We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much, but decent value”
Review of Pilanta Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pilanta Spa Resort
Ranked #76 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night in the middle of our honeymoon because we needed to be near Saladan after a day of diving. We chose the Pilanta after searching for a cheap resort -- it was US$90 after fees on Agoda, and given that price, it wasn't too bad. However, it's a shabby place. The staff is all very nice and tries hard, but it's just clearly not up to snuff. There's a PVC pipe "fountain" burbling into the pool, which is populated by tattooed blobs of lesser Scandinavia. The complimentary breakfast buffet is just barely edible. There are septic smells. That said, we slept well after making it halfway through one of their complimentary DVDs, had a good hot shower, and found the bellmen particularly friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sethdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely huge rooms, each with a little balcony and a little sitting room. We couldn't get the jacuzzi bath to work but didn't really bother us as the shower was good. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and a few spoke pretty good English- more than I expect in a foreign country. The location is a bit isolated but only a short walk to the beach and the hotel rents motorbikes which made things easy. Breakfast was good too. The pool was very green which was a bit off putting. Overall I was very pleasantly surprised as some reviews weren't that great. I would recommend the resort and stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kturn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Pilanta Spa hotel is a great choice for families with small kids as the pool area is great and the service level is high. The rooms are modern and elegantly furbished. The location could be better as it's located a couple of kilometers from the beach but a pickup service is offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is located near Saladan and is not very far from the beach. We stayed here during new years at high season however this hotel was overpriced and does not deserve the 4 star rating it gives itself. Pool is not inviting, the private pool in our room had stale water which smelled rotten for days. The Wi-Fi was of a very poor service. Breakfast is situated on a nice terrace and the food choice is adequate but not 4 star.
The room however is spacious, bed is comfortable and service was excellent with very friendly staff. I think this hotel would be acceptable if were not charged such a high price as it is a 4 star 'resort'., There are better options with bungalows on a beach at a far cheaper rate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over new year,
I was expecting a lot more ,
The place looked good on first impressions ,
It would be what you expected from a nice spa resort,
Bad points
Room was worn and tired,
Bathroom was disgusting ,
Moulds , water marks ,
Shower head doesn't look like it's ever been cleaned ,
Just shocking .
A really good clean would sort it out ,
Spa bath didn't work ,
No electrics, called reception then it decided to work when they turned up then stopped when they left,

42 channels on tv, 8 worked
4 looked like it was snowing all over the rest were foreign ,
At breakfast you got a man walking around topless walking around getting his breakfast ,
He was a tourist but there should be a sign to say wear cloths when eating ,
I'm in a 4 * spa ,
I don't want to see that ,
Wifi drops in and out , not too strong ,
All the above should be fixed, I know I'm in Thailand but if you advertise & expect good money from people then you should be offering these basic. Things ,
Especially cleaniness ,
Staff don't speak good English ,
Sorry but everyone in the world speaks English ,
And if German , Spanish, Greek , French, Indian etc turn up everyone would speak English, the staff should at least be able to communicate better,

Good points
Staff were very helpful ,
All ways polite
Would I stay here again
No No No

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank smiler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at a spa suite at special rate which was great! Jacuzzi and private pool. The staff was extremly hekpfull and pleasent. Myhusband celebrated hisbirthday there and the staff arranged flowers and cup cakes. We would like to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It was part of my honeymoon trip and we were looking for a quite place on the island. Pilanta was a great experience to begin with. It was very comfortable (the rooms are excellent with a separate wardrobe area and a an excellent jacuzzi - i think they have it in all the rooms). Right opposite the hotel is a small food joint - excellent food. Hotel is at a walking distance from a lonely silent beach but is not visible from the hotel - Overall, a good place to spend in solitude.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoraTheExplorerHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
1.8 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cha-Da Beach Resort & Spa
Cha-Da Beach Resort & Spa
#63 of 84 in Ko Lanta
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
#14 of 84 in Ko Lanta
862 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Costa Lanta
Costa Lanta
#24 of 84 in Ko Lanta
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilanta Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilanta Spa Resort

Address: 399 Moo 1 Tambon Saladan | Ampher Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#21 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £77 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pilanta Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pilanta Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing