We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, it exceeded our expectations, we loved it and will be back.”
Review of Escape-Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Escape-Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We arrived at Escape Cabins from Bangkok with our 4 year old and immediately we all relaxed! We stayed in the very spacious Folks cabin, which has a huge and very comfortable double bed in one room and in the connecting room has 2 very large and comfortable single beds.

Our daughter was delighted to have her own room and it gave us some privacy also. With a lovely verandah overlooking the pool we couldn't have been happier. The pool was bigger then we had expected and a real bonus.

The location is fabulous, it's off the beaten track so very peaceful and tranquil, yet you have everything you need just at the bottom of the drive, an amazing thai cafe/restaurant called Krua Kritsana, we ate here almost every day as it was so reasonably priced (dinner for 3 people, including a beer was around £5.00) and absolutely delicious.

The beach is only a 5 minute walk away or you can hire a moped for around £6-7 per day and buzz up and down to the beach in no time.

It's really fun to have a moped - our daughter loved it sitting in between us - you can explore the island and find some lovely beaches off the beaten track, it's really worth the money.

Yuko, the owner is very helpful and gave us some great recommendations for days out, eating out etc.

All in all we had a wonderful time at Escape Cabins and will definately return one day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxypaignton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed in a twin room for 5 days.
NEGATIVE points:
- Not clean (dust and spiderwebs).
- The bathroom's walls are unfinished (only partially painted), and the furniture in the room is poor.
- The owner tried to overcharge us on day trips (1500 Baht per person, while everywhere else we got them at 1200 Baht).
- swimming pool is very very small (maybe ok just for kids), and there are just a couple of sunbeds.
- reception opens at 9 am in the morning (it's late, in my opinion).
On the POSITIVE side:
- The beds are comfortable
- The location is very quiet and silent
CONCLUSION
I guess it is possible to find better accommodations in Koh Lanta for the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otto187895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We are currently into our second week at Escape Cabins staying in the Living Room after the first 4 nights in the Cottage....a huge room and great for families
Both of these rooms have cooking facilities and plates, bowls, toaster and jug etc which is handy if you want to prepare breakfast for yourself ....together with full fridge
We have also seen the Comfort Room which is a really lovely room but without the above.
With only 6 rooms, you have to get in early during the peak season.
The property does most of its business online as it is not visible from the street
Yuko, the petit owner, is a real darling and has ensured that our stay is first class.
She has continued to advise us on things to do, how to get somewhere, where to eat and what not to do.
The cabins have a beautiful garden and small but more than adequate pool...there has never been more than 4 of us in it at any one time.
It is a wonderful place to come home to each afternoon after a day at the beach for a quiet read and drink whilst capturing the final rays of sun with the tree lined hills in the background.
It takes a short 5-10 minute walk to the beach which is nothing on a paved road.
There is an excellent mini market at the end of the drive for all your supplies and a couple of great restaurants across the road and an excellent roadside stall to the left as you reach the main road with a fantastic Pad Thai for 40tbh...opposite road to the beach.
It is a 20 minute walk either side of the cabins to the next villages and ATM and 7/11 stores, not that we have needed them with the mini market having all our requirements.
Word of mouth and repeat customers will ensure that Yuko will continue to have a business on Ko Lanta that welcomes guests from all around the world for many years to come.
And the free internet is fabulous
Thank you Yuko for making our stay here so special. We wil be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Thank you Yuko for the wonderful stay Pornthipa and I had @ your delightful cabins.
The peace and quiet at the cabins was what we were looking for. Located just behind the main road from the port we found the beaches were easy to get to(we rented a moped for the full duration) the speedboat/snorkling trip was fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darnylad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Beds were very comfortable, and it was quiet, just across the road from the nicest beach. Yuko was very helpful. Good location, on the long strip road paralleling the beach we found a helpful travel agent who was able to book first class train tickets from Bangkok to Nong Kai (Vientiane), a gym just across the street (day passes available, bargain for extra days at a better price). We found the best breakfast, (great price) on the paved road to the beach, Sea Sabi, you can see the ocean from the table, small but just about the only place who could speak English. Old Lanta town (don't miss) is really the only place we found some interesting culture and architecture, saw monkeys on the drive over.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Room was clean. Had a DVD player and cable TV with lots of channels. The place was very quiet and serene. Extremely beautiful. Yuko, the owner of the place, had a good command of English. We booked a 'cosy' room.

The cats around love to run into your room so do take note.

DVD remote had no batteries.
Cable TV remote was not working.
Yuko had no extra batteries or remote so we had to sit on the floor to switch channels.

The wifi connection was weak to non-existent. I had to stand outside my room to get connection on my iPhone. Ipads were unable to get any connection at all. I think it's due to the distance from the 'lobby'.
The air-con was not powerful. It took more than 3 hours to cool the room so we had to keep the fan on then turn it off in the middle of the night when it started to get to cold.
Towels were not replaced daily, but I'm not sure if it is the usual practice.

It is a 10-15 min walk from the beach.
There was no breakfast provided. And none of the eateries around were open then. There were also no 24-hr stores nearby. So we had to go hungry during our tours. Tours usually have their pick-ups at 830am and I think most of the shops start opening around 9 or later. So if you decide to stay around here, get your own breakfast the day before.
We did not rent any motorcycles and hence we had to travel around via tuk tuks. Yuko told us to flag a tuk tuk outside ourselves and it took us some time to get one.

Usually when we returned or left the hotel, Yuko was not around so we were not able to clarify certain information properly. The lack of interaction also cost us a
1hr extra surcharge of our room even though we were out of the room since 8am and our bags were all packed.

I had a friend who managed to secure a place elsewhere, the owner gave them free rides everywhere and manage to secure discounts for all their bookings and tours. The place was also half the price of what we paid and more accessible. Therefore I was extremely disappointed.

On the whole, everything was extremely average. Given the price we paid, I wouldn't say that we received excellent service. But it is definitely a nice place for a retreat and to relax in. However, it is not worth the price if you are not going too spend much time in your room as you can pay less for the frills and spend it elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Compared to the prices elsewhere on the island, Yuko provides great accommodation at a reasonable price located near the beach.

Yuko makes this place stand apart with all the help she provides. Escape's location is less than 10 minutes from the beach which is easily done walking. It currently has 6 cabins, hence its intimacy and the reason it fills so quickly and early on.

Lanta itself is a big island and if you're wanting to try places further afield than the immediate locality, I'd suggest a moped to get around. the prices of the taxi trucks do add up if you're on a budget!

Lanta in general is no Ko Phi Phi / secluded island beautiful but it's got some good beaches and has its charms, more so than the overdevelopped states of others (eg Phuket, Bali (Sanur) and the like). The beach near Escape is the best balance of the ones readily accessible. it's deep and long enough that there's enough sand, some areas of it which aren't developped and has enough bars and restaurants to lighten your wallet.
There are some truly beautiful beaches down south but the road leading there is a fair bit of up and down, which can feel quite a task if you're an amateur moped rider - i wouldn't want to walk it. good fun to ride though if you're that way inclined!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
618 reviews
4.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
2.8 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#5 of 245 in Ko Lanta
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pinky Bungalows
Pinky Bungalows
#3 of 245 in Ko Lanta
200 reviews
2 mi away
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
2.1 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape-Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape-Cabins

Address: 438 Moo 3, Long Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 245 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £32 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escape-Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape-Cabins is located in Long-Beach neighborhood with just a handful of exclusive cabins and a quiet pool garden peacefully nestled on a tranquil hillside land within a walking distance to the beach. Our modern cabins in various sizes are designed at western standard and are equipped with 5-star quality mattresses for your maximum comfort and full relaxation. An ideal hideaway for escaping the jam and indulging in a peaceful tropical nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Escape-Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escape-Cabins Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing