We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a very nice hotel, and has some amazing views (I included a pic). Very modern hotel with friendly staff. I loved Kantiang Bay area, with so many good restaurants nearby (Pad Thai Rock n Roll, Kantiang Restaurant) and a 7-11 ;as well to pick up some essentials. The only negative is that the beach is like a 10 min walk away from the hotel (its a few minutes past the 7-11). We rented a scooter for a day for 350 BHT, you can get a cheaper rental from the place across the street, but it was convenient just to do it from the hotel. Btw, Same Same but Different is too far to walk, so you need a scooter to get there, I would highly recommend a scooter for at least one day because cabs arent as frequent down here. Went on a day trip to Ko Rok (1700 BHT per person) and it was awesome, best snorkeling ever. Oh, and try to avoid the rooms on the first floor, our deluxe room was on the first floor and it had a very obstructed view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Houben as part of our Honeymoon in December. From the moment we were picked up to when we left we experienced the best in hospitality. The Houben is a stunning resort; great architecture, fusing contemporary European minimalism and Thai culture and landscape, situated overlooking a beautiful cove.

Our room was incredible. It was located on the third and top floor, with a sea view, which allowed us to view a wonderful sunset every evening. The staff had organised a beautiful honeymoon floral and towel art spread with romantic music in the background. Our room also had a complementary coffee machine, gigantic comfy bed and a hot tub. The range of complementary handmade shampoo and lotion was another nice touch. The pool was a great place to relax too.

We ate at the Red Alert every night, the on site restaurant. Prices were more expensive than other local places, but the food, ambience and service kept us coming back every night. A special mention has to be made for Shana, who was always friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

I recommend the Houben for a romantic getaway or as a place to relax and unwind in calm and beautiful surroundings. I love Ko Lanta and especially Ao Kantiang, and I recommend people get there now before massive development takes place around the village there.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank IanODroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The Houben is a strikingly beautiful property, modern design on a clifftop in Koh Lanta with a layout that makes for incredible sunset viewing. Truly a unique space, with excellent tabeaux from all angles. However, when we were there, the place seemed understaffed and there were several problems which one would not expect from a place this expensive (around US$300/night, booked directly after pricing out online.) The hotel's owner, Walter Houben, has responded to previous Tripadvisor complaints about the sound of the air conditioning and the light through the white curtains, assuring others that these problems would be remedied, and they were not as of Jan 10, 2014. My wife had trouble sleeping with the locomotive-style AC and by 8 am the room was bright as day despite the curtains. Furthermore, our DVD player wasn't working and it took the staff an hour to fix it. The next day, we'd booked mountain bikes, as we wanted to explore the island. They were broken, sent out to be fixed, and not ready until 4 pm. (And even then, not really fixed -- brake pads made contact with rear tire making hills impossible.) Shanna, the owner's daughter, works incredibly hard, but she's running around doing almost everything, and the wait at dinner is interminable. Still, I give the Houben 4 stars because it's a romantic, beautiful place, and the management went out of their way to make up for the deficiencies of the first day.

Room Tip: Air conditioner is loudest on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sethdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear sethdirect,

Thank you for your comments and apologies for the dissatisfactory caused during your stay at the Houben. We do understand your complaint regards the AC's noises and light through the white curtains as well as the broken mountain bikes and do apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We have tried to ensure that our facilities are well maintained for our guests, but there maybe times that we were not aware of the damage occurred especially during the high season (eg. DVD Player, Broken Bikes) where the turnaround of the rooms are very rapid. But we are doing our best to making sure our guests are well accommodated by our service.
The Houben will certainly ensure that your next stay with us will be well served.
Again we apologize for any inconvenient caused and hope that our complimentary as our sincere apologies was acceptable.
We hope to see you again at the Houben.
Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Houben was an amazing hotel which exceeded all expectations. We knew from reading previous Trip Advisor reviews that the Houben was lovely but when we got there we were so impressed with all aspects of the hotel. The service was amazing, all staff were very friendly and welcoming (they worked so hard!), the food was always good and our room had an amazing view. We were so sad to leave...loved The Houben and also Koh Lanta, such an amazing place definitely need to plan another trip back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Angela G ,
Thank you for kind sharing your experience at The Houben on Trip Advisor . It was so great to hear that our food , our view and our staff could make you impressed and wanted to stay with us forever.
Let us know your plan , we will be mostly appreciated to have you back in the nearly future.
Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We arrived at the Houben having just left a 6 star property elsewhere in Thailand, and so I thought no way am I going to be pleased with this property. I was wrong.
The property is simple and beautiful, with a gorgeous view. The rooms are large with lots of storage space, and have all the necessities, the bed huge and very comfortable for a picky sleeper like me.
It's always quiet and there are no kids on the property.
The food at the restaurant was excellent! We had lunch and dinner there, aside from daily breakfast, and found the food to be delicious and of high quality, better than most restaurants we tried in Lanta. The breakfast selection was large and had something for everyone.
Location: The hotel is perfectly situated in the best area of Lanta...the South. It's close to the best beaches, to the national park, and to the best restaurants ("same same" is a must).
Finally, the service is outstanding, yet not intrusive.
The owner's daughter, Shana, is the hardest worker I've ever met!! When we would get up in the early morning, she would already be working at the restaurant. When we would return at night after dinner and drinks, she would still be there!
All our needs were taken care of. The hotel made some great dinner recommendations, and on one occasion the owner even drove us to the restaurant!
The hotel is excellent value for money, and after exploring the island, we have not come across any other properties that we liked better.
Thank you for a great 4 days, the Houben!

Room Tip: pick a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ig4078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear ig4078,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Houben Hotel ,Koh Lanta. It was nice to see our staff took great care of you , our room and food could made you had a great holiday . Hope you had a chance to return to Koh Lanta , you are the most welcome back .


Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Everything about the hotel is perfect.The Houben family make you feel very welcome and go out of their way to make sure you are having an enjoyable stay.The hotel location is perfect only a 5 minute walk from the centre of the village and beach.The drinks and the food are very well priced,slightly more expensive than the village,but of a higher standard and better surroundings.Our stay was so enjoyable,my wife and I are already planning to return to The Houben for next New Year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stoddyOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear stoddyOban,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your recent stay at The Houben Hotel . I am pleased to know that you did enjoy the location of our hotel, our food quality and taste . Thank you for your future plan , loyalty programe is ready to serve .

Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Amazing position. No doubt.
The hotel, new, well structured, is defintely in a wonderful position just above the ocean. Unfortunately it has no private beach but, with a scooter to discover the island is easy.
The food is very good. Breakfast with home made marmelade and "a la carte" eggs and fresh fruit. I had dinner and I've been surprised by the quality and presentations of all the dishes.
If I had to find something wrong, I would say two things: a/c in the room and the price.
a/c is more or less impossible to adjust: too cold and very noisy or switched off.
the price a bit high in terms of services: in 6 days they never changed blankets.
and, for example, they made me pay the insect spray available in the room!!
Anyhow, I would suggest definetely this structure for an amazing stay in Koh Lanta.
A special thank to all the personnel: kind, fun and reserved.

Room Tip: ask for at least first floor rooms to enjoy the wonderful view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank superpienza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ), responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear superpienza ,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Houben on Trip Advisor. It was so great to hear that the hotel itself, our house-made jam selection and i won't forget to say Thank you to our chef for the food presentation & taste . Regarding to the A/C , I and our team has just fixed this issue that you 've addressed . Please return to the same room and let me know how progress it is . By the way ,
the issue you've mentioned will be in term of the meeting with our team today . But in our room report , please be rest assured that we continually refreshed them , based on a comfortable , fresh and luxuries stay to our guests. Also there is the complimentary insect spray available for use at the restaurant and the reception. But if you 'd like to take home , we also provide it to buy .
Please let our team send you the loyalty programe , you 're the most welcome to The Houben HOtel .
Warm Regards,
Walter Houben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,488 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,099 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )

Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £60 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing