 3 nights if the guest put out the sign. I´m sorry if we missed to inform you about this when we checked you in.
- We close the restaurant 3 pm in lowseason to be able to keep our lowseasonrates. We don´t want our staff to work too many hours so if we would stay open longer we would need double amount of staff.. In highseason we are open until 10 or 11 in the evenings. We are really sorry to hear that you have been denied food before 2.30....we will have a meeting about this tomorrow and that will not happen again..
- Even if the restaurant is closed you can always reach us, we leave our telephonenumbers and a telephone in the reception with a sign that explains this.
- Sorry to hear that your aircon did not work correctly, unfortunately the controller needed to be replaced and have fixed that now.
- We only provide wifi in the restaurant and poolarea today but we will install a new system next months so all bungalows will have free wifi.

We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay even after this inconvenience and you are always welcome back to Papillon :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We loved our stay at Papillon Bungalows. This place is fantastic value for money, is quiet, relaxing and had a lovely swimming pool which was great for our 2 young boys. The owner and staff were really friendly and the bungalow was a good size for 4 people. The breakfasts were superb, made to order, not buffet.

Unfortunately being low season the beach was not that good for swimming and there were jellyfish also, so was nice having the swimming pool instead. The restaurant/bar closed at 3pm however we could still sit there in the relaxing chairs and use internet and read. There was a shop close by where we could buy some drinks and bring back to Papillon and there were also excellent eating options close by (May's Kitchen was excellent!). Overall it was a great place to stay and would definitely recommend for those looking for basic accommodation options at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate your kind words. Next year we will try to keep the restaurant open all days even in lowseason.

Hope to see you again on Papillon :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My partner and I travelled Thailand for a month starting from the 1st July. We stayed in many guest houses, hotels and bungalows and for us Papillon was number one. After reading many reviews on here we decided to walk in after arriving in Ko Lanta from Railay by boat.

From the moment we walked in the staff we attentive, helpful, professional and polite, Sunny was especially helpful. The resort is beautiful, the bungalows are clean, comfortable and were just perfect for what we needed. The house keeping staff work very hard to keep the whole place up together and it shows throughout. We booked one night and ended up staying 4.

We also met the owners the day we booked in and saw them a lot through our stay, they couldn't have been more helpful if they tried and made up feel so at home, thank you Caroline & Jens! They gave us so much information on what to do, how to get to our next island etc.

The location is perfect for Ko Lanta, right on Long beach which is quiet and clean. Everything being quite spread out in Ko Lanta renting a bike is a good idea, the roads are quiet and you can get around the whole island in no time.

Thank you so much to everyone at Papillon for making our stay absolutely perfect. I couldn't recommend this resort enough to anyone thinking of visiting Ko Lanta!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiaSurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your stay, we really appriciate your warm and kind words! Although, we have to say that it´s not hard to be a nice host with such lovely guests :-)

We hope to see you on Papillon again.

Warm regards
Papillon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groenlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Lovely little bungalow resort with swimming pool. Very friendly owners and staff who helped me out finding my way around the island. Bungalows are clean and, in my case, had AC which I could easily adjust. Great breakfast included and also the food served in the restaurant was good.

Only minor thing was that there was no Wi-Fi available in the bungalow (only at the restaurant area). But they are working on this issue.

Overall very good value for money!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eki100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you so much, we are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. About the internet, we are working on it right now so when highseason starts there will be wifi also in every room.

We hope to see you next time you visit Koh Lanta...and thanks once again for taking the time to write a review :-)

Greetings Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHATEAU DU LOIR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Papillon bungalows is a very relaxed place and very safe with children. The food at the restaurant is good (I loved the chocolate cake and the big breakfast !) and the service is fast. You're just a few steps from the beach and if you prefer there's a swimming pool. We stayed in a large bungalow with an extra bed and there wasn't any problem with the space, it was large enough with the 4 of us. The prices are very competitive if you look at the other hotels. Well, we recommend Papillon to every tourist who plans to stay in Koh Lanta !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CALIGULETTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for this nice review, we really appriciate your kind words and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again at Papillon :-)

Warm regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Property: Papillon Bungalows
Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Papillon Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing