We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Houben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Houben Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“best hotel ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We liked it so much we've extended our stay for 2 more nights... and then we were sorry we didn't extended it to 3 more! This is our first time in Thailand, so we've forced our selves to check out in order to explore more of the land, other wise we would have spent our whole vacation here. What I liked the most? Everything! The decor: sort of combination of modern minimalism and primitivizm done with excellent taste. Every detail thought of, starting from rooms design facing the gorges view and ending with cute wooden spoons :). The food in RedAlert is excellent, better then in other restaurants we've tried so far, and they are very careful to make it healthy: even french fries are not oily! Keep in mind, they make it a little more on a spicy side, compare to usual Californian Thai. The staff is super friendly and helpful, speaks English.
In general, very nice hotel, friendly relaxing atmosphere, quite and secluded.
We'll sure come again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    102
    18
    11
    1
See reviews for
41
486
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Starting at best service support... lovely owner took me and my friend at Krabi airport with a sweet smiling... That is the first impression... We were arrived hotel afternoon with great welcome drink. Room are very model and nice, big bed , bathroom with jacuzzi for a sweet couple. Big red swimming pool and jacuzzi build-in, this is another my favorite one. But the best is red alert, restaurant of the hotel where Belgian beer and cocktail are good taste... Thai food are very very delicious here. Nice and gentle staff are always waiting for support all the time ... Best impressiveness you will get from The Houben...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nipaporn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We came back to the Houben again - why change a good thing right ? Going with our travel planners at andaman adventures' room recommendation and great price offer, we went for a privilege suite (top roomtype) this time, and wow ! we had our own villa with terrace directly overlooking the ocean and a private jacuzzi from where we watched the sunsets. the staff was attentive and friendly, just like last time. really, why change a good thing - we are coming back, adn we're getting that villa/suite again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrymarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

When we arrived at The Houben Hotel , we got a warm welcome of all the front staff.
First impression when walking up the stairs, seeing the view was Amazing!!
The rooms are beautiful and clean.
I ordered lobster for my wife her birthday , the cook made it delicious Thai style!
We would recommend this place to all people that wanna relax and just enjoy the view

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk_vrints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in April with my girlfriend.

Everything was perfect, from the greeting, to the room and facilities.

The red pool is awesome and the view out from the terrace is stunning.

Our room was on the top floor and was amazing. We had a hot tub and balcony plus a huge bed!

It's a short walk into a little town with a 7/11 and a few other shops. Just by the beach is a great little bar called the "Why Not" Highly recommended!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire_pad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear yorkshire_pad ,

Thanks so much for such a nice note about your stay with us at The Houben Hotel , Koh Lanta . We

really appreciate you taking the time.

It was nice to see you enjoyed our huge bed and hot tub on the top floor found it great view . I tend

to agree!

Please note to top floor is first come first serve , let us know any time your pla on returning to Koh Lanta , we would love you with us again .

Sincerely yours ,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand, Asia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was there for my first, wasn't expected much. But when i got there, i just fell in love with the surroundings. I hotel was more than i expected. I took a lot of pictures while i was there. Day and night time was worth every shot!Not to mention the food. I have tried both Thai and Western food.......delicious! Got to mention the room, i couldn't ask for anything else. The room was equiped with everything that i need. If i were in Koh Lanta next time, The Houben will definitely be the place i will staying.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeKoomtong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear JoeKoomtong ,

Thank you for your kind sharing the experience at the Houben on Trip Advisor . Great to read that both the hotel surrounding and our food was worth for you .Hopefully you will return to Koh Lanta again and select the Houben ( again ) to be your get away place. You are the most welcoming .

Sincerely yours,
Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Well-designed hotel with a lovely pool with the sunset over the cliffs. Really nice and helpful staff, who always made us feel attended to. It's a perfect hotel for couples - there's a no children allowed policy making it really relaxing and romantic. We left just as it was getting busier and we liked it more when it was still during "low season", as the hotel was slightly more peaceful.

Breakfast was great. In terms of location, we really liked it as we came here to unwind but it depends what you're after. It's not a party place, it’s more about the laid-back, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. You've got a fair few local restaurants (&bars) in the village by the hotel with some great food and vibe (e.g. Phad Thai Rock 'n' Roll and Drunken Sailor). There is also a 7-eleven super market and places to rent scooters and book tours, if that's what you want. We got a scooter one day and drove around the island, which was great fun! The beach is within 5mins walking distance, and although it might not have the white sand and crystal clear water, it was a lovely secluded beach, where you could always find a private spot just for yourselves. And from the beach, there are several day tours that take you to those paradise islands where you can do some great snorkelling as well! All in all, we would definitely come back!

P.s. in terms of transport to the hotel: if you want to get the cheaper, shared shuttle service (ca 500Baht/person/way) from Krabi airport, ask the hotel to book this for you in advance, as there is nowhere at the airport to book this directly. Instead you get a bus down to Krabi, and then wait up to 1 hour for a shared service to arrive, it’s more expensive plus it wastes your time.

Room Tip: We stayed both on ground floor, which gives you straight access to the pool and the second floor. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank THTH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walterhouben, Owner at The Houben Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear THTH13 ,

Thank you for sharing your perfect stay at the Houben on Trip advisor . We keep attempt and work hard to ensure our valued customers would be enjoy the entire holiday at here . Let us know your next plan to return , you are the most welcome back to The Houben Hotel, Koh lanta again and again.

Warm Regards,

Walter Houben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan KanTiang See
Baan KanTiang See
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel

Property: The Houben Hotel
Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Houben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing