We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomeness!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The Houben is the best hotel ever. The service was great, the staffs are friendly and attentive. They try to help as much as they can. Stayed in Deluxe first 2 nights ~ the room was awesome, bed was comfortable except there is a bit noise coming from the ventilation. But either than that it was perfect.

Changed to Suite Room for the other 2 days. It was great as well but i think the deluxe is much much better. The breakfast was delicious. I've never had such delicious tea before =). We had dinner 2 nights at Red Alert (the hotel's restaurant), it was also delicious. I especially love the Tom Yum with Squid. My bf loved the Roasted Duck with Tamarind Sauce. Very very very good!

Ive had to say that the nearly 3 hours trip to get there was worth it. I will pick this hotel again without a doubt even i had a choice to choose a hotel at Aonang. It was all worth it!

The pool is gorgeous! It was something different with the red tiles. Love the design soo much! Very unique! Love all of Houben's design but the Suite Room can improve abit. Like a place to put our luggage and the shower bigger then it is perfect. No complaints to Deluxe Room, everything is perfect!

Keep up the good service & good food!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room, get the highest floor perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icebabyx86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights. Very clean and spacious room with great view from a very big and relaxing balcony. The biggest bathroom and biggest shower room I have even been in my life. The Houben is very generous with breakfast and the quality of breakfast is brilliant! All fresh. Lovely time in the pool and watching the sunset. There are some monkeys in the jungle next to the hotel, they are shy and not aggressive. So it gives you a real nature touch!! The service is great, the staff are a bit slow but great service mind and friendly. We were really happy and have nothing to complain. Such a great value and lovely hotel. We even recommended our friends to stay at The Houben and they also love it and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyStromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The Houben was the perfect way to end our holiday in Asia. We loved its location - on the quiet part of the island on Ba Kantiang Bay, and we loved that it only had 15 rooms so it had an intimate feel and we got to know the staff who looked after our every need.

I can see how it may not be perfect for everyone, however. The pool has no shallow end, except for the spa part, so it may not be suitable for families with babies or young children. The hotel (and Ba Kantiang) is also the kind of place where you go to relax and not do much so it's very quiet. But all of this suited us and was perfect for what we wanted.

The restaurant is fantastic - yes, it's a bit pricey compared to places in the small town, but not really compared to prices at home and we were very happy with everything we tried.

It's true the wifi works in the restaurant/bar area only, but it's not an unpleasant place to spend your time.

The staff were lovely, welcoming, friendly and helpful. It's tricky sometimes for a small hotel to find the right balance between attentive and intrusive, but the staff at The Houben were always discreet and unobtrusive.

Our room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. And as with all the other rooms, it had a sublime view over the water and an awesome sunset.

We can't wait to get back to The Houben!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We had very high hopes of our stay at the Houben and we were not disappointed. The staff are such a friendly bunch and reminded us of one big happy family. Nothing was too much trouble and as arranged we were picked up at Saladan Pier.
Our room was lovely, it was very spacious with a couch and had a 7' bed which looked out over the sea. The bathroom had a great walk in shower and a jacuzzi tub. We were on the top floor and the window from floor to ceiling must have been about 18'.
We stayed during Songkran (Thai New Year) and were invited to join in the fun of helping to soak people travelling past the hotel, it was hilarious.
We hired a scooter whilst there and tootled around the island, we never experienced any body driving fast or dangerously and felt very safe on the roads.
We really enjoyed the tranquility around the pool, which most days we had to ourselves and wished we could have stayed longer.
If travelling around Thailand I would make The Houben your last stop as it is the perfect place to re-charge the batteries and totally relax.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Hotel is located to the south, less touristy part of the island. The hotel and room both have the 'wow' factor - lovely views to the west (sunsets particularly), modern (grey concrete - this is where I was less entusiastic than my wife) architecture, all rooms with magnificent views onto the ocean. The red tiled pool - again not my choice - is something different, but nice. There are only about 15 rooms, resulting in plenty of space and quiet. To get to the lovely, clean beach, you take a 5-minute walk through the little village. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, which was pretty good - even the wine was affordable! Service is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannespuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Upon reaching the hotel, we were greeted by their warm smiles and positive attitude. The checking in was fast and every thing and we were given a short tour around the hotel amenities. The food at the restaurant was delicious but was slightly much expensive as compare to the surrounding seafood restaurant. (The top view restaurant is a Gd place for Seafood). The room was clean and all the equipment seem to be in gd condition. Overall the environment at hotel was very tranquility. Remember to grab a cold beer and enjoy the breath taking view of the horizon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xuejun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Statyed for 7 nights with af friend. The Houben is amazing - though not af 5 out of 5. Staying for 7 nights you start to notice the small things that a missing before it is just perfect - though still a great experience and if I should ever go back to Koh Lanta, this would be the place to stay.

We stayed in af superior room - and yes it was superior :o) A large large room with a small fridge which was filled every day with two bottles of water (free). Fresh beach/pool towels every day. The bed could esealy fit 4 grown ups.

The bathroom was nice an spaceious - with a shower and a tub.

The hotel has a view of the ocean and here we saw the best sunset EVER...

The staff was very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bsild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,522 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,141 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )

Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £84 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing