We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cook in Thailand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Round House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Round House
Ranked #16 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best cook in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

OMG where to start?!
I spent 3 weeks traveling through thailand and the food at Roundhouse was by far the best. NOK cooks amazing meals. our bungalow was gorgeous and really gave us the feeling of being in thailand. the beach is beautiful since the NEW owners Nadia and Paul spend an hour every morning collecting the trash that has been washed in. I really recommend you to try the pineapple-coconut shake- its great.
The place is SUPER cheap and you really get a lot out of it.

Room Tip: if you want a perfect view- choose the beach house. its amazing. for all other rooms it does not mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savvy2406, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words, yes we are very proud of our fantastic staff and the great food they are spoiling us all with every day. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to greeting you here with us again.
Paul and Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    33
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
93
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Positives:
Great value for money (400 bt a night, low season)
Fantastic position, right on the beach.
Beach is extremely quiet, amazing sunsets.
Cute bungalow. Got character, basic with ensuite.
Great chill out area with bean bags etc overlooking the beach.
Couple who owns it welcomed us with smiles, enthusiastic about the area, were open to chat and created a relaxed atmosphere.
Lovely breakfast (museli, fruit and yoghurt)
Good restaurants along the beach close by.
Rented a scooter next door.

Not so good things:
Got bitten A LOT, so mosquito repellant is much needed.
It was low season and very wet, so was extremely quiet. We left earlier than we would have liked due to the storm. So not much to do when it's wet and the atmosphere in the nearby restaurants was lacking as we didn't really see anyone else except the staff.
Drinks slightly over priced compared to other places nearby.
Creepy crawlys in the bungalow and noisy at night with rain, wind and sound of waves. But to be expected as you are on the beachfront.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cluelessduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savvy2406, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words, Yes, low season is a very quiet time to travel to Koh Lanta and many of the places here are closed but Paul and I love this season and the quiet time it brings...look forward to seeing you again (don't forget the mosquito repellant:))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

So, this is actually the first review i write even though i have stayed in hostels and resorts all over. My girlfriend and i were browsing through tripadvisor to find a nice, cheap room in koh lanta. we loved the place right after walking through the entrance. the first thing to see is the bar/ restaurant with lovely furniture and eye for detail right at the beach. the round house only has 3 bungalows, a beach house and the big round house where the owners live during low season. the atmosphere was stunning. the owners mixed and mingled with the guests, sat together with us in the evenings playing cards until dawn. the cook was incredibly good. she would sit with us for a few minutes before every meal to ask what we fancy and if we wanted to try this or that. the food seriously was bombastic each and every time. we arrived with a friend who had not booked before and was just going to try his luck. sadly there was no room left for him but the owner Nadia just asked him for his budget and walked next door to ask if they had a room. he was offered to stay there and come over any time he wanted. the beach is great; we even saw the owners walk around with trash bags to collect waste which had been brought in by the sea. the rooms absolutely have flair, each with a small veranda.
having traveled through north and south Thailand for 3 weeks and ending up here it was unbelievable what you can get for small money

Room Tip: beach house is closest to the beach and thus has the best opportunity to watch the sunset. however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savvy2406, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your kind words, we loved having you here and hope very much that you will return to us.

Paul and I have made some changes and now have 2 new Bamboo Bungalows, in all now we have 5 Bamboo bungalows, the Beach House and the fantastic spacious Round House, we have used our low season to renovate and make changes in staff, and are now very proud of our new cook who loves to go to the market and see what he can get fresh and offers us daily specials that blow us all away:)
Return to us soon and try it out, we are sure you will love it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at the Roundhouse in February 2013. This place was the highlight of our 3 week trip around Thailand. The new owners Nadia and Paul were so welcoming and made us feel like the place was our home. We stayed in the actual roundhouse which was huge and had plenty of space to put all our things and had a hammock out on our own private balcony. The room had exposed vaulted ceiling which as beautiful and very romantic. The place is right on the beach and is in the centre of all the other resorts so you can easily walk to other restaurants and bars along the beach. However, the food that Nok cooks is the best that we ate in Thailand and hence we ate many a meal here. You don't have all the creature comforts that you do in some of the other hotels in Thailand but who cares when you are on the beach with such lovely people and great food. We absolutely loved this place and will be back for another round of buckets :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Cozy place with neat bungalows, amazing view and great atmosphere!
Super-friendly mixed staff will take care of all your needs and make you great cocktails at sunset (happy hour :-)
Excellent location, amazing beach and they even have free inflatable mats and paddle boards.

Even if you are not staying there, recommended at sunset for cocktails and company.
If you're looking for a friendly place on Lanta then you've found it, enjoy!

Room Tip: Out of the 3 see view bungalows,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cashewfenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at Lanta Roundhouse in a bungalow with private bathroom. We stayed four nights on our honeymoon in Krabi. The location was very good and the beach lovely. The restaurant's cook was amazing and there was a travel agency right next to the place if you got bored with the beach.

The only downside on the place was that some of bungalows were very close to the road which had a lot of traffic even in the night time. Nothing some earplugs didn't take care of, but if you're a very light sleeper, this might be an issue.

The owners of that time were very friendly and overall wonderful, kind thanks and greetings to Magnus and Malin. I sincerely hope the same friendliness and helpfulness we experienced stay as the core of Lanta Round House.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundbyberg, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Round house Lanta is paradise, heaven on earth. The wonderfull staff, the great food from Nok and the cozy bungalows made this the best vacation ever. The staff makes every day full of joy, laughs and smiles, and the new, lovely owners Paul and Nadia is really the nicest, warmest people ever and we can't wait to get back to see them all.
The beach is very private and not crowded at all, and the water is really beautiful. If you wanna go diving or fishing, the boats picks you up right on the beach, 10 meters from the Round House. And next door from the resort you have a really great travel agency that can take you any where around the island or the world, for the best prices.
There is so much personality here and so much fun, and the service is really the best you can get.
You can't wish for any more!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.9 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#35 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#43 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.2 mi away
Baan Rim Lay
Baan Rim Lay
#7 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round House

Property: Round House
Address: 112 Moo 6, Ko Lanta 81152, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocome to our nice beachfront resort on the beautifull beach Klong nin. If you like a total relaxed place with superb food direct on the beach, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Round House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing