We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort but quite secluded.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
East Boldon, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great resort but quite secluded.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is quite a large resort and absolutely fantastic with really friendly staff who are very willing to help. The main pool area is great and has built in jacuzzi jets around the pool. There is also another fantastic little bamboo bar at the bottom of some cliffs which has an extremely relaxing atmosphere on an evening. The service is really good and if you need to travel across the resort then the staff will pick you up in a car.
The resort itself is built on a hill with lots of steep paths which can be exhausting but it is worth it as the evening restaurant/breakfast area is situated at the top with an amazing sea view.

There is a free bus into town however there is not much to see. However, there are places where you can book excursions and there are a lot of restaurants that jut out over the water which provide a fantastic atmosphere for somewhere to eat.

The draw backs include:
It can take around 2.5 hours to travel to this resort from Krabi airport. It took us 3.5 hours though as we got duped by a bus company at the airport, which is something to watch out for.
When it comes to prices please note that it is worth going into town, especially for the journey back to the airport as the prices that the hotel charge can be up to 8 times more than elsewhere.
The meal prices are quite expensive compared to going into town although the food is very nice and there is an excellent breakfast selection (the breakfasts are free). The hotel stops serving around 10pm though, which is a pain if you are arriving back late on a night or fancy a midnight snack.
The dining room for afternoon meals seems strangely out of place as it is quite bare and dull which doesn't seem to fit in with the rest of the resort.

Overall this is a really good resort but a bit out of the way.

Room Tip: If you choose a pool access room please note that this is just a very basic pool and located at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Always_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    422
    143
    59
    24
See reviews for
289
797
36
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here in July 14. The hotel itself is very impressive. It is a beautiful little retreat with very spacious rooms and fantastic swimming pools. A few bad points are that the restaurant in the hotel was dire.. Oddly, there wasn't much choice of Thai food on the menu and everything offered is greasy! Ordinarily this isn't too much of an issue because you can always eat out but that brings me onto another issue. The island doesn't have a lot to offer! There was on fantastic restaurant in 'town' but not much else. The scenery is beautiful and the location is very quiet and peaceful. I would say to anyone going...If your happy to lounge by the pool/on the beach for your holiday this is the place to go. If your looking for culture and stimulation then I'd recommend staying on the main land and just doing a day trip to the island to see its outstanding natural beauty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaporin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I spent our 35th wedding anniversary at the Crown Lanta in August 2014 and it was an anniversary I will remember for all the right reasons. The staff,rooms and grounds are all immaculately presented, and nothing seemed too much trouble for the pleasant friendly staff.
The Crown makes optimal use of there hilly surrounds with restaurants and bars making the most of their spectacular views. The hotel manager Tony was always visible ensuring that each guests stay was everything they could wish for and we saw Tek the Restaurant manager in every bar and restaurant at all times of the day and night doing the same! Thank you Crown Lanta for an incredible anniversary.

Room Tip: Each room has something to offer. Views, pool, seclusion etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

A group of 9 adults (aged 18 to 50) stayed in pool access rooms...a wonderful experience. Can not fault the excellent service by all staff (except the lady booking trips, better off going into Town to see tour company's to book excursions). We all took part in the Thai cookery class, absolutely fantastic and a must for any holidaymaker, just like "master chef"! The executive chef was very helpful. The reception staff could not do enough to help us. Scooter hire from town very cheap £5 per day, hire for the week! Check insurance for scooter prior to leaving, may be cautious but we hired but could not buy insurance.
Perfect start to the evening is a cocktail in the Reggae Bar ( happy hour )

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed in Crown in July 2014. Very nice, clean, and comfortable accommodations. Absolutely gorgeous pools! Excellent breakfast included. Part of the stay we were in the Grand Villa with private pool, which was given to us as a compensation for one of our rooms not being ready upon arrival. The rest of the stay we were in the pool access rooms and this was absolutely awesome!
It was great, but there are couple issues that should be considered. Firstly, the property is not suitable for those with mobility issues. It has several very steep hills and my mom, who is in her 60s, had very difficult time getting around. However, there is a little shuttle that goes around very frequently and gives you a lift whenever you want. Secondly, we were there during a rainy season and although it is nice and sunny in Siam, the Adaman coast actually gets quite a bit of rain. Also the winds make sea pretty much not suitable for swim. Not only the waves that are the problem, but also it brings all bunch of junk to the shores. I am sure it is much better in the high season.
Overall though, the hotel is great. We had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the resort for 6 days in a room with direct pool access. The rooms were tidy, the service and food was good and the whole family (including small children and elderly) loved it. We would recommend it for anyone who whishes a quite and relaxed vacation in a beautiful location on the Lanta island.

Room Tip: If you have kids or appreciate easy access to swimming pool then choose the deluxe room with pool ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zorica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was very nice. As it is the low season the place was peacefully quiet. You will need some form of transport to reach the resort as it is situated a distance away from Saladan. As we stayed near the swimming pool located on a plateau on a steep hill, we had to take the cart to and from the rooms. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff attentive. Breakfast is served in a rooftop restaurant with lovely views of the surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keminoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#4 of 84 in Ko Lanta
685 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,049 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
#15 of 84 in Ko Lanta
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the privacy and natural setting of our 4.5 star boutique resort. With our property stretching across 22 hectares of park-like land it boasts gentle hills alongside steep cliffs overlooking the sea, an intimate and private white sand beach, as well as access to the famous 3km long Klong Dao Beach. Throughout our 83 generously-sized rooms and villas you’ll get the feeling of Thai contemporary architecture meets gracious Thai hospitality. Relax beside one of our two resort pools, enjoy the tastes of Thailand at our on-site restaurants, and be pampered at our rejuvenating Infinity Spa. In the evenings, sit seaside at our Reggae Bar and enjoy a cocktail while experiencing one of the best shows on the island – the sunset. The island of Lanta is still regarded as a green paradise where you will find splendid scenery such as rugged tree-covered hills, mangroves, and nine white sandy beaches. Our resort is ideally located, giving you the privacy of paradise, while also offering access to all the sights and sounds Koh Lanta has to offer. Crown Lanta has created lasting and vivid memories for guests worldwide, let us have a place in your heart as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing