We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok place but overprice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ananda Lanta Resort
Ranked #45 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“ok place but overprice”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

stay there only 1 night we got sea view room which cost us around 70 euro but no wifi !!
swimming pool are nice but full of kids and people that sit there are sit there forever. there are not enough seat compare to the size of the hotel.
breakfast so terrible it not worth it fried egg are on the tray for hr. nothing nice there not even a tea or coffee i'm so disappointed with this price.

the building are quiet old outside but inside had renovate
our shower not have hot water we have to shower in the bath

this place only fine wouldn't recommend to any friends tho.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaistraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    40
    31
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was supposed to be our last hotel on Koh Lanta, the last three nights of our honeymoon, and our most expensive hotel on the trip. We checked in, giggling and happy, and the front desk clerk told us that there was one wifi signal in the lobby and another in our room. Great in theory...but there was nothing in our room. No signal, no nothing. When I went back to the front desk to ask why we couldn't get wifi in our room, the answer was, "you can get wifi here in the lobby." Ummm, that wasn't the question.

Anyway, our room was fine, if you were an eastern European tourist leaving your village for the very first time and staying in a hotel for the first time. Beat-up, run-down, grimy, dirty. Our one and only towel rack was mounted above the toilet, for example, and was twisted out of shape, as if someone had tried to do chin-ups from the toilet and one side had pulled out of the wall.

The hotel has a pool, but...if you travel all the way to this incredibly beautiful Thai island, and you want to spend your days far from the beach, sitting by this pool overlooking a boulevard far from the beach, maybe you could have saved your money on the flight and stayed home.

In the breakfast room, there was a grimy red lump on the floor next to the buffet, like a fallen strawberry jelly from a few days ago, when I arrived as the buffet opened at 07:00 in the morning. I was among the first guests. By the time I left at 07:45, the grimy red lump was still there. Even as more guests arrived, no one cleaned this grimy mess on the floor. Yuk. I told several staff members, and no one seemed to understand that this needed to be cleaned. Under our table were several crumpled napkins from a previous meal. Yuk. No one bothered. The staff sat. No one cared.

I spoke with the front desk, and the manager helped us move to another hotel owned by the same chain, which wasn't much better. Nice service, but better to just clean the messes.

Hotel is good if you just don't care. Management doesn't You might be happy if you don't either.

Room Tip: Try the Lanta Mermaid, just 50 meters up the boulevard. It's clean, and the management cares. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had a massive room and a ginormous double possible triple bed! Stayed for 2 nights with my girlfriend. The breakfast was a typical Thai hotel breakfast buffet. Cereal,yoghurt, fresh fruit, hotdog sausages, ham, scrambled egg, poached egg, eggy bread.... (Someone nearly put us off by saying the breakfast was lame in a review). The beach is a 2 minute walk over the road, through the sister resort and onto a fantastic beach with delicious restaurants. The beach was quiet and sleepy with soft sand and clean, clear blue water.
The hotels pool was a good size surrounded by a row of loungers and sun umbrellas.
We suggest you eat and the Rann restaurant. Best food ever, although a bit of a wait (45 mins) so relax, enjoy the atmosphere and sup some rum and coke.

Room Tip: 1103 was a good, ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Ananda Lanta in a "Sea View" room for 6 nights. It was definitely not busy when we were at the hotel, with maybe 20-30 other guests at most most days we were there.

When we arrived we were told there was free WiFi in the reception area (there was the first night we were there then we were told the next morning that no, there was no free WiFi and our devices could no longer log on without a login). Five days of WiFi access costs 500 baht. Atrociously bad WiFi - constant drop-outs, terribly slow, only accessible by one device for each login you buy. Constant logging in and out. Such a waste of money. Don't bother with it - buy a local sim instead.

The room was spacious and had a balcony facing West, with a view of the sea past the road and trees. The hotel is situated about 3 minutes walk from the beach, across the road. The room balconies have no privacy and if someone is sitting on their balcony next door, they will literally be right next to you (and can also see into your room if you don't close the blinds). There is a nice view of the sunset from the balcony however.

The room had no mini bar, but was equipped with a good sized bar fridge. There was also a safe provided, as well as basic toiletries (shampoo only, bar soaps, cotton buds).

TV didn't have any channels in English the when we arrived (it was raining on Lanta the first couple of days we were there, otherwise we normally wouldn't have minded). A maintenance person was sent up to add an extra cable in which gave us some channels in English. The TV also made a very high-pitched noise when it was on (like when you have tinnitus). We asked them to swap the TV - which they did - but the new one had the same problem.

The room was cleaned each day and towels replaced. Two bottles of water were provided each day.

The staff were friendly, but there seemed to be lots of them just standing around, not doing much. Only a few spoke English well, but they were still able to answer questions. It seems as though they need better training around customer service and hospitality. Our request for late check-out (2pm instead of 12pm, because we were on the late ferry out of Lanta) was denied instantly, even though they really weren't busy or at capacity.

Breakfast was poor. Cheap cereals. Watermelon and pineapple (the only thing I ate from the buffet) each day were good. Fried eggs were all overcooked and sitting in the bain marie for hours it seemed. Omelettes were available in the bain maries, but not cooked to order. No bacon, just processed pork slices floating in water in bain maries, and processed pork sausages. Salad bar and yogurts left uncovered, with flies stuck in the bowls. White and (sometimes) brown toast. Sometimes French toast (sitting in bain maries) with honey. Jugs of coffee and tea kept on warmers. They would have been better off cutting the size of the buffet in half and just providing a few quality items, rather than the awful stuff that was there. Lots of staff floating around, not doing much at breakfast too.

The pool was good and never really busy whilst we were there. There is a massage space next to the pool, however we only saw a masseuse there once. There is no pool bar, however I did notice they were selling drinks in the second lobby near the pool one day. But this wasn't open the next day we were at the pool.

Location is good. Across the road from the beach, shops, restaurants and markets nearby. Plenty of tuk tuks drivers to take you to Saladan for 50 baht/pp.

Next time I'm on Lanta I'd stay down near Kantiang Bay at a beachside resort or bungalows. Ananda Lanta was way overpriced for the level of service provided and the amenities available. You can get a beachside bungalow for the same price, which would be much nice than this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely spend a little more for a higher up sea view room, or deluxe room. Balconies have no pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lempaala, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had a nice and clean room with a sea view balcony. The hotel management should make a little more effort to maintain the conditon and tidiness of the hotel. It´s not terrible but not what we have used to in Thailand. The breakfast was also pretty basic. The pool area was small but nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hekivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

very clean and beautiful rooms especially for the price. Klong Dao beach is just across the street. Great service, cold air conditioner, and breakfast is included. Nice infinity pool perched up on the second floor with great views of the ocean. Our first room smelled a bit like mold, so we were transferred to another room. No Problem!

Room Tip: try and get a room above the pool or above the reception area. rooms on the south end of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at the Ananda Lanta for 11 nights, as we had pre paid prior to the stay - we travelled with another couple and when we arrived we were given adjacent rooms to the left of reception, on the ground floor - my friends immediately had a problem with their room, as it did not appear to have been cleaned and the surfaces were covered with small white insects - the receptionist arranged for the room to be cleaned, but I have to say the cleaning standards remained rather poor for our entire stay. It was also a bit hit and miss whether we were supplied with coffee etc each day, although our friends had no problem with this.
The first night we returned from our evening meal to find that our room smelt unbearably of drains- having holidayed in Thailand a few times previously I am used to this when out and about, but never in a hotel bedroom ! - It was overpowering - I complained about this and the following day both ourselves and our friends were moved to rooms on higher floors, where, although there was an occasional aroma, it was nothing like the smell in the first room.
We noticed that for the rest of our stay, people did not appear to stay in this room longer than an odd night, before being spotted in reception requesting a move.
The rooms are pleasant enough and the bathroom was good with a nice hot shower.
There was a light in the corner of the ceiling in the bedroom which was bright enough for applying make up.
Plenty of storage space - good sized balcony, but no privacy on them - luckily we had lovely neighbours.
Breakfast was fairly good, although there was not very much choice and food often ran out before the end of the breakfast service - we asked for bacon one morning, as it had run out and we were informed that the accountants only allow a set amount to be used - the yoghurt was very good and available most days - no real choice of fruit, same three varieties each day.
The staff were pleasant and the young man who cooked the eggs made every effort to do so to your taste.
There is no hotel bar and I think they are missing out on an opportunity there - it would be nice to have a meeting place at the hotel - the communal areas are very bare and unattractive.
The pool was lovely though and we did not have any problem getting sunbeds and brollies on the couple of occasions we used the pool.
The beach is a few minutes walk across the road and is beautiful - there are no sunbeds, but if you ask in the beach bars they will provide you with deckchairs and a brolly( as long as it is not too windy). You do need to purchase something from them. Our favorite one was the Easy bar and the food there was excellent and very reasonably priced - the staff were lovely and the loo's clean !
The Indian bar next to Easy was a great place for late night drinks on the beach and Pas ( the indian!) does a good fire dance.
For football and a late drink try the Cheeky Monkey bar on the main road, where Bannana, Natalie and the rest will make you feel very welcome - clean loo too! ( not to be confused with the fat monkey, although the food at the fat monkey and the surroundings were excellent and we were made very welcome)
Opposite the Cheeky Monkey Bar there is a helpful travel agency for booking ferries etc - we got a good price for the express ferry to Phuket, which included transport from the pier to Phuket airport - about 1,200 bht each.
Raan on the beach provided us with some lovely evening meals and the staff were very friendly.
Khlong Daow is very close to Saladan which has good shopping and plenty of eating places - we liked Coco's near the pier best, excellent food and extremely helpful people.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor - good sea view from 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Lanta Island Resort
Lanta Island Resort
#36 of 84 in Ko Lanta
105 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#35 of 84 in Ko Lanta
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#34 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andaman Lanta Resort
Andaman Lanta Resort
#75 of 84 in Ko Lanta
180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peaceful House
Peaceful House
#17 of 212 in Ko Lanta
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#36 of 212 in Ko Lanta
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Lanta Resort

Property: Ananda Lanta Resort
Address: 224 Mhoo 3 Thumbon Saladan Ampuer Krabi Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ananda Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ananda Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing