We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moonwalk Lanta Resort
Ranked #111 of 146 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere!!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have been visiting Moonwalk for 3 years now. I admit that there have been some problems with the staff in previous years but am delighted to see that they have some of their old staff back. They also have great new staff and they all seem to work very well together! This gives the resort a homely feel which you don't find at the bigger places. the food is great and the view is beautiful - definitely one of the best places on Lanta to sit with a (delicious) cocktail and watch the sun go down :). I would recommend this place to anyone, and try not to be put off by the reviews below - there have been a lot of changes I've noticed since I last visited, and the place is much improved!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    50
    28
    27
    43
See reviews for
17
77
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very, very tired room. Door to bath room broken. Bathroom utensiles not re-supplied. Fridge dirty and smelly. Very hard bed, which was made, but linen not changed over a longer stay. Room not cleaned. Airconditioning extremely noisy, so I preferred the ceiling fan (as the front door was askew, I got some mosquito bites on that account). They tried to charge me for a damage done to a motobike previously added to it. Service in the restaurant area deplorable - waiter seemed drunk or on chemicals. Breakfast absolutely not recommendable. When I tried to communicate what I felt was lacking, every trace of English seemed to evaporate from the staff - front personnel to management. Eat somewhere else - stay somewhere else. There are lots of good places in Ko Lanta.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

What a huge disappointment. The service at this establishment is some of the worst I have ever seen at any restaurant. Actually the bartender/server was very polite and seemed embarrassed at how slow and poor the rest of the service was. I went with a party of 3 during slow season, and there was only one other table there when we arrived. I'm not kidding it took AN HOUR AND A HALF for them to make our food, which did not include any significantly challenging dishes, two traditional Thai plates and a sandwich. After waiting about 50 minutes we complained about the length of time it was taking and were told it would be just 10 more minutes. Another 40 would have been a closer estimate. I don't know why anyone would ever go here when there are so many other delicious choices on this island.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MissMollyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We headed to Koh Lanta with no accomodation previously booked. Our original choices were fully booked so the next place along the road was here.

On arrival the staff were professional and offered an three bed air conditioned room and free breakfast for 1500 baht a night. We wouldn't normally spend this much but it was the end of the trip so we treated ourselves. The Bungalow was soleless but functional, no decoration or pictures. However the air con worked well, there was a tv and it was clean. Happy with the standard of accomodation its location and the addition of a pool.

The big issue we had: the breakfast, the first day we were offered a choice of two breakfasts continental (jam and toast) or American (same plus eggs). This is what I would expect from a free breakfast at a resort like this. The second day I asked for an American breakfast and they gave me a continental. WHen I turned to ask where the eggs were the guy who delvered ignored me and continued walking back to the bar, one of the other staff said I wan't entitled to the American breakfast under the free breakfast deal.

Whilst I don't have a problem with this it was the way the staff dealt with it thats the issue, they chose not to admit the day before there was a mistake and that I was only entitled to the continental. I tried to complain to a manager which turned out to be the rude moustache guy who looked and acted more like the maintanence guy covering for a lack of staff. He wasn't interested in explaining why breakfast had changed over night and fobbed me off telling me to wait for his manager who will be in, in 30 minutes. It turned out I would have to wait till 1pm to speak to anyone. I admit I got fed up and decided not to pursue the owner, I'm on holiday and it also explains why the staff behave the way they do pre lunchtime.

Whilst I found the accomodation comfortable and acceptable for the price. I would reccomend you avoid the restaurant and any free breakfast deals. Its not the food thats the problem its the staff. There are plenty of enthusiastic thais willing to serve you with a bit of respect along the beach and a much better quality of breakfast for a lower price.

The majority of customers to this resort are walk-ins like ourselves keeping the resort fully occupied, which I guess is why the staff behaviour is never addressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

I did not stay here thankfully, Went to the bar as it was mentioned in a travel guide and supposedly known for its great cocktails.
Cocktails where mediocre and service was awful! Never met such rude staff
View is amazing however especially at sunset
Would highly recommend not going!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Angharad34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Can't support or defend the very mixed reviews below as we only ate at the restaurant. In the middle of the day this is one of the very few shaded parts of this end of the beach. There were lovely views of the rest of long beach from the deck and the food was delicious, authentic and freshly made.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Missdeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

After reading some daunting reviews we got to this hotel with mixed feeling BUT it was the best stay we had in Thailand :) Food was great so much fresh fish and a beautiful duck curry , amazing cocktails, lovely staff that really went out of their way for us and the amazing Ko Lanta chilled vibe. This place has it all and the best sunset massage .I would suggest booking a newer airconed bungalow though for a few extra Baht its worth the comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davinia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
#69 of 84 in Ko Lanta
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isara Lanta Resort
Isara Lanta Resort
#58 of 215 in Ko Lanta
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nice 'N Easy House
Nice 'N Easy House
#31 of 215 in Ko Lanta
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
#49 of 146 in Ko Lanta
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Sand Sun Resort
Sea Sand Sun Resort
#55 of 84 in Ko Lanta
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
#5 of 146 in Ko Lanta
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonwalk Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonwalk Lanta Resort

Property: Moonwalk Lanta Resort
Address: 509 Moo 2 Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonwalk Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonwalk Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing