We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still hear.....but?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
waterburry
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still hear.....but?”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We are currently staying at the Houben right now. We were going to book at Rawi Warin (where we stayed last year and loved it) but we came accross The Houben and thought we would give it a try. We were greeted nicely when we arrived and checked in with ease. 
We made it up to our room to find it extremely hot. We understand that conserving energy is important so this didn't bother us too much. However, it took over 4 hours to cool the room down to a comfortable temperature once the Air conditioning was turned on.
The room amenities are supposed to be as follows.....
LCD TV (12 channels with no reception - 6 channels with reception all none english.
DVD player - it has been removed. The wires are here but not the unit.
Fridge - it was located in a cupboard but was not running. I have had to remove it from there and now it sits in our room plugged into a power outlet that works....but now it's an eyesore!
Our bathroom sink fawcett is so loose it feels like it is going to fall apart or off. One of the glass cupboard doors has a huge crack in the glass.....
All of this does not add up to 4 stars. These are the type of standards one might find in a 3 star or less rated establishment. At this point we really feel as though we made a very big mistake by booking The Houben. We will have to have a talk with the management and owner to try and sort these issues out. If we can not be moved into acceptable accomodations we will have to ask for a refund and find a new place to stay.     

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcclspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    104
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
48
509
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
antwerp
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

What a wonderful stay we had at the Houben! It started with our free pick up at the pier by the owners enthousiastic daughter Shana. Whatever we needed, she made it work. All the rooms have a fantastic view over the sea from the balcony. The rooms are spacious, sleek, a beautiful bathroom & a huge rain shower. All designed in good taste & very modern with an Asian touch. Comfortable HUGE bed & free internet in the room (cable).
Shana cooks up the breakfast : you have a choice between continental, American, English... She does a wonderful job. She even made fresh raisin bread one day & puff pastry on the other! It's only 5 minutes walk to the beach & nearby 7/11 store, a few restaurants & you can rent a scooter for 250 Baht/day. The SPA wasn't finished yet when we were there, but I can only imagine it will make the hotel even more perfect. Very friendly staff, a nice open air restaurant with good food. And an impressive infinity pool with a jacuzzi. This is the place for you, if you're looking for a beautiful boutique hotel, a personal touch and relaxing on the beach or at the pool. If we go to Koh Lanta again, we will definately stay at The Houben!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kriscoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

The Houben is just gorgeous! Funky and modern, and completely different to anything else in Ko Lanta. Amazing bathroom with a bath and shower, attentive staff, beautiful pool with jacuzzi - its a must
Very good value too!
The F&B could do with a little help. To be honest I felt they tried too hard to be edgy and missed it a bit. Breakfast was gorgeous, but was so overstyled with nothing really on the plate. Wine was expensive and was just a chic splash in the bottom of a large glass :(
Otherwise it was FANTASTIC!
their Spa is opening soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I can't say enough about this place from the room, to the service, the staff, the food, the pool and the view. The staff was gracious and saw that every need was attended to. My girlfriend and I loved it and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmmoriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

It's really hard to fault this place... spectacular views, great little town, truely amazing food (the best we had in our whole month in Thailand by far), and to top it all off a truely cool bunch of staff that make you feel like part of their family. GO TO THE HOUBEN! YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iDeeAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed for one night after I spotted the hotel from the road and was intrigued by the modern design... it does stand out next to the hotels on the island. I understand, from locals, that it took almost three years to build, and I can understand why. It is very well thought out - only 15 rooms, and every one overlooking the ocean. We almost stayed a second night even though we had another hotel booked the following evening. The fences are clear, so they do not obstruct the beautiful view from the hill. It is not beachfront, but the infinity pool is so beautiful, who cares? It is big enough to do laps. We spent the whole day relaxing. The breakfast the next morning was also good, as were the snacks we ordered in the afternoon, lounging around. We're currently moving to Mexico, and were planning on getting married there, and once we saw the Houben, were reconsidering... at the very least, stay a night to try it out... you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

During my recent visit to The Houben, I just cant but fall in love with the place,the atmosphere, and the service. I can not wait to go back again! It was my first visit to The Houben, though, I can not say anything more but big thumbs up:>
It is situated at the hilltop not too far from the beautiful beach with gorgeous scenery and offshore seaview. It is very private and quiet perfect for a romantic getaway. The beach itself is very serene and tranquil.
The room we got was very spacious, modern chic, high ceiling and super comfortable with super kingsized bed! We got air-conditioning,a fridge, big tv with a dvd player and best of all, amazing view with our own private patio. Did i said outdoor bathtub? Yes! I'm in love:>
The restaurant has open seating so you basically have the outdoor feels to it. It feels very relax and mellow. There were many options on the menu ranged from thai rice soup breakfast to american dinner steak, all but yummy. They also offered room service in case you wanting to stay in and enjoy the sunset from your patio. The staffs offered very friendly and efficient service. I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,454 reviews
10.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,072 reviews
10.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )

Property: The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing