We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation but a bit far from the beach.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan KanTiang See

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan KanTiang See
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great accommodation but a bit far from the beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Beautiful spacious villas with a fantastic view. All of the staff - drivers, gardeners, housekeepers and receptionstaff was very friendly and helpful. Reception will help with transport, booking of tours/tickets/massage, food orders, and sell You cold beer and softdrinks. Everything else can be purchased in local shops and the 7eleven in the village.
The walk down the hill to the beach is less than 10 mins and a sweaty 15 mins up the hill. Several restaurants in the area will give their customers a lift home after dinner.
Kantiang Bay is way more calm and quiet than the northern part of Lanta - we liked that!

Room Tip: White, Orange and Yellow villas has the most privacy. Green and Pink, Blue and Purple has terraces f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RasmusBremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    43
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
187
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Purple villa is so beautiful~ every villa is surrounded by flowers of the corresponding color.
My family(4 adults and a 12-years boy) enjoyed our stay very much~
as other travellers commented, the resort is located on a steep hillside, which our mini-van refused to drive us there. this is the only down side I could complain..;(
thanks to Kitty, she send their own car and driver to pick us.
It took us 10 minutes to the beach by walk , better wear comfortable sandles for the steep slope..i think it's fair enough for such a great view~ and we love it.
the kitchen,,, the pool area,, the terrace,,the bed room ,,everything is satisfing,,you could refer to my pics.
oh, one thing,, some nights,, the sea breeze is kind of violent. a litter cold even in February.
If you are finding peace, serenity and a place refreshing youself, it's a super good choice..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The bad: Internet is currently down. Party goers or folks who don't plan to rent a car/scooter might have problem with the location as it is far from Klong Nin/Long Beach/Saladan. No mosquito repellent provided in the villa so bring your own!

The good: There are only 8 villas here, so you will be in a quiet and peaceful environment if you are looking for a quiet getaway. The location is very south, very near to The Houben, Pimalai and Mu Ko national park. You have the facilities of a villa and you get a big patio for your own party/ BBQ (Ask the staff to loan you a BBQ grill). Water pressure is good in both bathrooms. Bed mattress is good for Thai standards. Bed linen and towels are very clean. Ordering food is a breeze and the prices are very reasonable, very tasty Thai food too!

We will return as we love the quietness of the place. The BBQ and the huge patio certainly was an added bonus as we spent a lot of afternoons having 3 hour BBQs. We enjoy afternoon siestas also as you don't hear other guests and the AC is cool enough!

Room Tip: Choose Yellow Villa (Panorama Villa 1 in Agoda) if you want to watch a beautiful sunset every evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Wow, this our third trip to Thailand and our thoughts about the resort were great. We stayed 7 nights and the (Yellow) Villa was superb. We were accompanied by our daughter and boyfriend. This was there first trip to Thailand and thought that the villa was fantastic. .Views awesome
The girls on reception were beautiful. They bent over backwards to help out with local restaurants, massages, bike hire and bookings for tours. There names were Vivian and Kitty. We cannot thank them enough.
One down side was the fact that out TV/ DVD and computer router were not functioning and there was no attempt to rectify the situation because, we were told that a new router would have to come from Krabbi. This was a little disappointing as it was advertised that each villa had the above. The owner could have at least had a spare router available.
I would return tomorrow as would the kids. Thankyu Vivian and Kitty for your friendly service.

Room Tip: Watch out for monkeys raiding your fruit bowl. Buy a sim pack for your phone and I-pad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietourist48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for 12 nights with family of 4 (2 kids).

Location and villas are excellent, exactly as promised. Pool is very clean and not crowded, big terrace connected to living room and nice kitchen provide all you need for nice breakfast/dinner.

Need to mention is excellent service in reception where they recommend and arrange for you only services which are with a good quality. "One-click" ordering also for renting a car or scooter from the reception.

Deep hill is a challenge, but you need to do some exercise if you enjoy so much good food at the restaurants in the near-by village :).

Nice and peaceful beach approx. 10-15 min walking to the opposite direction of the village.

If there is anything to improve then this is internet connection. We finally opted for a local SIM card and used mobile internet to read news and keep eye on some important office tasks (approx. 22.- EUR for 5 GB of data, network operator AIS). It would be helpful if this would be added into the standard services from reception if hotel own internet connection cannot be improved. We were doing purchase and setup in a mobile shop located in Sala Dan - approx. 20-30 minutes by car to the north of island.

Room Tip: Blue villa has a direct visibility to the pool and also to the mountains/beach. If you want to leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller123Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is a Lovely place, huge villa with fantastic view from the deck. Nice pool.
We were just a couple so had loads of room for ourselves, though with the 2 big bedrooms and large living area the villa could easily accomodate 2 couples or a family.

The 2 management ladies are very friendly and extremely helpful and will organise any excursions, dinners, transport you need.

One thing should be pointed out. The climb up there is very steep and so perhaps not suited to everyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-Hwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaanKanTiangSee, Owner at Baan KanTiang See, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Steve-Hwee,
Thanks for the nice words about our resort and staff. We are delighted about your description "A lovely place". We definitely do agree! It is true - the hill is steep, - but thanks to it, we can take advantage of the most amazing views. We also have the added bonus of being one of the very few tsunami safe resorts on Kho Lanta.
As you mentioned, the resort is perfect for a family or friends travelling together. It is so nice to share the comfort of a private villa and the huge and private terrace and living area.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm regards from
Baan Kantiang See Villa resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked 2 nights as part of our honeymoon at the Baan KanTiang See. We came from Phi Phi and really wanted some relaxation. We were met at the Ferry with a free transfer to the hotel in a nice truck with Nee, who was literally the nicest guy ever. upon our arrival to our villa (we stayed in the red villa) we immediately booked an additional night even though we had already booked another hotel and would not get our money back for it. We didn't care. The place is absolutely gorgeous and immaculately clean. The pool may as well been a private pool as there were very few guests using it at any given time. Yes, the hill is big and the walk is challenging, but so well worth it. On top of all of that, Kitty and Vivian were so nice and amazing I wanted to hug them both when we left. Vivian arranged a romantic dinner at Moon Restaurant for us which I also highly recommend. The beach was a short walk away and may as well been a private beach as well. I do not have enough good things to say about this place. I highly recommend, and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyson p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaanKanTiangSee, Owner at Baan KanTiang See, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Alyson p,
Congratulations to both of you! - and, many thanks for the wonderful words about our resort and our staff. That is highly appreciated.
We are so incredibly happy that your stay with us was such a good honeymoon experience and we hope to see you back another time.
In the meantime - all the best wishes for your life and marriage :-)
Warm regards from
Baan Kantiang See Villa resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
7.8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
9.9 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
10.3 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan KanTiang See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan KanTiang See

Property: Baan KanTiang See
Address: 263 Moo5 | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan KanTiang See 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"PANORAMA VILLA RESORT" Our villas (176 sqm). The villas are suited for two couples or families offering two bedrooms with queen size bed, two bathrooms with outdoor showers, fully equipped kitchen with all you need for making meals at home, living room with 37" a flat screen TV and monitor for international channels, wireless internet, and computer usage. Extra beds for kids are available. Baby cots are also available upon request. Each bedroom has an individual controlled air-condition unit. In addition, for those who prefer to sleep with open doors and windows, there are mounted mosquito net and ceiling fan ready for you to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Baan KanTiang See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kantiang See Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing