We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just ok!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the crown for 6 nights, and straight away it felt like 2 hotels. We stayed at the lower part over looking the pool (which was nice) the restaurants and the main pool were over the other side of the hill.The bathrooms needed updating the tap was so stiff you needed 2 hands to turn it on. We only used the lower pool as it was inconvenient to get to the other as you had to get a lift as it was too hilly to walk. The decking everywhere was close to being dangerous and needs replacing.
I thought the breakfast was just ok but the staff were friendly unlike the reception (thankfully they have a new staff member Lyndsey who was very helpful). Would recommend the public beach round the corner was lovely and clean. Can't comment on the hotel restaurants as we ate in saladan every night which they had some lovely places to eat, would go back to koh lanta but not sure if we would go back to the crown.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peteb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    416
    141
    58
    24
See reviews for
282
776
34
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Just want to say how great it was to stay at this lovely hotel on Koh Lanta. Whilst it was a more expensive hotel it was worth it. The staff throughout the hotel were lovely, friendly and helpful at all times. The hotel website photos do not do the hotel resort justice or perhaps it's on purpose to give element of surprise when you arrive! The grounds certainly surprised us, beautiful private beach but also with quick access to main beach nearby. The private Crown Reggae bar on 2nd private beach was lovely and amazing sunsets whilst enjoying lovely made cocktails!
We would like to say special thanks Tek, who we were disappointed in not being able to personally say thank you to (as he was on his break on the day we left) and also Kluoy in restaurant (beautiful genuine smile every time we saw her) however all the staff were very genuinely smiley people. Excellent customer service led by Run and team. We would recommend this hotel to anyone...thank you for making our stay enjoyable in beautiful Koh Lanta x
Lastly special thanks to Tam and team on our morning departure from hotel as there was a bit of anxiety on morning of leaving for airport as the tide was unusually lower than expected that morning for our taxi transfer to get across from North of the island to the South to collect us, but thankfully with some quick thinking we made it to Krabi with an hour to spare before take-off!

Room Tip: Rooms near main pool have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariemomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

First of all: the place in Trip Advisor is wrong. It is in the north west corner of Kho Lanta, very closed to Saladang.

If you do not mind stairs, it is a good place to stay. We had a room with Access to the lower pool. That was nice.
The hotel offers a lot.

Free bycicle rent with those you can reach Saladang in 5 minutes for several Restaurants and markets.

You have two accesses to water. One side for snorkeling and the other the nice and long beach, which is really flat and has clear water. During the flood the beach has not much space but is enough.
You can also rent kanoos for free.

The only bad thing as written here before: Dirty towels and the shower in the room was not the greatest.


If you are there do not miss the snorkeling tour with speed boat to Kho Rok (We booked it in Saladeng for 1400 bhat. They all drive to the same beautiful spot!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for almost a week on this island and would come back here, but not to this hotel. Let's start with the only positive point: we had a room with direct access to the swimmingpool which is great if you want to go for a swim at any point of time. But our room was a bit dark and smelly, the reception rather unfriendly. We tried the poolbar and were very disappointed since we were the only guests there being watched carefully by the service personnel. Drinks rather pricey and not worth it. The first night we decided to eat at the Cliff restaurant. Very bad experience: badly lit up so that we couldn't properly read the menu. The waitress finally brought us torches, but took away right after ordering! When the food arrived, same problem: could hardly see what we were eating. Food very average, but very expensive, also the drinks. The service manager at the end tried to sell us a romantic dinner at the beach for 10000 Baht. Even though we were not interested he kept insisting the next day at breakfast. Well, the breakfast, another negative point: located at the top of a hill, you need to climb lots of hard stairs. Up there, it is very hot and hardly any ventilators available. Food very average. On the leisure side, all services very expensive. Scooters are rented much more expensive than in town, same goes for laundry service, spa and excursions (diving for example). In a nutshell: rather avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebounet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two weeks in Crown Lanta, and it was a nice stay. Rooms near main pool were nice with large balcony. From balcony was a nice view over the sea and it was pleasent to sit there and watch the sun go down.

Rooms were large and comfortable. Beds were a bit hard. Rooms were kept well clean and our cleaning lady was so nice.

Breakfast was fine and there was good selection of food available. Otherwise food was not good. Room service food and Cliff restaurant food taste not good. Thai food wast tasteles and also pizzas and hamburgers. This was perhaps the only reason why I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Hotel is a litle far from other restaurants and that is why we would have liked to use room service time to time, but after second try, we desided to go and eat out from the hotel. This was unfortunate and I was a litle astonished of this bad and tastles food, because tasty food is one of the most imporetant thing in Thailand to me. I love Thai food.
Hotel had its own small beach, which was nice. Pool was clean. Hotel had also quite nice gym which we used a lot and we could had proper pratice there. This is very imporetant to us.
What I dont like so much is, that right after when you go out from hotel area you will find a lot of litter all over. This was like that all over Koh Lanta where people lives.
We hired a scooter for 12 days and it is a exellent way to go from place to place and visit all nice beaches around Koh Lanta. In my opinion best beaches you will find from south end of the island, right after the main street ends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Pros: The property is beautiful, the service is amazing, everything is clean, the pool is nice, there's always taxi's waiting outside to take you to town.

Cons: Really expensive rooms, really expensive food/drinks/services, very far from town(5-10 min drive), you need to call for a cart to take you to the restaurant or lobby as walking is next to impossible (it's VERY hilly with some pretty steep climbs). And, as is typical in Thailand, the beds are rock hard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twozerooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I spent here few days last year and just came back from another stay there. I had to go back, because I wanted some luxury to my Lanta visit for a quite reasonable price. Elegance deluxe rooms are large, as well as their balconies. One could have a ball there! I also took a look at the private pool villa, which was more than nice. I have to take it into account when planning my next trip.

The resort is cliffy, but so beautiful with its own private beach, which was surprisingly quiet even the hotel was full. Friendly staff, overpriced drinks at the pool bar (mini bar in the room was amazingly cheap, for example a can of beer for 50bht!), many waiters in the restaurants make this resort feel like 5* resort. Also the free shuttle bus 4 times a day to Saladan is a very nice detail that made me smile.

The minus points must be given for overbookings... We had booked 2 rooms, but they only had one left. So our friends had to sleep elsewhere the first night. But as an experienced Thai traveller that was no news to me, but anyway. Also paying 800bht extra/room for a quite simple breakfast was highly overpriced. Summa summarum I highly recommend that Crown must be experienced whenever paying a visit at Ko Lanta!

Room Tip: Elegance deluxe rooms have the best value to my taste!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pqi_royal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit beachside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. In addition, the livelihoods of local fishermen continue to depend on the island and it’s surroundings; as you explore the island you will observe them continuing to work and celebrate their heritage. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing