We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Houben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Houben Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Key Biscayne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I spent 7 relaxing days at The Houben in the beautiful Koh Lanta. It's a contemporary resort with good amenities but because it's small and quite exclusive, it hasn't the choices you might have in larger resorts. If your goal is to relax and enjoy some quietness like us this is the place. The views of all the rooms are superb, including an amazing sunset. The restaurant offers Thai and International fares and is good, although a little pricey. The breakfast is also good and your eggs are made to order. Again because the Houben is small the service is always personal, warm and attentive. We had some minor inconveniences during our stay that were quickly addressed. We felt really welcomed by the owners and employees. Nearby you have a 7-Eleven, ATMs, cozy restaurants and a few local stores.The walking- distance beach (Ba Kantiang) is beautiful and not crowded. However if you want to have a beach just for you go to the next one- Waterfall beach or Ao Klong Jark- at the very end and I guarantee you'll have a bliss! We'd definitely return to this hotel and the beautiful Koh Lanta.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have very high-ceilings and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Marilene K,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. The Houben Hotel strives on providing a memorable experience for our guests each and every time. Please let us know if you plan on returning to Koh lanta as we would welcome you to stay with us once again.

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    102
    18
    11
    1
See reviews for
41
488
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Westcountry
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Quite a different property as it is very modern and quite functional. That said the room that we had was very spacious and sunny with doors out to a decking area and direct access to the pool. The bathroom was also very spacious with a large shower and Jacuzzi bath. The bed was extra large and very comfortable – unlike most of the hard beds encountered at other hotels in Thailand. The quality of the food and service was very good and for really excellent value it was a short stroll down the road to the Drunken Sailor.
I’m not sure that I am a big fan of the red pool but then I can appreciate how they want to be different. The sunsets from the pool deck were amazing as was the stargazing. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Smartmoney,

Thank you so much for taking the time providing us with some great feedback regarding your recent visit to The Houben Hotel , Koh Lanta and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed yourselves during your stay. It was great to hear that our differentiate were the highlight of your stay .
Thank you for mentioned to our neighborhood , thank you for them .
Please let us know your return to Koh lanta , we are looking forward to serving you .

Warm regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We spent 2 days at the Houben mainly based on reviews from tripadvisor and it is a stunning hotel with incredible views. However it is a solid 4 star hotel and not a 5 star resort. Overall we had an enjoyable but will probably consider other hotels on a return trip to koh lanta.

Pros:
- The rooms are super private, spacious and architecturally beautiful.
- nestled on a hill, picture perfect view of the ocean from room and pool, sunset everyday
- gorgeous rooms, huge beds, comfy pillows
- spa rooms have jacuzzi with view of ocean
- no kids!! so perfect for that romantic get away
- friendly staff

Cons
- water pressure very temperamental, especially hot water, in the hotel guide it tells you how to properly mix the water, which we did, but still did not work properly, often going from hot to cold and back very quickly. On day 1, the water also stopped, so we couldn't use the shower or spa, so a bit disappointing, they spent the whole day fixing it. I think being on a hill probably creates some piping and pressure issues, but for a four-star hotel, water is a basic amenity that they should really consider spending some money on.
- no 24hour room service.
- not terribly helpful when asked to recommend a restaurant in town saying they're all good (which may have been true but after sampling a few, was definitely not the case)
- around 400-500m walk down a hill to the beach, not a big deal unless you wanted a resort right on the beach

Room Tip: Get a room with a jacuzzi - private spa watching sunset and the room has stunning high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear s j ,

Thank you very much, for taking time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that our hotel provided you with the super private room also the beautiful sunset with solid 4 stars . I further appreciate your feedback regarding the water issues , no room service and our staff couldn't bring you enough information to your enquiry during your stay. Please rest assured that i will take your feedback to further enhance our operation in the time ahead. Fix them all by myself , Looking forward to having you back in the nearly future .

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

The Houben is in a magnificent spot nestled between lush green jungle and the deep blue Andaman Sea in Kantiang Bay village.

The Hotel has 15 rooms and a stunning red pool and jacuzzi overlooking the sea. My wife & I often found we had the pool to ourselves which was great!!

Breakfasts were adequate and included a range of cooked options and delicious freshly squeezed smoothies. Shana is a bubbly cheerful host and has the hotel running like clock work. Actually all of the staff were very helpful and always on hand to assist.

We had a room on the top level which was definitely a lot more private. The room was very comfortable and the organic rice body products were quality. Watching the sunsets from our balcony each evening was sensational!! Just a couple of points which the hotel need to address is the mold in the shower and the shower pressure which was inconsistent.

The hotel is a 3 minute walk into Kantiang Bay which is a sleepy, charming, chilled-out little village. The village has everything you need, a 7-11, massage places, shops and authentic cafes (special mention to "Phad Thai Rock n Roll", "Drunken Sailors" and "Alana").

The beach (a 5 minute walk away) is beautiful and so quiet. No-one hassles you and it is simply paradise. Along the beach is ample spots to grab a cold beer or fruit shake, with a special mention to the "Why Not Bar" and "Aqua Bar". For the best panoramic view of the beach and sunsets a visit to the Top View bar / restaurant is a must!!!

Yes this area of Koh Lanta is more isolated, but that's the appeal of the place it is just simply paradise.....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear RJLEN ,

Thank you for the wonderful review and we appreciate the feedback on the water pressure ( the water pipe from the mainland was huge leaking ) also the mold you mentioned . I was in your room after the comment paper to my hand and it wasn't any mold , it was the color mix cement that used for our grey tiles .

We look forward to having you back in the nearly future to The Houben Hotel , Koh Lanta Thailad.
Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed at luxury resorts all over Thailand and this one topped them all. Nice relaxing boutique hotel. Close to nice beaches and restaurants. Watch the scooter rentals in town - thoroughly check the bike before you accept it, they scammed me for damage done by others.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTM155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear MTM155019 ,

Thank you for your kind review to The Houben Hotel . We were so glad to hear that you were enjoy your stay in the small boutique hotel like us . Really do hope that you will return to The Houben again in the nearly future .

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent few days in the houben hotel and had a great time there.
The room was just perfect, spacious, great decoration. The team is very kind and professional. The hotel as a breathtaking view with a magic sunset
Nothing bad to say

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxx R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Foxx R,

Thank you for your kind review to The Houben Hotel . The Houben team was very appreciated to hear that you were enjoy with our service and magic sunset . Please let us know if we can assist with your next trip back to Koh lanta and we all look forward to having you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Overall we loved our stay. Staying in Koh Lanta was so relaxing after the madness of Ao Nang.

Positives

Shana (the owner's daughter) really does her best to make the guests feel welcome. She works hard and she's always around.
Very quiet. The hotel has only 15 rooms and kids below the age of 12 are not allowed. You could sit in the balcony or lie by the pool with no one around shouting and absolutely no noise of sort.
The view from the balcony and the pool is stunning.
The swimming pool is probably one of the best hotel pools I've ever seen.
Our deluxe room, on the second floor, was spacious and comfortable.
Turn down service is a nice touch.
We had our transfer back to Krabi scheduled for 3 PM, but even if we had to check out at 12, we were offered to use the SPA to shower and change. That was great, as it meant that we could still go for lunch and use the pool until it was time to go!

Negatives

High prices. When it comes to the room rates this is understandable and justified given the type of property. However, the prices of any other extra, food and drinks is far above market. We never tried the restaurant simply because of the prices, between 2 and 3 times higher than any other restaurant we visited in Thailand.
The designer curtains are not functional at all. Other reviews mention this as well. If you want to sleep a bit longer or have a nap dying the day, you'll have to do it in a bright room.
We had to pay 600 baht for the transfer from the pier because we didn't book directly. Who books directly through them doesn't pay for the transfer.
We had to make a phone call of one minute to a local clinic and we had to pay 15 baht for it. Given how much we were paying for the room, I found it a bit ridiculous.
Breakfast was just ok. The buffet choice was limited (for example no cheese or cold meats) and the hot dishes lacked of seasoning.
The air conditioning was far too noisy! Luckily we had ear plugs, otherwise it would've been impossible to sleep.

Room Tip: Ideally third floor. Better views and more privacy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ringingup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear ringing up,
Thank you for your kind review to your recent stayed at The Houben Hotel ,Koh Lanta .
And it was glad to hear that you were enjoyed our hospitality , service and you had a lovely stay . We 'd like to apologize that the bright from the sun disturbed your stay during the afternoon .
Beyond anything we never ignored with anything that our customers brought us , they are the chance to develop the Houben to be better for your next return . The same to the air con noise , we are keep trying to fix this with the air con company from Bangkok , really do hope all will be done shortly. Please allow me to explain to the 15 baht that you mentioned , our front office manger and the report of the phone call was shown that the same number to the local clinic were dialed for 3 times in 3 day and .iIf she didn't take any action , she and the staff would definitely be investigated . Please excuse for our staff . The restaurant , we know that our food was more expensive than the local one or even the local market but please compared us to the same standard . By the way , they are nett.-price , and the jasmine rice is compliment with all the main courses thai dishes .
The biggest misunderstanding is the breakfast menu a la carte which all included with the hot dishes listed and cold dish such as salami , gouda , easter ham and etc. available to select
since the hotel opened in 2009 . kindly allow us to have the chance to taking good care of you for the next return to Koh Lanta , Thailand .

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan KanTiang See
Baan KanTiang See
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel

Property: The Houben Hotel
Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Houben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing