We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
252
91
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
91
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long beach the main road short walk tv with dvd player family bungalow stayed for nights small pool a great stay thai food comfy bed clean bungalows laid back relaxing place bars and restaurants stayed longer relax bay fridge
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very nice place, relaxed atmosphere, bounty feeling, quiet but close enough to all you need, nice bungalows, very nice beach, loved the restaurant, great breakfast and friendly staff and owners. Would definitely stay here again and koh lanta is great

Date of stay: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyaJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you so much for your warm review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We remember you very well and have to say that you really brought joy to Papillon with your wonderful attitude!

Welcome back some day!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Nice garden setting. The bungalows are average. What makes Papillon good are the staff who were all wonderful. The breakfast was very good. Like other reviewers have commented it would be nice if they had beach towels but its not that big a deal. The sheets on the beds were a bit sparse. I recommend renting a motorbike and exploring the island, there are some great beaches on the southern end.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdnhawk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your review, appreciate it. Nice to hear that our staff is nice and friendly, we think so too and are so grateful to have them.

Will think about the sheets, maybe ad something warmer. Beach towels are unfortunately too expensive for our budget (we have to send them to a laundryservice) and we don't want to increase the roomrates.

Hope to see you again!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the papillon bungalows for 6 nights of our honeymoon, we wanted a relaxed guesthouse near to the beach and we got exactly that!

The bungalows are lovely, clean and in a beautiful garden setting which sometimes made us feel like we were in the jungle with the animal noise in the night! Breakfast is included in the room rate and is one of the best guest house breakfasts I've ever had! The restaurant also serves food during the day and evening which is really good and reasonably priced.

The staff were very friendly, we rented a scooter from them which was very reasonable at 250baht per day and they were very helpful when some items of clothing went missing when we sent out our laundry all items were found and returned quickly!

The only issue we really had was the location, the main road is difficult to walk along as there is no real foot path and a lot of traffic, you can walk along the beach but there are large channels where water discharges into the sea, these can be quite deep during the evening and there is little or no light, bring a touch! To the left of the beach we found the channel so deep it was impassable in the dark.

If you turn right on the beach you will find some lovely beach restaurants and bars, lym's rice bowl, somewhere else and san's sunset bar were our favourites.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Wow, so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Papillon. Especially since it was your honeymoon. We really appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you again some day.

Warm regards
Papillon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff is super friendly. The resort itself is nice gardenlike area with a pool and a cozy restaurant where u can spend time. Free wifi works in the restaurant. You can borrow dvd's and watch them in your room. Our bungalow had aircon and was really nice. Beach is close and had free sunbeds. Food in the restaurant is good.

Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Harrimatias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you so much for this lovely review, really appreciate it.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back. One of the main reasons that Papillon is so nice....is because of our lovely guests. You all create the atmosphere.

Greetings from Papillon Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The bungalow (we stayed in Nr. 2) was a bit disappointing and it seemed it has seen it´s best years. It was clean, but the bed was hard as a rock, no comfortable sleep there at all. We did like the little terrace, the garden and the cute little pool, which was very clean too. The staff was nice and friendly and the breakfast was OK but we expected a bit more. In our travel guide was mentioned something about homemade croissants & Co from a belgium girl, but the owner changed, no more croissants. Therefore don´t order the swedish pancakes, they were cold and tasteless, order the breakfast package with the homemade breadrolls instead, we liked that one.

The place is close to the beach, you just walk a couple of minutes and thats a plus! Overall it was OK, but you can get better bungalows for this amount of money and I think we would not return there.

Room tip: Dont take the bungalow no. 2, try to get a newer one, if that is possible. The higher the no. the more you are away from the street and closer to the beach.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angiek530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we appriciate that you took the time to give us feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you got cold pancakes..this should off course never happen and we have talked to our staff about this.
Nice to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly, we are very proud of them and we appriciate them a lot!
About the beds....yes...unfortunately most of the beds in Thailand are very hard. To find european standard of the beds, you need to pay a lot of money which a hotel in our price range can not afford unfortunately.
We agree that our bungalows are basic, Papillon is a 2 star hotel and this is what you get in this price range on Koh Lanta. We try to uppgrade and improve the standard of the bungalows every year...this year we renovated the pool and installed free wifi in all bungalows.

Kind regards
Caroline and Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews