We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely good value in April”
Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Definitely good value in April”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The Papillon was quite a pleasant resort. The room wasn't the newest but it was quite spacey. The bed was good not too soft and AC worked good. We asked for a blanket but they only had another sheet. Maybe because the owners weren't there at the time. The bed lamp was too low and I hit my head more than once. The restaurant was good (they even made my curry really spicy which is hardly ever the case even if I ask all the time) as was the breakfast. There is definitely space for improvement for the gardens, imho it needs a bit more (tropical) planting and some ground covers would make a difference. The pool is quite small but pleasant as long as not the kids take over. It was a couple of minutes walk to the beach, but the bars and restaurants there were closed (apart from the flash Layana) at this time of the year, you had to walk around ten minutes. Thanks to Caroline for helping us with the Taxi Mafia.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pipiwharauroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your nice review, we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us...and especially the food :-) We hope to see you again some time!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    83
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
163
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly, I work as an Air hostess and have seen and stayed in many beautiful places around the world. Papillon Bungalows have definitely earned a place in my heart. What an amazing place to stay. My partner and I arrived to Koh Lanta after spending couple of days in Bangkok and immediately settled in. Papillon has a great location, right at the long beach, walkable distance from shops and restaurants and short tuk-tuk ride to Saladam. Staff were fantastic. Sammy, the manager pointed really nice places to visit and she was always ever so helpful. The breakfast was the best we had while staying in Thailand - fresh and good value for money. I only wish we had more time to spend here. We will definitely be back next year and recommend Papillon to all our friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank helenahelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Papillon. So wonderful to hear that Papillon earned a place in your heart, we are touched by your words.

You are welcome back to Papillon any time, we hope to see you again!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Papillon was a great stay and an affordable price! We only stayed on Koh Lanta for one night, but if I had extended, I would have stayed right there! The staff is amazingly friendly. I had a salad and my friend had a burger, and we both enjoyed our meals very much after a long day of traveling! We had to take an early ferry in the morning, and since I had paid for breakfast in my reservation, they packed up breakfast the night before so that we had something to eat in the morning. It was nothing fancy, but it is nice that they recognized that breakfast came with the booking. The bungalow itself was very clean with a fridge, tv (never turned it on, don't know about channels), comfortable bed, and spacious bathroom/shower. Each bungalow has a hammock, and the place just gives off a great vibe. The pool is small but is a nice touch! The beach is about a 5 minute walk away and it is a quiet area where you can escape the big, touristy island life! You'll find other places to eat or drink on the beach as well! Overall great stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laurak0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your great review, we are so glad to read your kind words :-) Next time we hope you can stay longer at Papillon.

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

on arrival we were greeted by the welcoming staff and it looked a nice choice. The place does need some investment though and in my opinion is overpriced in comparison to other places on Long Beach. It is a quaint place set amongst trees and back from the road. So, the bad bits first - dodgy electricity (ok not the faults of the owners) as it kept dimming the lights; no TV; no beach towels; dangerous tiles in the dip pool; poor locked on the rooms; no safety boxes; no wardrobe for hanging stuff. But to be fair, there are some good bits - lovely food (albeit not that cheap); nice staff; relaxed ambience; close to a lovely beach; free fresh water. having stayed in other similar places I was expecting a little bit more of those extra touches..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we appriciate all feedback we can get. Although we are off course sorry that we didnt reach your expectations.

To answer some of your points:
* True that we have had some bad electricity lately on Lanta, they are working on it and unfortunately it´s the same for everybody on the island.
* We do have tv but no tv channels as we describe on our homepage and Agoda....instead we offer a big movielibrary for free which many of our guests enjoy.
* No beachtowels, that is true. Dont think you can expect that when you stay at a budget hotel and if we are gonna start with that we would have to increase the rates.
* Dangerous tiles in the pool....yes 4 small tiles came loose 2 weeks ago and we cant fix it without emptying the pool which we plan to do in one week when we close for the season. Sorry for the inconvenience.
* Poor locks in the room.... we haven´t heard anything about that before but if you had only told us, we would definitely had fixed it right away. Will check that first thing in the morning!
* No safes in the room......no we haven´t but we agree that we should so for next season we will look into that.
* No wardrobes....we do have wardrobes in our bungalows but in the familybungalow where you stayed we have shelves instead and also hangers above the shelf.
* Glad to hear that you enjoyed our food!

Thank you once again for your feedback!

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We loved Papillon! It is not a big, fancy hotel. It's better. There are only 10 bungalows (the last one is a double) spread over a quiet area in Koh Lanta. Don't expect a 5 star looking place, but expect to be treated as you would in a 5 star hotel. Actually, it's better! We stayed for 6 nights.

Pros:
*Quiet (most nights)
*GREAT staff! We loved that we saw Caroline and Jens (the owners) on many days. Sunny was fantastic as well.
*Nice pool (small, but you can just sit and relax)
*Comfy beds (for Asia!)
*Short walk to the beach
*Close to MANY restaurants and bars (on the beach and a short walk or tuk tuk ride away to town)
*Great breakfast included. The coffee was the best!
*Restaurant is also amazing! We loved everything we got.

Cons:
*Tuesday night is REALLY loud. I am not sure if it is always like that, as staff have Wednesdays off. It was almost impossible to sleep that night. The sounds came from bars nearby, not the hotel itself.
*They only change towels every 3 days. I think it should be at least 2 days, especially because our third day was Wednesday when they don't clean, so we had to wait 4 days. That seems like a lot when you are at a tropical location taking more than 1 shower a day.

I would absolutely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Koh Lanta!

My personal advice- I would spend the money if there are at least 3 of you and get a personal driver to pick you up at the airport and drop you back off. It costs a lot more than the public one, but is totally worth it. The public van took REALLY long, they shove as many people as they can in the van and the air con did not work well. My husband thought it was fine, but my mom and I liked the private car better and didn't mind the extra money.

Koh Lanta in general (long beach area) was perfect for us. There were plenty of bars and restaurants and other activities, but it was not too crowded yet. Beautiful beach with clean, warm water. Loved everything about this vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review about Papillon. We want to thank you for taking the time to write and give us feed back. We really appricate it!

About the changing of towels, we will consider changing more often....it´s very humid here so I can understand your point.

We really hope to see you again and we wish you good luch with your new adventures!

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Papillon was excellent accommodation for the price - good size bungalows, air con & fan, breakfast included, helpful staff, good location & only a short walk to the beach for sunsets & a stack of restaurants/bars/massage places. It is not 5 star as is reflected in the price so don't expect that but the rooms certainly were clean & the grounds well maintained. As is typical in Asia the bed was certainly on the hard side but that is common when travelling through Asia. I would certainly recommend if you are on a budget.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank narelle0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate it a lot! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you again some day :-)

Greetings from Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Lanta is a wonderful Island and Papillon is fantastic place to stay. Great value, bungalows private and have everything you need. Temperatures were hot and the pool is beautifully refreshing. Free water refills welcome and the sounds at dawn and dusk in the garden greenery remind you of where you are. The reviews we read before travelling were accurate and we felt at home as soon as we arrived. Great breakfast choices and the very tasty (and very reasonable) evening menu was likewise.
Things to do:
Get an ice-cream, chill out, wander to the beach for a swim or a sunset stroll.
Read a book from the library while relaxing in your hammock..
Take a DVD from the collection and cool down on your bed.
Rent scooters from Papillon and explore the Island.
Go snorkelling...or take a four Island tour.
The staff are wonderful we are only sorry that we are not there now!
(6 night stay).

Room Tip: All good as far as I could see. Comfy, Clean, Friendly, Quiet. But if within easy reach of everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariabakerbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so happy to hear how you descripe Papillon. We really enjoyed to accomodate you and hope we will see you again some day!

Warm regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Property: Papillon Bungalows
Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees, and only 180m from Long beach. The 10 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, giving a great sense of privacy. The bungalows are only a 1 minute walk from the swimming pool, and the cozy Papillon Restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes, fresh coffee and many other beverages. Smiling Thai staff will take care of your every need. We are confident it's important to keep the Thai feeling inside our resort. Welcome //Papillon Team ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing