We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marina Marina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanta Marina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lanta Marina Resort
Ranked #32 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
melbourne, australlia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marina Marina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Lovely banana leaf huts, very basic, but they have ensuites. No fridge or kettle so tricky if your travelling with young kids. Saturdays there's a 'party' next door @ Korner Bar! I should say a full-on rave party! Super loud music, guys doin burnouts on mopeds!! Fireworks!!! A few years back we would have been partying too!! Avoid Sat if u r concerned about noise, the rest of the 6 days were beautifully peaceful!

Room Tip: Close to the beach or further back if u don't like noise. Avoid Sat if u don't like noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tantilyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    64
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Overall a great experience and the best designed bungalows we stayed in in Thailand. Splendid service and perfect for us (2 adults and 2 kids), and just great with a place that recognize that families want to stay together - not many places in Thailand offer that. And the price were the half of what we paid on Phi Phi Island for pretty much the same. It worked perfectly with the fan, the temperature at night was just right for sleeping, and several nights we didnt even used it.

We had the first bungalow next to the restaurant, which wasn´t great since we are light sleepers, and on saturday there was a party on the ortherwise very quiet bar next to the hotel (other owners), extremely loud. So I would happily go back, but would choose on the bungalows closer toi the reception. The beach is not the greatest due to the small rocks, and can not be used at low tide for swimming, but just walk 200-300 meters to the right, and you have a perfect beach, also for the kids.

If I should evaluate the restaurant alone it would be a 2 out of 5. Very, very slow service and the quality was very varying and they were quite bad at cleaning up the area (while the rest of the resort was spotless). But it was cheap, just on the beach and the pancakes great. And there are many other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berejstDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

If u r starving and it's the only place open to eat: DO NOT GO THERE

Worst food in the whole island...

Tasteless...
Texture is all soupy
The squid is harder to chew than tire rubber.
The macaroni was served in a runny ketch up soup
So disappointed.
We were four and all felt bitterly disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Booked through booking.com, when we arrived our room was not available! Lanta Marina accepted too many bookings. They sent us to a nearby resort which was much cheaper, but the lady/guy from Lanta Marina tried to scam us in to paying the same. Also: it seems a bit overpriced.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarra Ranges , australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Just like 2o years ago , comfy cool clean with fan , thatch-rooved bungalows right by the beach with a cute dining area and close to other areas also including Relax Bay. Saturday nights beware hard core beach party at The Korner bar, but peaceful the rest of the week. Gorgeous hosts and help . Very chilled . Would come back !!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sistermart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were looking forward to stay in Lanta Marina, but were disappointed right after the arrival. First of all, when you arrive, you will see a reception which is room about 3 square meters with two, very unfriendly and suspicious looking staff.

When we arrived we were informed that the hotel was fully booked, even though we had our Agoda booking from more then 5 months ago! After heated discussion about how something like that could happen (by this time about dozen of people with the same problem cumulated) the owner said there is no problem, because they will put us into a very nice hotel just behind Marina.
We have agreed to see the other hotel if the bungalows were nice, and they were. On the way back to the Marina reception, we have asked the other hotel for price of the room that was given to us, and learned that the price is 800 baht per night. We have made our booking through agoda and payed 1800 baht per night in Marina.
After realizing this,we have confronted the Marina manager, wanting to know where the extra 1000 baht per night will go, for which he just stupidly smiled and said nothing.

We have requested to call agoda, they have cancelled our booking with 100% refund, and also they asked us to write them about this experience so they can blacklist Marina from their system.

The owner tried to lie to us that he "forgot" to close the bookings when his hotel got full, but it is more then obvious he is just trying to scam people. We have made our booking almost half a year in advance.

Unfortunately other people just agreed to switch the hotels and so the owner actually managed to scam them and make a LOT of money.

I would NEVER recommend anyone to stay there.

Also the beach is not nice at all, nothing to relax at. We have been all over Koh Lanta and if you want something really nice, still in fine price, check-out riversand resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomino2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fornebu, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you have a limited budget and which to stay at at place close to the beach, this is a good choice. The surroundings offers all you need for your stay.

This also means that there is some noise in the area especially on Saturday nights (the DJ's plays really loud music). The friendlyness of the manager (Ae) is incredible. She fixes and arrange everything you may need. We can recommend trips to the mangrove forest and the 4 islands. Opal Travel was an excellent trip operatior, and we ordered the trips via Ae.

Relax bay is within a short walking distance (nicest beach in the area!).

Room Tip: The bungalows are equipped with what you need and the balcony with the hammocks are nice in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaffelars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Resort
Nautilus Resort
#12 of 203 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Soontreeya Lanta
Soontreeya Lanta
#4 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pinky Bungalows
Pinky Bungalows
#7 of 203 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#4 of 203 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Marina Resort

Property: Lanta Marina Resort
Address: 147 Moo 2 T. Saladan, Phra Ae Beach (Long Beach), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanta Marina Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lanta Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing