We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice rooms and good staff👍”
Review of Pilanta Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pilanta Spa Resort
Ranked #77 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, nice rooms and good staff👍”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel of middleclass, rooms where nice, but need some cleaning.
Staff was very nice and help you very good. Breakfast not so special, but there was a very good restaurant in front of the hotel. Only open for dinner. The hotel is 5 min. with scooter to the centrum. A lot of shops, bars, restaurants and markets. The hotel is 2 min. from the sea.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    60
    63
    39
    33
See reviews for
28
132
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Was a little wary having read some of the previous reviews, but actually this was ok for the price. We had two rooms for our family. In fairness no one used the private pools as they were quite small although clean enough, and there was more sun on the main pool. We used it as a base but spent most of the days out diving.

Wifi worked well, couldn't find any English TV, but they do have a DVD library. Breakfast was good and the staff responded quickly to our request for an extra bed for our daughter. Tuktuks were fairly easy to come by and most drivers knew the name of the resort when catching one home. We'd go back, but probably not pay the extra for a private pool next time.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkScoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Located a short Tuk Tuk ride away from the ferry and main town. Tucked away from any noise and crowds yet a sort distance to the beach and Saladan town. We got a great deal, under half price and were amazed at the quality and size of the room that we got, a deluxe room. The staff, pool area and breakfast were brilliant and I cannot say enough. The hotel rents mopeds and cars etc for touring around the island, an essential if you want to make the most of your stay. Lovely modern hotel worth a stay. Pop across the road to the L. Maladee restaurant - you will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was staying alone for a few nights in January and a little nervous about being alone. However, the staff at Pilanta went above and beyond to make sure that I felt totally safe and happy during my stay. The hotel was clean and beautiful, but it is the staff that really makes this a special place. Every staff member was so pit and curious , and made sure that each guest had a wonderful time . I can't wait to return to this slice of Heaven on earth and I thank the staff for their kindness and wonderful customer service.
Donna Bradshaw
California USA

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinerdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Koh Lanta has miles of beaches, which is why all the best hotels have beachfronts to die for. Pilanta Spa Resort is as if someone came late, with money, bought up a last remaining plot, not on a beach, and built as many rooms as they could. The spa idea is not bad, but it clearly doesn't operate as a spa: if you want a massage, they phone up and get someone from outside. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed, but the bedroom itself felt small and dull (too much dark wood). The small plunge pool attached to the room was poor - loose planks, open electrics, dying plant (1), and the small low fencing around it felt like being in a trailer park (see photo attached). Location and room, therefore, for the price they charge, 3/10, max. But the breakfast was good, and the breakfast room, one floor up, looking out to the side of the resort, was probably the best location in the resort. The communal swimming pool is a reasonable size, but enclosed on all sides by buildings. The club sandwich I had for lunch was one of the best I've ever tasted, and the staff were uniformly excellent - so they do some things well. But overall, the location and 'overbuilding' count against it.

Room Tip: The 'luxury' rooms, with the tiny plunge pool, may be the least attractive. Would anyone use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really nice. We had a great room with big bathtub and our own pool. The location is walking distance to the beach, and 5 min drive to the center.
They have a nice breakfast with lots of options. There is also a pool bar serving both drinks and meals.
The people working here are really nice, helpful and service minded.
A pleasant stay. We would love to stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night in the middle of our honeymoon because we needed to be near Saladan after a day of diving. We chose the Pilanta after searching for a cheap resort -- it was US$90 after fees on Agoda, and given that price, it wasn't too bad. However, it's a shabby place. The staff is all very nice and tries hard, but it's just clearly not up to snuff. There's a PVC pipe "fountain" burbling into the pool, which is populated by tattooed blobs of lesser Scandinavia. The complimentary breakfast buffet is just barely edible. There are septic smells. That said, we slept well after making it halfway through one of their complimentary DVDs, had a good hot shower, and found the bellmen particularly friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sethdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.5 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saladan Beach Resort
Saladan Beach Resort
#52 of 84 in Ko Lanta
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,368 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilanta Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilanta Spa Resort

Property: Pilanta Spa Resort
Address: 399 Moo 1 Tambon Saladan | Ampher Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#20 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pilanta Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pilanta Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing