We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My wife loved it, I wasn't so sure”
Review of The Houben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Houben Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My wife loved it, I wasn't so sure”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Hotel is located to the south, less touristy part of the island. The hotel and room both have the 'wow' factor - lovely views to the west (sunsets particularly), modern (grey concrete - this is where I was less entusiastic than my wife) architecture, all rooms with magnificent views onto the ocean. The red tiled pool - again not my choice - is something different, but nice. There are only about 15 rooms, resulting in plenty of space and quiet. To get to the lovely, clean beach, you take a 5-minute walk through the little village. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, which was pretty good - even the wine was affordable! Service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannespuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    103
    19
    11
    1
See reviews for
42
498
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Upon reaching the hotel, we were greeted by their warm smiles and positive attitude. The checking in was fast and every thing and we were given a short tour around the hotel amenities. The food at the restaurant was delicious but was slightly much expensive as compare to the surrounding seafood restaurant. (The top view restaurant is a Gd place for Seafood). The room was clean and all the equipment seem to be in gd condition. Overall the environment at hotel was very tranquility. Remember to grab a cold beer and enjoy the breath taking view of the horizon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xuejun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Statyed for 7 nights with af friend. The Houben is amazing - though not af 5 out of 5. Staying for 7 nights you start to notice the small things that a missing before it is just perfect - though still a great experience and if I should ever go back to Koh Lanta, this would be the place to stay.

We stayed in af superior room - and yes it was superior :o) A large large room with a small fridge which was filled every day with two bottles of water (free). Fresh beach/pool towels every day. The bed could esealy fit 4 grown ups.

The bathroom was nice an spaceious - with a shower and a tub.

The hotel has a view of the ocean and here we saw the best sunset EVER...

The staff was very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bsild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

The houben is clearly a good spot and I agree with all the previous comments:

- Location is great, above a hill and just few minutes from a very beautiful beach (beautest of the island ?). Exposition to west provides every night breathtaking sunset (to all rooms)
- Great quality of the building and rooms
- Staff is extremely helpful and kind

So definitely a gem, and every penny spent in it is well invested

However... because nothing is totally perfect, there are some small things that I thought was worth mentionning (also for the management of the hotel)

Let me first precise that I've stayed in one of the 2 suites

- Wifi range is not wide enough to be used in the rooms. You have to stay around the pool to use it
- TV can only be used to read DVD... Signal is very bad and only thai channels are available
- Restaurant is (very) good but (very) overpriced
- At the time we came, so few sun umbrella were available around the pool
- SECURITY at day time is a bit poor. Many external visitors came in just to have a look around

Room Tip: best choices are definitely the 2 suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leves75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Cannot fault this hotel! It was amazing!
Rooms are huge, so clean (linen was lightly scented with vanilla!), great bathroom, balcony, great pool... Set on top of a cliff with beautiful views of the ocean!
Breakfast was excellent and the service impeccable (Well done Shana!!)
Couple of minutes walk down to Kantiang's little village and beach.
I would definitely recommend this as the ONLY place to stay while in Lanta.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Very flash design/boutique hotel on a clifftop. Lovely swimming pool, beautiful rooms (only 15 all told). Neighbours onto a small village and nice beach, so enough to do. Very good for children. Amazing sunset. The only small negative is that a lot of the food is western/crossover, maybe the emphasis on thai food could be stronger, but that is nitpicking. The hotels greatest asset is the wonderful Shawna, the hostess with the mostest, who works tirelessy and classily to give every guest the best possible stay. A wonderful experience, all told.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We booked The Houben for 4 nights as part of our tour of Thailand, based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were thrilled with our decision. We received a free transfer from the ferry terminal to the resort. At check in we were given cold drinks and shown to our room. Our jaws dropped when we saw the room. It was absolutely stunning….very large, bright and airy. The wall facing our bed was all glass with doors onto a balcony overlooking the beautiful infinity pool and the sea. Our bed had been decorated with orchids and hearts to celebrate a special occasion. Our bath had been run and had orchids floating on the surface. We were given a glass of wine each.
The breakfasts were excellent with a great selection of hot and cold food. The breakfast menu included several Thai dishes and the bakery items were delicious. The hotel and room were spotlessly clean. The staff was hard working and very helpful.
The beach was about 10 minutes walk away and was beautiful. During our stay we rented a scooter from the nearby Jinta travel agency and toured the whole island. The south western part of the island is beautiful with tropical beaches which are almost deserted.
If you go to Lanta you MUST do the 4 Islands tour which includes the Emerald Cave. It is awesome!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericawalesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel

Property: The Houben Hotel
Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Houben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing