We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, could be almost perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Sapporo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, could be almost perfect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I feel churlish not giving this place 5: the views are amazing, the place is very well maintained and the staff are lovely. I agree with most of the positive comments previous reviewers have mentioned so I will not repeat them.
However, the road up really is very steep (a couple of switch-backs would have helped). As we were a family with a small child who like to eat & drink out scooters or cars were not very practical and we had to rely on finding a taxi up every time we went out. Admittedly this was exasperated by the very hot weather we experienced there making the climb up unrealistic.
Also, the cleaning was not very well organised. I did not expect 5-star standards, but we went 4 days without a towel change (after I mentioned it we did get a mountain of fresh towels everyday). Then the cleaner forget to bring any toilet rolls for the last 3 days. We were there 10 nights and the bathroom was not cleaned once. It was not busy while we were there and I think these problems were just a case of bad record keeping/management so it seems a shame.
The reception staff were very nice, and extremely helpful. Although I was disappointed with the 'private boat' option for the 4 Island boat trip that was very strongly recommended. We were told we would be able to go where we wanted and follow our own schedule, when in fact our boat just followed a larger boat and we ended up in the same log-jam of people at the same places at the same times. They also didn't tell us there was a chance we would have to go to the other side of the island to catch the boat, so instead of a 2-minute drive down to the beach we were expecting we were stuck on the back of an uncovered truck for over 30-minutes with no-idea where the driver in front was taking us.
My final gripe are the blinds. I think I saw someone else mention this. At night, when there is a light on in the room everybody outside can see in. They also block virtually no light so you are up at sunrise everyday.
It really is a great place. The road up would probably prevent me giving it a 5, but a little more organisation of the cleaning schedule, blinds that offer some privacy, and better tour recommendations would make it very close indeed.

Room Tip: The Green villa has great views (especially of the sunset) and is handy for reception. The gardeners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diggerwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    44
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
189
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed there with my family. Location and view are superb and staff was very kind and helpful. Villas are incredibly large and suit well even for 2 family. We were in Red house and i think this was in best location if you are with kids who love pool as pool was very close.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foshan, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We chose the BKTS as the first reort of our honeymoon trip in Thailand, and we had made the exactly right choice.The villa is a very beautiful and comfortable place, and it was the largest villa we stayed in Thailand. They offer breakfast cooking service, and other kinds of service convenient to the tourists. The hall manager Vivian is a very nice lady, she gave us a lot of advice ,and it was very helpful to us.We had spent 3 happy days in the villa, and if we return to Ko Lanta, we will choose the BkTS once again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the RED villa(No.4) for 3 nights, and it may be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baixiang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This really is like having your own very comfortable home at the beach, with a fabulous view, plus you get the great benefit of warm and wonderful Vivian and Kitty to help you with everything. They consistently go above and beyond to make your stay excellent. Your experience here feels very privileged versus staying lower down the hill, or farther north on the island with the hordes. To truly benefit from your location, here's our strong advice.

First, ask Kitty ahead of time to book you a scooter or car starting your first day. We delayed, and in retrospect wished we'd had a car right away. We found it easy to drive on the Thai side of the road, and we had a comfortable car for our whole family, which was incredibly liberating. Then you can go up-island to the grocery store and fruit market and fill your kitchen cupboards. That way, you can take advantage of your full kitchen and fabulous terrace for great meals. Just please shut your front door. We got lax about it and had five monkeys in our kitchen eating the pancake mix!

You should also immediately walk down the hill and turn left to Scubafish, and sign up for a snorkel or scuba outing to Koh Haa. The people at Scubafish are truly wonderful and run a safe and great operation.

What could be better at Baan Kantiang See, besides no monkeys? The villas' owners should pay to bury the overhead power and phone lines that mar the beautiful sunset view, and that audibly crackle at night. Wi-fi could be more reliable. It seemed to go out a lot, though every time we asked about it it was restored quickly. And because of the lofty perch on top of a hill, there is strong wind at night -- don't worry, you are safe and sound! But these are little things - and we love wifi as much as anyone, so if it had been bad, we'd say so. We would definitely stay here again on a future visit to Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_discern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Beautiful villa with lovely bathrooms. Staff extremely helpful. Fantastic view and lovely infinity pool.

Hill a bit heavy but bearable.The situation is great as near to everything you need with good restaurants close by. Beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dev1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 5 days and on our trip around Thailand we must say that it was the best stay in terms of everything. The service staff, especially Vivian, is the most wonderful you will ever meet. The service is personal, yet it does not leave you feeling like you don't have space. The information and tips given were fantastic. The villas take your breath away because they are spacious, with a everything you can imagine and views one only sees on Travel Channel.

I will disagree with most reviewers who say the location is remote. I think coming to a Thai island and not renting a scooter/car borders on a blunt waste of precious vacation time. Even then, it takes one exactly 12 minutes to walk to one of the best beaches in the world.

We will be coming back year after year because!

Room Tip: The yellow villa is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randomintell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a lovely time here. The villas are spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are modern. Walking up and down the hill to get to the beach can be a bit tiring, but you can hire scooters/ get a cheap taxi. Only thing I didn't rate highly was the food service, eat out by the beach.

Room Tip: yellow villa has ultimate privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
7.9 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
10.0 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
10.4 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)

Property: Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
Address: 263 Moo5 | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"PANORAMA VILLA RESORT" Our villas (176 sqm). The villas are suited for two couples or families offering two bedrooms with queen size bed, two bathrooms with outdoor showers, fully equipped kitchen with all you need for making meals at home, living room with 37" a flat screen TV and monitor for international channels, wireless internet, and computer usage. Extra beds for kids are available. Baby cots are also available upon request. Each bedroom has an individual controlled air-condition unit. In addition, for those who prefer to sleep with open doors and windows, there are mounted mosquito net and ceiling fan ready for you to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kantiang See Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing