We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ananda Lanta Resort
Nearby Hotels
Lanta Resort(Ko Lanta)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Bay Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Chalet(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$103
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$509
US$495
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Lanta(Ko Lanta)
US$90
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
30
45
32
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
45
32
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotela deluxe sea view roomklong dao beachphi phiwould stay againlong beachbreakfast buffetrooms are cleanstayed nightsnice beachwifipoolsaladanlantapierthailandisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

stay there only 1 night we got sea view room which cost us around 70 euro but no wifi !!
swimming pool are nice but full of kids and people that sit there are sit there forever. there are not enough seat compare to the size of the hotel.
breakfast so terrible it not worth it fried egg are on the tray for hr. nothing nice there not even a tea or coffee i'm so disappointed with this price.

the building are quiet old outside but inside had renovate
our shower not have hot water we have to shower in the bath

this place only fine wouldn't recommend to any friends tho.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaistraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was supposed to be our last hotel on Koh Lanta, the last three nights of our honeymoon, and our most expensive hotel on the trip. We checked in, giggling and happy, and the front desk clerk told us that there was one wifi signal in the lobby and another in our room. Great in theory...but there was nothing in our room. No signal, no nothing. When I went back to the front desk to ask why we couldn't get wifi in our room, the answer was, "you can get wifi here in the lobby." Ummm, that wasn't the question.

Anyway, our room was fine, if you were an eastern European tourist leaving your village for the very first time and staying in a hotel for the first time. Beat-up, run-down, grimy, dirty. Our one and only towel rack was mounted above the toilet, for example, and was twisted out of shape, as if someone had tried to do chin-ups from the toilet and one side had pulled out of the wall.

The hotel has a pool, but...if you travel all the way to this incredibly beautiful Thai island, and you want to spend your days far from the beach, sitting by this pool overlooking a boulevard far from the beach, maybe you could have saved your money on the flight and stayed home.

In the breakfast room, there was a grimy red lump on the floor next to the buffet, like a fallen strawberry jelly from a few days ago, when I arrived as the buffet opened at 07:00 in the morning. I was among the first guests. By the time I left at 07:45, the grimy red lump was still there. Even as more guests arrived, no one cleaned this grimy mess on the floor. Yuk. I told several staff members, and no one seemed to understand that this needed to be cleaned. Under our table were several crumpled napkins from a previous meal. Yuk. No one bothered. The staff sat. No one cared.

I spoke with the front desk, and the manager helped us move to another hotel owned by the same chain, which wasn't much better. Nice service, but better to just clean the messes.

Hotel is good if you just don't care. Management doesn't You might be happy if you don't either.

Room Tip: Try the Lanta Mermaid, just 50 meters up the boulevard. It's clean, and the management cares. This place...well, it's fine if you've got a family, and you just gotta take them somewhere, and you just don't care. They don't care either.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had a massive room and a ginormous double possible triple bed! Stayed for 2 nights with my girlfriend. The breakfast was a typical Thai hotel breakfast buffet. Cereal,yoghurt, fresh fruit, hotdog sausages, ham, scrambled egg, poached egg, eggy bread.... (Someone nearly put us off by saying the breakfast was lame in a review). The beach is a 2 minute walk over the road, through the sister resort and onto a fantastic beach with delicious restaurants. The beach was quiet and sleepy with soft sand and clean, clear blue water.
The hotels pool was a good size surrounded by a row of loungers and sun umbrellas.
We suggest you eat and the Rann restaurant. Best food ever, although a bit of a wait (45 mins) so relax, enjoy the atmosphere and sup some rum and coke.

Room Tip: 1103 was a good, ground floor room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Ananda Lanta in a "Sea View" room for 6 nights. It was definitely not busy when we were at the hotel, with maybe 20-30 other guests at most most days we were there.

When we arrived we were told there was free WiFi in the reception area (there was the first night we were there then we were told the next morning that no, there was no free WiFi and our devices could no longer log on without a login). Five days of WiFi access costs 500 baht. Atrociously bad WiFi - constant drop-outs, terribly slow, only accessible by one device for each login you buy. Constant logging in and out. Such a waste of money. Don't bother with it - buy a local sim instead.

The room was spacious and had a balcony facing West, with a view of the sea past the road and trees. The hotel is situated about 3 minutes walk from the beach, across the road. The room balconies have no privacy and if someone is sitting on their balcony next door, they will literally be right next to you (and can also see into your room if you don't close the blinds). There is a nice view of the sunset from the balcony however.

The room had no mini bar, but was equipped with a good sized bar fridge. There was also a safe provided, as well as basic toiletries (shampoo only, bar soaps, cotton buds).

TV didn't have any channels in English the when we arrived (it was raining on Lanta the first couple of days we were there, otherwise we normally wouldn't have minded). A maintenance person was sent up to add an extra cable in which gave us some channels in English. The TV also made a very high-pitched noise when it was on (like when you have tinnitus). We asked them to swap the TV - which they did - but the new one had the same problem.

The room was cleaned each day and towels replaced. Two bottles of water were provided each day.

The staff were friendly, but there seemed to be lots of them just standing around, not doing much. Only a few spoke English well, but they were still able to answer questions. It seems as though they need better training around customer service and hospitality. Our request for late check-out (2pm instead of 12pm, because we were on the late ferry out of Lanta) was denied instantly, even though they really weren't busy or at capacity.

Breakfast was poor. Cheap cereals. Watermelon and pineapple (the only thing I ate from the buffet) each day were good. Fried eggs were all overcooked and sitting in the bain marie for hours it seemed. Omelettes were available in the bain maries, but not cooked to order. No bacon, just processed pork slices floating in water in bain maries, and processed pork sausages. Salad bar and yogurts left uncovered, with flies stuck in the bowls. White and (sometimes) brown toast. Sometimes French toast (sitting in bain maries) with honey. Jugs of coffee and tea kept on warmers. They would have been better off cutting the size of the buffet in half and just providing a few quality items, rather than the awful stuff that was there. Lots of staff floating around, not doing much at breakfast too.

The pool was good and never really busy whilst we were there. There is a massage space next to the pool, however we only saw a masseuse there once. There is no pool bar, however I did notice they were selling drinks in the second lobby near the pool one day. But this wasn't open the next day we were at the pool.

Location is good. Across the road from the beach, shops, restaurants and markets nearby. Plenty of tuk tuks drivers to take you to Saladan for 50 baht/pp.

Next time I'm on Lanta I'd stay down near Kantiang Bay at a beachside resort or bungalows. Ananda Lanta was way overpriced for the level of service provided and the amenities available. You can get a beachside bungalow for the same price, which would be much nice than this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely spend a little more for a higher up sea view room, or deluxe room. Balconies have no privacy and if you're on the ground floor people will be able to see in your room when they arrive at the hotel or when they're at the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had a nice and clean room with a sea view balcony. The hotel management should make a little more effort to maintain the conditon and tidiness of the hotel. It´s not terrible but not what we have used to in Thailand. The breakfast was also pretty basic. The pool area was small but nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hekivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews