We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay at Papillon”
Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay at Papillon”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We chose Papillon based on reviews that we had seen on Tripadvisor, and we weren't disappointed.

The location (on the main road, so easy to find) and just 150m from a beautiful beach, was excellent. The ten bungalows are scattered through the grounds, and as none are near the street, road noise wasn't a problem.

The gardens are lovely, with lots of quirky features, a small pool, many trees and plants and the bungalows are quite separate from each other so you feel very private. The bar and restaurant area is particularly nice, with lounging areas, hammocks as well as dining tables and chairs so you can chill out with a cocktail or just eat something.

The food is excellent - four choices of breakfast, which are always made fresh for you on arrival, and the coffee is excellent with lots of refills,The lunch and dinner menus include both Eastern and Western choices, all are great value and expertly prepared. We enjoyed that some of the Thai dishes can be made to your liking - "little spicy", "western spicy" and "oh my god" spicy!

The staff cannot do enough for you, always have a smile ready, are extremely efficient. The Swedish owners, Caroline and Jens, live off-site, but are around a lot of the time and can always be reached by telephone should you need to contact them if they're not around.

A whole lot more has already been said about this hotel, so I won't repeat what has already been mentioned, will just reiterate that if you are thinking of going to Koh Lanta, you could hardly choose anywhere better than Papillon.

Room Tip: We had a large, air-conditioned bungalow (no 7) which is the nearest to the beach. However, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireLass_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much, we are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.Appriciate that you took your time to write about us!

Hope to see you again on Papillon!

Warm regards
Papillon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    83
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
163
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Koh Lanta was our first stop on a 4 1/2 week trip to Thailand and Myanmar in January and February. We stayed at budget accommodations for most of our trip, but we decided to splurge a little while in Koh Lanta. It was worth it because we had a wonderful stay at Papillon!

The entire property is very nice and well kept. Each room is an individual bungalow and Papillon is a small resort set back a little off the main road so it's very quiet. We had bungalow number 6 with air conditioning and it was very nice. We liked the cute decorations on both the inside and outside, and my husband especially loved the hammock on the porch for relaxing. The room was clean and spacious with a large double bed and our own private bathroom with hot water.

Breakfast was included every morning. They allow guests to choose from a menu of about 4 or 5 options including Swedish pancakes, eggs with bacon and toast, yogurt with muesli, etc. along with some fruit, tea or coffee, and juice. We liked everything we tried.

The Papillon staff members are wonderful. They were very helpful and able to answer all of our questions. They helped us book transportation when needed, assisted us in renting a motorbike, gave restaurant recommendations, and also helped us track down our missing luggage from the airline.

The beach is a short walk from the resort, just about 3 minutes. It's located down a quiet side road that leads back to another restaurant. Just walk past the restaurant and you'll see Long Beach. Long Beach is beautiful with powder fine sand and warm clear blue water. I've never seen water so calm before with barely any waves. It was perfect for swimming. We were there during high tourist season and the beach wasn't crowded at all, and the weather was great. We spent most of our time lounging on the beach and had a whole area to ourselves every day. It was very quiet and peaceful with no vendors around unlike many other beaches in Thailand. Since the whole length of the beach faces the west there are amazing sunsets every night! There are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from along the beach to watch the sunset. We really fell in love with this area and we enjoyed it so much that we felt like we were on a second honeymoon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_and_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
This review really warms our hearts, wonderful to hear your kind words about Papillon. Our staff are really the best and we are very proud of them. Hope to see you back again, Papillon will be waiting for you!

Greetings
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lovely gardens, friendly staff, clean bungalows and good food. Staff also very helpful with booking tours and travel arrangements. Very quiet and relaxing resort nearby to the hustle and bustle but not right in the heart of it. Perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much, we appriciate to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at Papillon. It´s all you wonderful guests that creates the atmosphere!

Hope to see you again!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Coming into Koh Lanta, the main road seemed a bit scruffy and run down, and was not what I was expecting. Once off the road however, everything was different. The bungalows are concealed within lush, shady grounds. We were met a reception with smiles and cold drinks and taken straight to our bungalow. We had a family bungalow which was clean and spacious, with air conditioning and a fan.
The beach is a very short walk away, through the grounds and down a little track. The area is clean and feels very safe….and we all agreed that the beach was beautiful….clean with clear water and so much space! After the relatively crowded beaches of Kata and Phi Phi it was lovely to have so much space. There are a few sunbeds scattered around, but no parasols, but this is no problem as it is easy to keep in the shade….and they are free! It looked as though there were more loungers with shades further along. There are a few lovely beachfront cafes with wooden sunbed canopy type beds with throws and cushions (aswell as tables and chairs) available…but the whole atmosphere is so relaxed, these seem available for use all day long! Sitting watching the sun go down on one of the beds, with a cocktail is one of my best memories of our holiday!
The restaurant area is lovely…pretty during the day, but even better at night with lots of twinky lights and quirky tables and chairs (and hammocks) adding to the relaxed atmosphere. The food was also excellent…with combo Thai dishes to allow you to try different things as well as a variety of thai and western food. The best full English breakfast all holiday! 
Great customer service…ferry tickets with transfers booked, and staff always on hand to help. One small point….no toiletries are provided, which when traveling light is a bit of a pain. Other than that…couldn’t ask for more. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you.... we were so happy to read this review, very kind of you. It´s a special feeling to read how much you appeciate our paradise....and keep in mind that it´s you wonderful guests together with the Papillon Team that makes Papillon to what it is. We have a lot of relaxed very nice people visiting our resort and it´s a pleasure to work with all this warm energy around us.

Hope to see you again at Papillon, you are always welcome back!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Wonderful tranquil setting amid lush gardens. The bungalows are spacious and spotlessly clean. But what really makes this place special is the staff who are welcoming, helpful and polite. Teawl and Sunny get a special mention for their radiant smiles. Nothing is too much. Oh, and the food is to die for. We thought about eating elsewhere, but why bother when the food here is simply the best - I'm a real foodie!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your very nice review about Papillon, we appreciate that you took your time! We agree that we have the best staff in the world...will never let them go :-) Hope that the rest of your trip was great.

Welcome back to Papillon, hope to meet you again!

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed for eight nights in January in a big aircon bungalow, nicely spaced out in the gardens, giving privacy and peace. There's a DVD/TV and kettle and fridge in the room, and DVD library to browse. The beach is a short walk away, is never crowded and has a beautiful sunset. The pool was blissful, and the food always excellent. The breakfasts in particular were great, and the coffee refills really set us up for the day. Papillon is well maintained and thoughtfully managed. However, perhaps the biggest joy were the staff, who were always warm, friendly, and helpful. There's something special here with the staff - and I'm guessing its the relationship and care the owners have nurtured. Certainly Papillon seems very busy, so I'd recommend advance booking. I really do hope we get to return.

Room Tip: Big air con bungalows are at the quieter end and are well spaced out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carbon_based
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your very kind words about our paradise. We are so glad to hear that our guests enjoy their stay and especially when you notice our lovely staff. There is something special with them and we really appriciate all of them. It´s the Papillon Team and our relaxed lovely guests that create the atmosphere!

Hope to see you again!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned from our second stay at Papillon in two years and had a great time! - Relaxed with only a handful of bungalows makes for a peaceful stay Papillon which attracts mostly couples and families with young children. There is also a hearty breakfast every morning!

The rooms although basic are adequate, detached with aircon, fridge, TV, DVD and shower/toilet en suite. My only small gripe is our bungalow (No. 1) had a very firm bed, which is common in Thailand however this was still hard even with a mattress cover added on request. The bed remained hard over the whole holiday with a few poor nights sleep as a result. My other issue was with no mosquito net over the window - there was a large net which covered the bed however if like me you prefer not to sleep with the air con blasting a natural breeze is a nice choice to have. This would be a very cheep addition to allow guests to open the windows during the night.

This aside we had a great stay - the staff are lovely and genuine (unlike our experience in some of the resorty type places!). The area is well located although to full enjoy the island you need to rent a scooter which gives you the freedom to eat anywhere and enjoy different beaches and trips to the National Park and Old Lanta.

The owners are opening a second resort in Relax Bay this Autumn so we'll be back! (please find softer beds though!!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Tripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review, it was lovely to have you back with us again. Good idea with the mosquitonet for the window, never crossed my mind before but will look into that now. About the bed, I know! Ít´s so hard to find good comfortable beds in Thailand and when you find, they are soo expensive. Our budget on Papillon don´t allow that without raising our roomrates but we will definitely invest in good high quality beds on our new place that we open next season. Papillon´s sisterhotel Lazy Days Bungalow will be located on Relax Beach.

Hope to see you soon again!

Greets Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Property: Papillon Bungalows
Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing