We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, Small, and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The Houben is exactly the kind of hotel my girlfriend and I like: stylish, small, and quiet. This is one of our favorite hotels in the world.

The architecture is modern and beautiful. When we visited in December, 2012 everything looked brand new, clean, and well-maintained. The Houben is on the top of a cliff with a wide view of the ocean. Directly west is a little island on the horizon that I never got tired of looking at. Sunsets were often stunning.

There are only 15 rooms and all of them have a great view. I like the glass sliding doors because of the view, but I recommend avoiding the ground floor so you have more privacy. Even when all the rooms are full, the hotel is not crowded. We often had the pool to ourselves.

The staff was friendly and available whenever we needed something. Shana is in charge and is fantastic. Her father Walther owns the hotel and when he is around he is fun to talk to. Some of the staff didn't speak English well, but we didn't find it to be a problem. The food was quite good.

You have to walk about 10 minutes on the road to get to the big sandy beach. That was fine with us. The water around Koh Lanta was clearer than the beaches farther north, such as Koh Yao or Krabi. We enjoyed hanging out at the Drunken Sailor along the way.

We also did some exploring to find a path through the jungle to get to a closer beach. The close beach is rocky, so you wouldn't swim there, but the rocks are very interesting and it is fun to look at sea life in the tidal pools.

We will be back! If you like this kind of hotel then you would also enjoy 2Inn1 Kensington in Capetown, South Africa.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Jeffbnc,

Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with us at The Houben HOtel and enjoyed the nature and dining in our neighborhood. We appreciate your comments about the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Walter HOuben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

We have been at The Houben for 5 days and are supposed to leave tomorrow, but we'd like to stay forever. This is our new favorite spot in the world (and we've been all over). In fact, my husband wants to plan our marriage ceremony and celebration (which we had to delay due to Hurricane Sandy) here so we can bring all our friends and family to this amazing place.
First of all, Ko Lanta is beautiful and relaxing. Definitely our favorite place in Thailand. Very laid back and peaceful. The beach down the hill from The Houben is gorgeous and never crowded (just as beautiful as Ko Phi Phi with a tenth of the people).
And The Houben is in a perfect location, just up the hill (a 5 minute walk) from the little town and beach. Peaceful with gorgeous views and a fantastic pool. I thought the modern style architecture would seem out of place, but its gorgeous. All the windows and open space allow the beautiful landscape to pour in. We opened the curtains on our floor to ceiling windows to a stunning view of the ocean everyday. And the hotel is laid out so every room has that view. There are only 15 rooms so it's very intimate and personal. The owners arranged a Christmas Eve dinner for all of us (complete with a fire-dancer!) which was a great touch. We really enjoyed that. And as a couple looking for a romantic getaway, we loved that children are not allowed.
The family that owns and runs the hotel is amazing. Walter and his girlfriend go out of their way to make you feel welcome. But Shauna, Walter's daughter, is the real backbone of the place. She works her tail off (from working the front desk to managing the restaurant and waiting tables to driving guests around) and is fantastic and hilarious. The whole family is very warm and inviting.
The food was delicious as well. Breakfast includes a buffet of fruit, bread, cereal, etc and a full menu with omelets, eggs Benedict, French toast and pancakes. We recommend the eggs Benedict and the farmers omelet. We could have eaten every meal here. The fresh spring rolls are the best we had in Thailand. All the curries were perfect. They went out of their way to make spicy vegetarian options for my husband and everything we both had was great.
We did go eat in town as well. We were not impressed with the food on the beach (skip Same Same But Different, the food is bland and the service was terrible) but the town has a couple of good options. We loved Drunken Sailors. Great burgers and curries (and spicy!). Alama was very good, too. Cozy and tasty.
There's also a little shop down the main road called The Little Homemade Shop which has great handmade clothes, jewelry and gifts. We got most of our family gifts there and a great scarf for me.
The spa treatments looked interesting (particularly the ones for skin that's gotten too much sun or tired traveling muscles) but we just wanted aromatherapy massages. Even though they weren't listed, the manager was happy to arrange them for us and we really enjoyed them.
We cannot say enough lovely things about this place. It was perfect and we hope to be back with friends and family soon!! Thank you Walter and Shauna for making us feel so welcome and at home at your very special place.

Room Tip: We loved our deluxe room. We took baths almost every day during sunset. It was amazing. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Maya Claire B ,

On behalf of the Houben Hotel , thank you for taking your time writing this review on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us. I appreciate your feedback on our breakfast , dinner and christmas gala as well. Please let me know if I can be of assistance with any future arrangements. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back again and again !

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Fantastic combination of European style and Thai relaxed calm in this bijou hotel set on a quieter stretch of Lanta. Lovely and caring people in charge, very helpful and social - would recommend and certainly return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look over a great view - we had a room on the top floor (3) but think the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear itpete ,

Thank you very much for a such a valued review of The Houben Hotel , Koh Lanta on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted to learn that our accommodation and services were met your satisfaction. We’re truly appreciated

Hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again in the not too far future. Well note that the loyalty package is well prepared .

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

On first impressions my comment was 'we have arrived back at The Scarlet'! This is definitely one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in whilst in Thailand. Unfortunately I got sick on the second day however I could not have had a nicer view to look at whilst recuperating in bed and offers were made to cook special food for me and also to take me to the local Doctor which is above and beyond what you would expect. The rooms are spacious and well designed with each one having an outdoor area either by way of a balcony or outside seating space. The breakfasts were divine and at sun-downer time, the cocktails were chilled. The surrounding area is quiet but nice and there are some very good local eateries such as the Drunken Sailor. The beach is also a short walk away. To summarize, I will be back!

Room Tip: Try and have a room on the first or second floor as ground floor do not offer much privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipmunk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear Chipmunk73 ,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are truly pleased to learn that your recent stay at The Houben Hotel was a pleasant one. Looking forward to your returning in the future,

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Out stay at The Houben was just magnificent!

The hotel is located in a quiet yet beautiful location.
You can relax and just enjoy your vacantion.

Lunch en dinner always good, no compaints there.

You'll be seeing me again next year!

Thanks to the staff at The Houben !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Tony C,

Thank you so much for your kind review us on Trip advisor . It is the great news to hear that you're coming back for the next year , please email us for the loyalty programme and we will looking forward to serving you .

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We spent two nights at The Houben during our honeymoon in Thailand. This luxury, boutique hotel feels almost like your private getaway (only 15 rooms) among the most beautiful settings of Thailand - it's very modern in design and all the rooms have wonderful view to the sea and the sunset.

Upon arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the staff and specially for our honeymoon there was a CD with romantic music on once we entered the room and the bed was covered with flower petals and heart made of towels, which made us feel quite special.

Our stay was very nice with very friendly and helpful service, very nice swimming pool facilities, good breakfast and, one of the highlights of the place - our own jacuzzi in the room. The area of the hotel has all you could need - a nice beach, very good restaurants and bars (Pad Thai King offers the best Pad Thai we've had in Thailand and Alama has one of the best curries with duck), 7-11 store, massage place and souvenir stores.

As to shortcomings, with South East Asian laid-back culture & attitude, it's extremely hard to avoid those anywhere in Thailand, even at such upscale place like this one. What we found could be better was:
1. English fluency among the staff in the restaurant was so low, that sometimes we were brought other things that we had ordered, e.g. after ordering coffee with hot milk, we were brought two glasses of hot milk and no coffee :)
2. The CD with romantic music for our honeymoon was taken away by the maid during the room cleanup on our second day
3. The reception rents DVDs, which is really nice, but the two that we rented were unwatchable due to scratches on them, which was quite an annoyance.

To sum up, we really enjoyed our stay and are ready to come back to The Houben again. Some shortcomings that I've listed are a normal thing in Asia, however you should be aware of them when selecting such an upscale place where you would expect everything to be perfect.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms (not suites) offer limited privacy, as they have HUGE windows with terraces just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamczan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Kamczan,

Thank you very much for your kind review to Trip advisor and Thank you again for the Houben Hotel could make your stay enjoy . The most appreciate to your great advise to improve the hotel and the service so far . I ve known exactly how far our staff could be and could do . In the last low season they must take the english courses but highly needed to pass the examination with me . Please excuse apologize for the music taken and the movies scratched, for your next return we will improve as my promised now. Kindly email us for your return , the loyalty programme is ready to serve.

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Whoa, an experience we will never forget. We chose The Houben Hotel for our marriage ceremony and it was the very best decision. We had a Buddhist Thai wedding with 5 Monks and it was day to remember...just awesome!

Hathaithip organised everything for us so beautifully and the day was perfect. Walter, the owner could not do enough for us, nothing was a trouble.

Shana, Walter's daughter was so wonderful and friendly and helped make our stay so memorable.

The staff at Houben are all wonderful and the Hotel is one of the most beautiful boutique Hotels that we have ever stayed.

The sunsets were unbelievable.Everything was perfect and it was one of the happiest days in our lives thanks to everyone at Houben.

An experience we will not forget.

Room Tip: There are only 15 rooms and they are all great with awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celebrate2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Celebrate2Day,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us .I am very happy that our team made you were happy during your visit, in particular on your wedding . At the houben hotel we have always believed that our houben team are our greatest asset and it is very gratifying to hear that they managed to meet your expectations on this occassion.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Well note with appreciate that the loyalty package is well prepared to serve our returning guests .

With my best wishes for a very happy festive season.

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,485 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,098 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )

Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £58 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing