We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Nice, Quiet Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
DeKalb, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a Nice, Quiet Island”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

After the nearly 2 hour drive and two short ferry rides to reach Koh Lanta Yai, we saw that the island was pretty quiet and a little underdeveloped even in the Saladan township. Part of the reason it was so quiet is that July is considered the offseason. This means ferries, tours, and lots of businesses close during this period. The hotel itself was quite lovely and the buildings were very new looking. The landscaping was attractive and the architecture made it ideal to almost blend in with the local surroundings. The check-in was quick and they took us by golf cart to our room. It was only about a 2 minute ride but there are some steep hills so the ride was appreciated. Our room was one of the Elegance Deluxe ones which is close to the two restaurants and the pool with the swim up bar which has a nice happy hour every day. Our room was spacious, lovely, clean, and well furnished. The bathroom was huge and there was plenty of room for our things. We never felt cramped at all. The bed was big and comfortable. There was a decent selection for the mini-bar but as you can expect, it was a little pricey. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and the view was amazing. Since it was offseason, we were told the hotel was less than half full. It was quiet, relaxing, and the service overall was good. My wife is Thai and she spoke with the managers and other staff to discuss where we should eat and what we should see. We ordered room service 3 times and the food was pretty good. Breakfast was not included with our room and they charged us 500 baht (about $18 USD) each. That's an expensive breakfast so we only ate there one time. There is a tour company which has set up a desk in the hotel's lobby and they provide various tours and rentals. SInce it offseason we were not able to take a boat to Phi Phi island for an entire day. The boats would only allow us about 3 hours on the island before we had to depart. i think there are some agreements among the hotel owners on Phi Phi island and the tour operators to get people to stay overnight on the island. We were able to rent a car for 24 hours for about $60 USD and we drove around the island checking out beaches and even the Koh Lanta National Park which was beautiful. Overall the hotel was very nice, very comfortable, clean, and it felt like a bit of paradise for us. We told them it was our honeymoon and the put flower petals on the bed one morning after they cleaned the room and gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne. Great job Crown Lanta Resort and thanks for a memorable trip!

Room Tip: Book an elegance deluxe room overlooking the pool or book one of the private villas. We had a elega...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcn5195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    418
    143
    58
    24
See reviews for
284
786
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

When we first arrived we were disappointed that the foyer of the hotel was more dated than we had anticpated. The hotel has two distinct accomodation areas. Traditional blocks are built around an 'L" Shaped pool at sea level. Note that accomodation on this level is next to the 'Lost Dogs' refuge and whilst you can't see it, the noise of dogs howling as they were being offered their food had us worried about our initial selection. The pool has 2 reaches - one about 60m long and the other about 70m - great for swimming laps if you are keen on swim squads as we are. The executive rooms and villas (both very quiet) are up on the hill, far above reception (transfer by golf cart or 100m climb for the fit). These rooms (thoroughly recommended) with ocean panoramas overlook a large, shaped pool with a swim up pool bar offering great 2 for 1 cocktails late afternoon and staffed in the afternoon by a very friendly and attentive waiter. The pool bar served traditional poolside food in addition to Thai favourites and we enjoyed 'Club Sandwiches and Fries' on two occasions on the poolside lounges. Don't get me wrong we love Thai food but a break from it was very welcome. The peak of the resort occupies a prime headland position overlooking the 3km long beach. We ran the beach one morning and Crown Lanta was the most lovely resort on the strip. Given that it is off season we were very pleased to be staying within 5 minutes of Saladan (not much of a township to speak of) as we at least had about 6+ places to eat out at night (hotel shuttle bus runs at 7pm returning at 8pm and 9pm). The gym was adequate (one tready, one bike, free weights) but smelt of cigarette smoke and I was unable to open any windows, though it was airconditioned. The buffet breakfast was adequate and the elevated location offered sea glimpses on 3 sides. We were pleased with our Ko Kanta choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an executive room overlooking the ocean or the TOP pool - well worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelbourneSandy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

A beautifully build resort where you can really relax and eat well. We booked a room with direct poolaccess, highly recommended! The room is spacious, clean and has a very nice bathroom. The bed was a bit hard, though after a few nights we were used to this. Crown also offered a 2 for 1 for the Spa. The already well priced massages now became unresistable. We recommend the Tension Relief massage and the Traditional Thai massage (although this one's not very relaxing, but gives you great energy, and great muscle stretching). The food in the Peak restaurant is excellent, but breakfast at the Peak was good, not great. 

A few negative experiences:
- The internet. They charge you 500 THB per usercode for 5 days, though we expect a free wifi service in every 4/5 star hotel nowadays. Eventually we agreed to pay some amount but during the 5 days the internet was 50% of the time not usable. During the evening it didn't function at all. Furthermore, everytime you want to go online, you need to wait quite some time before you can fill in your username and password. Advice: negotiate about the price, and if the internet doesn't work, call for a solution. 
- The English language level of the personell. Sometimes the staff just didn't understood what we were asking. 
- The way to the Peak restaurant, where you also have your breakfast, is quite long and steep. You can also walk to the reception for a shuttle to avoid walking up the hill, but then it will take you longer on your way to breakfast. 

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcenAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a wonderfully run, and beautifully located resort and having been to Crown Lanta twice for two separate purposes, I think it is fair to break this review down into two components.

Romantic break for couples
Our first trip was a 4 day break and the resort met all of our requirements, so much so that we decided to come back and get married there.The resort is on top of a cliff and is relatively isolated so perfect for a romantic break. It has two restaurants serving very decent and reasonably priced Thai and Western food, and a spa which we used on several occasions for Thai massages. There is also a swim-up bar with happy hour cocktails. This is a great way to spend an early evening before drying off to watch the sunset from the Peak restaurant with a glass of wine. The rooms are great value, clean and very spacious. We stayed in an Elegance Deluxe room, overlooking the pool, which was very romantic as from the balcony we could hear the waves crashing against the shore. Second time we came we stayed in the Grand Villa, this is possibly the nicest hotel room I will ever stay. Has its own private pool, jacuzzi and some stunning views. What struck us from the beginning was how well run and customer-centric the resort was, and we felt very well cared for during our stay.

Wedding
Having met the manager Dieter on an earlier visit we decided to host our wedding at Crown Lanta. From the very beginning the manager dealt with us in an accommodating and profesional manner and everything about the wedding and the day itself felt personal. From the hundreds of emails we exchanged to plan the event to his "nothing is too much trouble" attitude, Dieter was faultless. We brought 40 guests from many parts of the world, most of whom were staying for 5 days, so were a little worried as to how the management would deal with such a big group. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the correct decision in hosting our wedding in Crown Lanta, everything was organized beyond our expectations, from special arrangements for rooms, to bar and restaurant openings hours.

Before the wedding itself we held a Thai style welcome bbq with many different types of meat skewers, giant prawns, many different types of salad and several other types of sea food. The food was amazing, and the management even organized a local fire dancer to wow our guests. Needless to say all of our guests had a great time.

The wedding itself was perfect. This was held overlooking the ocean with a beautiful flowered arch, and the management arranged a monk and an English officiator. Dieter could not do enough to make this day special, and it seemed it meant as much as to him as to us for every detail to be perfect. He arranged for a hotel staff member to be our translator for the makeup artist, spending the whole afternoon with us as the bridal party got ready. He provided transportation to us the bride, groom and photographer around the resort to take wedding photos. These are just some of the many examples which shows the level of service and consideration the resort provided. After the wedding ceremony we held a cocktail reception for all of our guests, for which he had a tasting session for the previous day, and some canapes, all of which were perfect and perfectly keeping with the tropical wedding theme. The wedding reception itself was where the hotel management truly excelled themselves. The spread and table set up were beautiful. The tables were set with the ocean to the side of them and all was illuminated with tasteful lights on and around the trees. The banquet included rock lobster, some thai favorites and Mongolian barbecue. Everything was cooked to perfection. On the conclusion of the reception, the wedding descended into a pool party, with pool towels miraculously appearing for all guests.

In conclusion we cannot thank the management enough for helping to make our wedding so special, and if you are looking for a location for a resort for a destination wedding the Crown Lanta ticks all the important boxes, and with the manager Dieter you are in very safe hands.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red_Mao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

A clean and cosy hotel
Friendly & helpful staff
Pool access room was fantastic
Walking distance to makan and shopping places
Awesome place for a break !

Room Tip: Pool access was GOOD !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Girlgirlsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My friends & I stayed at the Crown Lanta at the end of May for a wedding. The staff here were warm & helpful and the manager incredibly attentive to the needs of our party. The wedding itself was lovely and the big group dinners the resort put on for us were really beautifully catered. The property is its own self-contained universe, and a great place to 'get away from it all' - it's outside the main tourist centre (a plus for me) but still with easy access to it (£1 tuk-tuk ride). All in all, I think we all felt very well cared for at the Crown Lanta - the staff even said a 'rain prayer' for us when the clouds rolled in on the day of the wedding (it worked)!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

we came here during the rainy season hoping to upgrade after a small and desolate hotel. We were so happy with our choice. We took one of the pool access rooms and its been fantastic! the hotel staff are lovely and sweet and very kind to us, we've ordered room service for lunch two days in a row so we can take advantage of our private terrace and swimming pool and it was tasty and speedily delivered. Yes, its a hike from the pool access rooms to the restaurant but the car that the resort offers comes quickly. The pool at the Cliff is lovely with great fruit smoothies and the spa was fantastic. While we were here, they were offering a two for one option which we took full advantage of.

All in all, we've been very happy with our choice to come here. Great staff, lovely room, fantastic "private terrace and pool", good food at breakfast, lovely views from Peaks Restaurant, relaxing spa, and friendly service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit beachside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. In addition, the livelihoods of local fishermen continue to depend on the island and it’s surroundings; as you explore the island you will observe them continuing to work and celebrate their heritage. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing