We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanta Marina Resort
Ranked #38 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

we came to koh lanta without knowing where to stay and we found this place ... The owner is an amasing person, so friendly and really helpful ... the bungalow is just what we wanted : clean, with a nice bathroom with hot water and a flushing toilet, a perfect double bed with mosquito net and a really nice and comfy balcony with a hammock. So close to the beach that at night, you can hear the sound of the waves ... just like paradise ....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thailandtatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

First the location - if you can get a bungalow with a sea view - which has no extra charge - then you can wake up every morning and watch the sea from your veranda, and lie in your hammock later and watch the sun go down....this couldn't get much better.

The bungalows are pretty, but very rustic....hence the differing opinions - I liked it - it felt close to nature....my girlfriend didn't like the geckos and bugs being able to access the room. Its not that open - but there's nothing you can do about it.

We were in Lanta at the end of the season, but at all times this place is very much at the quiet end of a relatively quiet beach. The service is very good - always eager to help: during our stay we used the laundry service, rented a scooter and moved rooms - all was good and nothing too much trouble.

Once you're there you discover there are cheaper places to stay - whether you'd get the location, solidity of structure and cleanliness I cannot confirm.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mat_Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

What a lovely place! We arrived in Ko Lanta in the off season without a place to stay, looking for simple budget accommodation. The staff were so helpful with everything and the place was superb! Quiet and relaxing right on the beach, comfortable bed with fan and mosquito net and a hot shower.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyBurlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Really liked this place. Checked in for 2 nights, stayed a week.
I've seen some weird complaints on here though. For this price range, they are excellent. No hot water is normal here in this price range. You don't need it.
The huts are gorgeous. Yes you can hear lots of sound. The sea, the crickets etc, and yes, the occasional toilet flush.
The place is great, the staff are super friendly and helpful. The restaurant is great.
Agreed the location isn't the best part of the beache, but not the worst either. And agreed it could do with a little spruce up too, hence the 4 stars. Torn holey mossie nets, a few too many ants, a bit of gecko poo on the nets (not mouse or rat poo as others have said). But all in all great.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guardpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

* Rustic feeling, yet clean and comfortable huts on a beach that in most parts feels way too package-touristy already
* Good mix of families and independent travellers
* Airy huts and proximity to ocean mean air con isn't needed in the winter season
* Nice crew, easygoing attitude; live and let live goes a long way
* Has probably the cheapest (yet tasty) restaurant on Phra Ae
* For Saturday nights try to stay on the far side of the resort (noisy beach bar next door)

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
Thank SeaShantySong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We're leaving from our boungalow and after more than one week I can say: on saturday you cannot sleep because there will be a disco music just on your right ear, during all our journey they never change the bed sheets and on the mosquito nat we had mouse droppings BUT the staff and E are really nice and chind, the location it's good but you have to cross the black water river if you want walk on the long beach...anyway for few days it's ok but one week or more I dont know it's up to you but don't say that I told you so!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Marina Resort is not truly a resort but a collection of large, beautiful, "Thai style" bungalows. They are open air style but with mosquito nets and fanned, and very clean and well maintained. We got a great deal because we stayed 5 nights, and saw a few ants, but the hostess came and sprayed upon request and after that, no more ants. It's at the end of Long beach, so it's almost private with not a lot of traffic. The bungalows have spacious porches with hammocks an ocean views. The beach is a bit rocky with swimmable patches, but a 2 minute walk from crystal clear water and perfect white beach. The massage ladies are very friendly and gave wonderful massages right on the beach. Also, the management was very honest and even returned 2000 baht that I had carelessly dropped in the room..Also the restaurant is great and the bar platforms are perfect for watching the gorgeous sunset. The food prices were less than neighboring restaurants and the food very good. This is a great place to stay in Koh Lanta, highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the bungalows look about the same with an ocean view from the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Resort
Nautilus Resort
#16 of 218 in Ko Lanta
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Soontreeya Lanta
Soontreeya Lanta
#3 of 151 in Ko Lanta
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eco Lanta Hideaway Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Good Days Lanta Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Marina Resort

Address: 147 Moo 2 T. Saladan, Phra Ae Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £8 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanta Marina Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Lanta Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing