We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best but without hot water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best House
Ranked #35 of 141 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best but without hot water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The room was nice and clean, Wi-Fi has excellent coverage. Owners were very friendly and the room service was also very good. However we missed a hot shower which would be convenient especially during rainy days and also a free drinking water would be nice, we got used to it in similar types of accommodations. The adjacent area is full of budget backpacker guest houses that can generate a party noise during night.

The beach was very close and one of the best of Ko Lanta thought don't expect to have it for yourself. There is a volleyball down field, where locals play and you can join the game, probably daily around five.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank P4l4di4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    26
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Best House provides good value accommodation just a minute or two from the beach. My upstairs fan room cost 800 baht a night and was clean and spacious, with a balcony that offered a sea view and was a lovely place to enjoy the afternoon breeze. The decor was simple, clean and functional; a very comfy bed, desk/ dresser and wardrobe. The room was cleaned every day The staff were pleasant, and the breakfast (not included in the price) was fine. I would definitely stay here again. The only downside was nothing to do with the hotel itself- the loud 'doof doof' music from Pirate Bar, situated on the beach. On Sundays they go on to the early hours- either join them or bring earplugs.

Room Tip: My room was upstairs, on the left of the corridor. Rooms on the right are probably quieter as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyrelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Best House is less than a 2 minute walk away from the beach.
We stayed in a fan room which was great, excellent bathroom and a balcony to dry wet clothes/towels on.
I didn't try the breakfast there so i can't comment on the food.
The owner was extremely helpful, I'd definetly stay again :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dembirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

our room was an AC with 3 beds which cost 1500 baht a night. We had this room for 4 nights. We felt it was pricey and the room was plain and bland. We had been running around to find accommodation as it was Christmas so we had to take what came or take really poor cheap accommodation. The shower was the only real positive thing about the room and no television. The area we stayed in was very family orientated and as a couple we felt it was not where we wanted to be, whereas Koh Chang or Samui you feel more independence. The prices are ludicrous in some places so eat at roadside and not the beachfront places. There is a very good cheap place called Mon restaurant in Klong Dao which is cheap and the staff are really nice. Bit like eating in a warehouse though. There is the German Bakery as well which is nice but pricey. If you are a couple better to go elsewhere in Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciotog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I think the rooms there were the nicest we had in Thailand. They were clean, had comfortable beds and even a little balcony with sitting area. Even borrowed us extra towels for the beach when we asked them. Only negative point: We felt a little bit observed ... But generally: Very good place to stay & reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna-pitchoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We were offered what we felt was a good price of 9,000 bt here for a month, and they advertise 'excellent' internet, which was important for us during our stay, at an extra price of around 1500 bt or £30. We were also offered a fridge for the price of 1500 a week or £30, which we thought was rather steep (you could buy one for less from a warehouse of supplies up the road on the way to Saladan!) and so we politely declined.

We booked in making it very clear that the proviso was good internet in our room, which we were assured we would receive. The room was large, concrete, so cool, and a tiled floor. The water was cold (we had been told there was no hot in that room booking point) and the fan didn't rotate. (We hadn't been told about that and they never did come to fix it!)

After a couple of days, upon trying to use the internet day to day, it was out of use on some occasions, and went on and off on others, impossible to use. Utterly useless. We fed this back immediately but were not able to organise a refund and a move. They offered us a refund on the internet though, but we were stuck without internet in our room, having booked up the month on the proviso that we needed internet! The owners offered us another internet card option which, feeling a little 'cheated' we were dubious about, but out of choices really, we accepted the offer. Again, it was of no use - no internet in our room.

To begin from a service offering point of view, it looked a welcome change from the bungalows - roomy and spacious and the owners seemed friendly. They serve a breakfast meal, although don't offer lunch or evening meals, however there are lots of good places nearby. The cracks started to show a little in the service from the owners (if they do own it, they may manage it rather than own it, I'm unsure) - when we didn't choose to buy our breakfast there each and every day, we preferred to change it up a bit with some nice places nearby like Somewhere Else (great menu and service) and Suza Hut, (also great menu, great cocktails and service.)

Although we spent plenty (plenty!) of money on cold beers, coffees, teas and water during our stay, it became very clear that the warm welcome was over when we had spent a week or so of having breakfast there every couple of days instead of every day. One of the owners (male owner) oddly began to pretty much ignore our smiles or greetings of a morning, and the other lady was short with us.

We had a female friend to stay early on in our stay, and of course we organised a room at the Best House (this is before we had seen the 'true' service). When I viewed it prior to booking, I was not invited to step in and look around, but more 'shown' the room from the door with the female owner in the way. At the time I thought little of it, I saw what I needed to which was that there was a double bed, fridge and AC, all of which my friend had asked for.

When my friend had arrived, she mentioned to me had I forgotten she would like a fridge, it turned out that the owners had removed it since my viewing. Also the AC wasn't working when my friend arrived. Her room was 1200 bt for the night. We were rather put out with this, it seemed quite a thinly veiled 'cheek' - the lady owner said 'she must have forgotten' when I asked her why the fridge had been removed when I had specifically requested it be there as a proviso of booking. It was as if she was openly taking the mickey. During the 'back and forth' of trying to organise this, whilst we remained very friendly and polite if a little direct having been put out at the sneakiness of it, the lady owner was rude and short, and grudgingly assisted in returning the fridge, it was all quite 'off'. It also turned out that the sink for brushing your teeth etc, was not in the bathroom but out on the balcony! (No wonder I'd not been invited in, we wouldn't have booked the room to send my female friend staying alone, outdoors to brush her teeth and wash her hands in front of an audience of other stayers on the balcony next door!)

We had some issues in our room with ants and cockroaches too, (the gaps under the doors were large and the mesh had come away on the windows). I was bitten a few times whilst sleeping in the room, once I woked up covered (I'll upload some pics soon) and showed the owner, who insisted that it was 'not associated'. She then sent the cleaners in, they were coming every few days instead of every day as we had been told. I would like to say that the girls who were cleaning were all lovely, without exception, very warm and smiley, and helpful. They did a great job too, however the sheets although on the surface of it crisp and white, were sometimes stained with questionable marks when you look a bit closer. Same with the towels. We swallowed that part though - you have to be reasonable if you're paying on a budget - what did we expect for 9,000 month, after all?

I should add here that my friend also saw a rat running through in the kitchen area, which put us off eating there again. On another occasion during our stay, a male friend came to join us and booked a Best House bungalow, and had to leave as he awoke to find a rat in the room!

The service and poor welcome all in all, was beginning to spoil our time unfortunately, everyone else was friendly, at the local eateries, or where we had our washing done, and where we hired our bike. Having spent more time getting to know the many local business owners and locals, reviewing prices and offers, we found a great place just up the way with a fridge, hot water, AC, and a lovely clean room for 11,000 a month (£60 a month more), and a few others similar or of less price and slightly lower quality. We were pleased with the price when we arrived, and we didn't bother looking around much when we could have, but this makes the point that they can't really excuse their behaviour as due to having offered exceptional value in the local market place when they let it to us.

In the end, we decided to leave early, although our friends said they might like to stay in our room. After having a look to see that it was fitting for them, we all went together to see the owners at reception to ask about what would need to happen, who then virtually exploded, letting out a few weeks of built up tension, so it transpired.

They accused us of being underhand about letting our friends see our room before speaking to them - which is ridiculous, you're not told you aren't allowed to have visitors in your room, and if we had planned to be underhand, we could have simply taken some money from our friends and given them our room keys! Rather than go to the reception desk to speak to the owners.

They lady began to shout, in rather an odd, sulky fashion, it was all very bizarre. We, feeling embarassed and a bit bemused, tried to calm things down, we explained that we had come to ask, that was the reason we were talking to them. That if their policy was that we could choose to leave early and we would lose our rental and our friends would have to begin and pay for a new rental, then that's all fine, that's the way it goes sometimes in business, and all you have to do is say so, that's why we came to speak to them, to ask them! They weren't able to take part in a rational conversation at this point though, it was rather heated and unnerving for us, trying to navigate the situation with an understanding of the concept of 'loss of face' - this only lasted about a few minutes but it seemed an age, we just wanted to leave at that point.

By now the male owner was adding his input, how rude we were for not having eaten breakfast each day, and yet still used the area in which it was served - the area which we were told before booking was the communal area, not a restaurant which we shouldn't sit in unless we were eating! And we had no choice but to use the internet there as we couldn't in our room as we had been told we would be able to at booking point.

They said that having taken such a low price for the room when they could let it out by night or week, we should be eating there and not treat it as a home, it was a hotel not a house. (!).
This was all news to us, but explained why the warm welcome had worn out! They didn't offer the room when we booked at 9,000 bt plus an obligation to eat every day at breakfast!

We feel they probably chanced a month booking from us as it was quiet at the time, and then had to turn a couple of bookings away during our stay which they felt may have been more lucrative, well that's business! Sorry! The owners offered us the price of 9,000 - we didn't even negotiate on it, when we usually would, as it seemed a fair price.

Outrageous, and odd. Totally out of keeping with the friendly, warm, laid back and 'drama-free' service we enjoyed elswhere on Lanta. What a shame!

We decided it wasn't worth the hassle and so we politely backed out of the 'set to' and the whole situation in fact, and left to to rent another room elsewhere.

Our tips for this place? Friendly service costs nothing and should be expected as a minimum.
If you stay here, don't stay long, and if you do, ensure you like their breakfast enough to eat it every day. Also don't bother if you need to be online in your room, there's no hope. And keep an eye that you get what you're paying for. Better still, stay at 'Somewhere Else' - we ate and drank there alot and after the debacle we've detailed above, when our male friend left his bungalow, we booked him in here and he loved it, 500 bt a night with hot water and a fan, and lovely people. I'll be writing a great review for them shortly.

I'll add some photo's to this review once they're organised too, showing the bed linen and the mesh coming away, gap under the door, broken fan and etc.

Room Tip: Go into the room and have a good look, try the AC and fridge etc before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KayeLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Owners seem nice on the surface but beware can turn nasty overnight. We rented for a month but were forced to leave early due to intimidation. The reason? We still don't know but seemed to be that they weren't happy having us use the services provided in the communal area and we didn't pay for breakfast every day. We paid upfront so the impact of a fair rate for the room had worn off towards the end and they just wanted rid of us to fill the space with daily paying customers. We were on a working holiday and internet in our room was assured but didn't work despite paying £50 extra for the month for it.

After we saw a rat in the kitchen area at night we thought again about eating breakfast there. We had persistent problems with biting ants and cock roaches in our room. The electricity and internet was always going off.

Try 'somewhere else' instead a genuine family business seconds away who go beyond what you expect, okay the bungalows aren't western with tiled floors but you know what you are paying for and have no unexpected surprises.

It's a shame that a minority of Thai people seem to be very smiley as long as you have your wallet out. We were left shocked by the whole experience and brought an abrupt and unpleasant end to our visit to a beautiful island.

AVOID!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Leaf House Bungalow
Leaf House Bungalow
#51 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonya Restaurant & Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Lanta House
Lanta House
#17 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lanta Baan Nock Resort
Lanta Baan Nock Resort
#63 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lom La Lanta
Lom La Lanta
#14 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta at home
Lanta at home
#6 of 141 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best House

Property: Best House
Address: 5/2 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Best House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Best House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing