We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mother's tonic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A mother's tonic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Koh Lanta is where my husband and I honeymooned 20 years ago before there was electricity or very much development. I was happy to see that the development on the island is reasonably environmentally sensitive and controlled. I was not expecting the luxury of Crown Lanta, however. This is where my 19yr old son and I stayed at the end of our week together in Thailand before he goes off on his own around the world for 7 months. A relaxing, comfortable and friendly place is what I needed to spend some quality time with him and we got it at Crown Lanta.

The staff was extremely accomodating and friendly, the rooms comfortable and the location magnificent. The Reggae bar was superb. The only trap was that you could spend your entire time here, depriving you of the many treasures of the island. We got out and about a fair bit during our three days, and even went down to the national park.

Some services, like the Infinity Spa and the breakfast, were expensive for what was offered. But this is all part of the choice you have on holiday. When travelling it is best to 'go with the flow' and not sweat the small stuff.

Room Tip: The access pool rooms have the wow factor, but it can mean not leaving your room for long stretches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    404
    137
    57
    24
See reviews for
276
754
34
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Crown lanta resort is located on the cliff with good view of the Arabian Sea good hotel with awsome location but management is way too lazy was not impressed with the service of the hotel. We told them that we are travelling on our honeymoon and they promissed few things on the day of arrival but tje things were placed after I reminded them atleast 4 times they offered us cake which was rotten seems like 3 days old. They have free shuttle service to saladan market at fixed time if don't take that they will call tuk tuk for which will charge 50 bhat per person just for 2 kms which I think is too expensive. We tend walk one as you walk next too the rivwr shore so it is good to walk or take shuttle rather than tuk tuk. Otherwise ko lanta is a good place to relax and enjoy as it is not as cosmopolitan as bangkok people there sleep by 11. We took two rooms sunset villa 2117 and sunset pool villa 2125 both the rooms are great as you get sunset view. If anyone who is planning to book this hotel please make sure that you will find lizards in each room so if you are afraid of lizards than dont book. Whereas hotel staff is lazy specially Run who ignores each request you make. 2125 AC was not working so after reminding atleat 6 times there was a maintenance staff to check which said it cant be fixed they did offer us a different room but we declined and thwy said they will fix it in morning but next every one forgot it and no one bothered to ask about last night AC problem. I would like to mention ONE STAFF NAME NUM who was helpful and energetic. Overall stay was ok but not great the only plus point was the room as there was an awesome view.
Recommendation if you book sunset villa book 2117 as you get good view of the sunset with sea and pool villa book only sunset private pool DONT BOOK SUNRISE POOL VILLA.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Himanshu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I can neither give a good nor bad review on Crown Lanta. I strongly feel that my husband and I just had bad luck at the place because clearly the reviews on this resort are excellent. So before I go and give the place a bad name I just want to say again that clearly this was just our experience.

The check in: rude and unorganized staff, bags everywhere in the lobby, and extremely hot. After waiting a few minutes we were finally greeted by a staff member and received a cold towel to cool off with and a cold refreshment. Our room was not ready so they told us we could go to the restaurant for lunch.

The restaurant: beautiful view overlooking the beach, comfortable chairs, and friendly service. The food: undercooked and expensive. When informing the guest manager about our raw food it took them 4 days to come up with a solution to our issue. They took the price of the undercooked food off of our bill.

The room: this is where things became interesting. First off, we ordered a room with the pool access and although it was nice it's definitely not like the pictures on the website. Our pool lamp was broken and the chairs were dirty on the patio. The room had dirty lamp shades and very dusty doors. The mini bar had missing items and half consumed alcoholic beverages. When we took the half consumed bottle of gin to the front desk to make sure we didn't get charged, he repeatedly asked me if we drank from it!?

The hotel grounds: beautiful and well maintained, about a 5 minute walk to the beach, very large resort, which was something we were not expecting. Free shuttle all around the resort which was nice because there are a lots of hills. The hotel even offered a free shuttle to Saladan several times a day, to and from. The garden/Pond could use a little work, the fountains are not working and it was not that pretty to look at as for the water was low and there were cords everywhere.

The breakfast: offered an extensive spread of food. Everything you could want, thai and English style breakfast. Good service and tasty food. The best part was the view overlooking the ocean!

So overall we really only had issues with the cleanliness of the room and how the staff handled it. It was not what we were expecting with the price we paid and from a resort. The best service we had was several days after we checked out and after speaking with several people about our issues, I received an email saying that we would get refunded for 2 nights out of our 5 night stay with we gladly accepted. That gesture meant a lot to us because finally someone showed us that some of our experience at the hotel was not acceptable.

In the end I can say that our stay was average because of how everything played out in the end. I wouldn't not recommend the hotel because as I stated before, I really believe we just had an unlucky experience. Clearly from all the other reviews good service is offered.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EatDrinkTravel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Arrived mid afternoon, check in went smoothly and activity desk on the ball got us in contact with Blue Planet Divers in 5 minutes our next days diving was booked. We also rented scooters at the Hotel activity desk, a bit more expensive then in Ban Saladan but practical and we got the first day free as we took them from late afternoon.

Taken to our huge upstairs room by caddy overlooking the L-Shaped bottom pool. Resort very hilly but easy pick up service at the various bus stops ;-) the drivers are friendly and very helpful.

We were hesitant of asking for a pool access upgrade but were happy not to have done so. The pool access rooms are overlooked by everyone swimming in the pool and the balconies of the upstairs rooms are huge and private.
Breakfast is OK fans keep away the worst of the heat however there was definitely a fly problem, perhaps due to the coming wet season? Lots of choice but pretty standard fair. We ate once at the Cliff restaurant next to the top pool. Had a craving for a burger and it was OK. Fries were good. Pool bar fun the cocktails good but overpriced compared to outside. We mostly ate at L. Maladee which is close by and FANTASTIC. (see review).

Check out was OK. Transfer had been booked by our agent however, it is organised by the hotel and this was a bit mixed up but worked out OK and we were taken without problem to Phuket Airport by a very nice driver in a private mini van.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights. We arrived at approx 4.30pm. We were told our room had yet to be made. We could either wait on the balcony or be driven to their Cliff Restaurant (a forced choice). We decided to eat. There was no Thai food on the menu. What country are we in? Instead we had very plain French food. The coconut shake was so sweet, full of syrup, far too much! Our room was the pool view room, otherwise known as the pool envy room. Unless you get the direct access room, don't bother coming. Our wi-fi was utterly useless. Management's solution was to issue us with a new password. Made no difference. We had better reception at a $40/night bungalow! Breakfast is a march up a long hill to a fly riddled boring buffet. I ate there on 2 occasions only. The staff don't smile here. Reception staff don't appear welcoming or caring. I saw on 2 occasions people checking in only to be told their room was not available. Unforgivable! I originally tried to upgrade to a pool access room and was told that it was possible. But when I confirmed twice, I received no reply. We tried to spend as much time away from the resort as possible. We saw many fantastic places down the coast, and ate at quite a few. Much much friendlier with better access to beaches. The resort runs 4 shuttles to the town. Only four. Otherwise you pay for a taxi. Not even a complimentary transfer on checkout. Even though there were 2 empty vehicles in the driveway. If you want a trip within the resort, you can call anytime for a cart. Great, but the resort was uninspiring. It has no soul. Don't get your laundry done here, the price is per piece and is highway robbery. We won't ever come back here. It is just plain boring and isolated from town. In the end it was just a room, a nice room without wi-fi but lots of envy.

Room Tip: Pool access room or nothing. Nothing is a good choice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latte_With_One_Sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Crown Lanta is a bit of an odd hotel. It has such steep hills that you need to be picked up in one of the hotel's many buggies and dropped off at breakfast, reception or anywhere else you want to go in this vast hilly resort. It has a private beach which is tiny and rocky and a disappointment. The nearby Kao Kwang beach is lovely and big, but hard to find from the hotel initially, as it's only accessible through a well hidden path. The hotel's two pools could really be anywhere and don't have a proper sea view. The hotel management messed up our reservation when we arrived and, only after a good amount of perseverance and persuasion, we managed to get them to put us in a good room at the nearby Twin Lotus hotel - which is a much nicer hotel right on Kao Kwang beach - for two nights (but only after trying to fob us off with the worst room in that hotel and a free BBQ, which they then tried to charge us for anyway - twice!) This was followed by an upgrade for a few nights back at the Crown Lanta. Without this, the room we actually booked, which was not the cheapest room by a long stretch, would have been a bit ordinary and small for the whole stay. So their mistake actually worked out well for us. Without it, our stay at the Crown Lanta would have been way too long. The management and reception staff are quite snide and moody and the staff at the tours desk are just rude and disinterested. The food is pretty ordinary and bland, so we only paid for one meal there during the entire stay, which isn't ideal for such a fairly remote location, especially for families. Will return to Lanta, just not to the Crown Lanta.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FJ85543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for three days and used this as a base to explore the rest if ko lanta. Hotel is beautiful and rooms are very comfortable and modern.
What is a bit strange is that the hotel grounds are quite large and on a hill. So there are golf carts that take you around from your room to reception and out. It's a strange system but it works. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the main city. There is a shuttle from the hotel but you can also take a tuk tuk which is quite fine.
We really enjoyed our time at the pool.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritzypillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit beachside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. In addition, the livelihoods of local fishermen continue to depend on the island and it’s surroundings; as you explore the island you will observe them continuing to work and celebrate their heritage. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing