We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
247
91
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
91
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long beach the main road tv with dvd player family bungalow stayed for nights small pool minute walk thai food enjoyed our stay clean bungalows western dishes relaxing place restaurants and bars stayed longer relax bay fridge scooter
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and weren't once disappointed. REALLY nice, friendly, helpful and always present staff, called you by your name making you feel at home. Extremely nice bar/restaurant/lounging area right next to the pool, ideal if you have kids! Very nice food ( try their papillon salad!) Very clean bungalows and comfortable bed. back door from the resort only two minutes walking distance from the beach. They even made us special take away breakfast the day we left because we were leaving earlier than the bar was open. In all, a big thanks to the whole staff, you made our stay in Lanta great!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tibo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you so much, we are so glad to hear your kind words about Papillon and especially our staff, wonderful! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back and visit us again some day :-)

Warm regards
Papillon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed at Papillon for 4 nights in October and had a very pleasant stay there, the hosts Caroline and Jan are most welcoming and attentative as any family owned business should be.

Once I got over the shock that I'm not staying in a higher priced hotel but essentially a excellently priced bungalow, it all made sense.

The bungalow I stayed in was furnished with a double bed,fridge,ac, ceiling mounted fan and shower room and toilet behind the bedroom.

Sadly it rained most of the time but that wasn't Papillon's fault, managed to hire a moped via the helpful girls on reception and on the nice days managed to ride round most of Island.
After the hosts have listened to customers regarding lack of Wifi apart from reception, they have had installed more wifi hotspots so the rear bungalows are now online.

Food at the restaurant was also good and cheap, if your up for breakfast then there's a choice of four options but I once tried the big bowl of Musili with fresh fruit and layered with yoghurt I was hooked.

The always someone present on reception till 9pm unlike on some previous reviews to help you with any requests, they also arranged a minibus for a direct trip back to the airport.

So to summarize, If you fancy staying in bungalows that are excellent value for money with really nice hosts and not forgetting Long Beach on your doorstep then Papillon is for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you Henry for your wonderful review, we really appriciate your kind words about Papillon. We hope to see you again some day and hopefully we can offer you some better weather then :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at the Papillion Bungalows. Arrived to a very welcoming Thai host (name forgotten) and Caroline who owns the business. Check in was swift and and a cold glass of complimentary juice on arrival was a welcomed gift.

We were taken straight to our Bungalow of which there are approximately 11 in total. There are no porters or bell boys so do not expect this. The bungalow contains a double bed with an overhead mosquito net. There is ais single ceiling fan and air conditioning. There is a television and dvd player. No channels can be viewed on this but the hosts have left an array of dvds which can be watched for free in the communal area.
The bathrooms was a basic wet room although the shower did provide warm water.

The facilities at this location are a smallish pool not suitable for swimming but paddling only with an adjacent lounging area. The grounds are beautifully landscaped to give a jungle retreat feel to the residence. There is no wifi in the rooms although there is free wifi in the combined bar/lounge/communal area. Fortunately we could pick up a weak signal from our bungalow. The communal area also contains a book corner as well as dvds. The beach is approx 300m or 5 mins walking distance by a back route. There is no direct access or road mapapillont easy enough to find. There are a handful of local shops and restaurants within 10-15 mins walk although nothing in direct proximity. Renting out scooters to travel around is cheap (200 baht/day) and highly recommended. Breakfast is a set menu of 3 packages with standard continental breakfast options. What sets this places breakfast apart from other thai establishments is the nice coffee and fresh juice which is not watered down.

As with any place there are a couple of gripes which are easily rectifiable and prevents it being ranked higher. Firstly there is only a visible staff on duty until 3pm after which these bungalows appear unstaffed. There is no safe within the rooms and we were not offered an alternative for safe keeping of money or valubles. This is particularly concerning as bungalows are easily accessible from the road and with no visible staff present a risk for security. There is no bar or food service past 3pm however we were refused food well before 2.30pm on two occasions which would seem odd as other residents we spoke to also noted this and felt a large source of loss on revenue for the hosts. The rooms are provided with 2 towels for the stay. These are not replenished or replaced during the stay. Our A/C in the room did not work correctly, very difficult to turn on and off, and was fixed at 18degrees. This resulted in tempertures being freezing cold or boiling hot throughout our stay. Further to this there is no duvet on the beds only a single cotton sheet. Unfortunately there was no staff present to discuss these concerns with when they arose as past 3pm the residence is not staffed.

Overall for a cheap and cheerful place to stay with a nice breakfast and friendly hosts papillion is well recommended. Unfortunately there are a few small issues preventing it being ranked higher than 3 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Z M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback we can get.

I´m sorry for the inconvenience.

There are a few things I would like to sort out:
- We have green wood-signs in all our rooms that the guests need to hang on the door handle if they want cleaning of the room. Towels and sheets are changed after 3 nights if the guest put out the sign. I´m sorry if we missed to inform you about this when we checked you in.
- We close the restaurant 3 pm in lowseason to be able to keep our lowseasonrates. We don´t want our staff to work too many hours so if we would stay open longer we would need double amount of staff.. In highseason we are open until 10 or 11 in the evenings. We are really sorry to hear that you have been denied food before 2.30....we will have a meeting about this tomorrow and that will not happen again..
- Even if the restaurant is closed you can always reach us, we leave our telephonenumbers and a telephone in the reception with a sign that explains this.
- Sorry to hear that your aircon did not work correctly, unfortunately the controller needed to be replaced and have fixed that now.
- We only provide wifi in the restaurant and poolarea today but we will install a new system next months so all bungalows will have free wifi.

We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay even after this inconvenience and you are always welcome back to Papillon :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We loved our stay at Papillon Bungalows. This place is fantastic value for money, is quiet, relaxing and had a lovely swimming pool which was great for our 2 young boys. The owner and staff were really friendly and the bungalow was a good size for 4 people. The breakfasts were superb, made to order, not buffet.

Unfortunately being low season the beach was not that good for swimming and there were jellyfish also, so was nice having the swimming pool instead. The restaurant/bar closed at 3pm however we could still sit there in the relaxing chairs and use internet and read. There was a shop close by where we could buy some drinks and bring back to Papillon and there were also excellent eating options close by (May's Kitchen was excellent!). Overall it was a great place to stay and would definitely recommend for those looking for basic accommodation options at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate your kind words. Next year we will try to keep the restaurant open all days even in lowseason.

Hope to see you again on Papillon :-)

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My partner and I travelled Thailand for a month starting from the 1st July. We stayed in many guest houses, hotels and bungalows and for us Papillon was number one. After reading many reviews on here we decided to walk in after arriving in Ko Lanta from Railay by boat.

From the moment we walked in the staff we attentive, helpful, professional and polite, Sunny was especially helpful. The resort is beautiful, the bungalows are clean, comfortable and were just perfect for what we needed. The house keeping staff work very hard to keep the whole place up together and it shows throughout. We booked one night and ended up staying 4.

We also met the owners the day we booked in and saw them a lot through our stay, they couldn't have been more helpful if they tried and made up feel so at home, thank you Caroline & Jens! They gave us so much information on what to do, how to get to our next island etc.

The location is perfect for Ko Lanta, right on Long beach which is quiet and clean. Everything being quite spread out in Ko Lanta renting a bike is a good idea, the roads are quiet and you can get around the whole island in no time.

Thank you so much to everyone at Papillon for making our stay absolutely perfect. I couldn't recommend this resort enough to anyone thinking of visiting Ko Lanta!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiaSurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your stay, we really appriciate your warm and kind words! Although, we have to say that it´s not hard to be a nice host with such lovely guests :-)

We hope to see you on Papillon again.

Warm regards
Papillon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews