We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Round House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Round House
Ranked #15 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Round House! Nadia and Paul were super helpful and we loved how relaxed the vibe was. They are located right on the beach and at night you can hear the sound of the waves lapping at the shore - bliss!

We were lucky enough to have the roundhouse for most of our stay - we were booked into a bungalow for the second half our stay, but another guest left the roundhouse unexpectedly so we swooped before it could get snaffled up again! We loved spending lazy afternoons in the hammock on the deck, listening to the sunbirds in the hibiscus. If you're a light sleeper it's worth mentioning that the roundhouse can be a bit noisy as it's right by the road, but the noise dies down after about 10/11pm. It's open, airy, very spacious and so very charming! We thought it was hilarious that the dogs join in with the morning prayers - it all added to the charm of the place and we wouldn't have changed a thing.

We had no problems at all with safety, privacy etc and were happy to sleep with our doors and windows thrown wide open to let the sound of the beach in. If you're lucky the cat may come in to warm your feet in the middle of the night! She's off again before sunrise though (cupboard love!). There is a mosquito net but we never found the need to use it - there weren't many mozzies around and the few that were there were kept away by the fan :)

The bar is lovely and open, with its sand-covered floor and amazing view of the sea. We spent a few long relaxing mornings playing with the board games while trying to decide what to do with the rest of our day. The food is really good too! Nadia and Paul also provide drinking water for guests to refill their water bottles with - great for limiting the number of plastic water bottles thrown away.

All in all a wonderful, relaxing stay on an amazing beach in an amazing little part of Thailand. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

- Hayden & Selina

Room Tip: Definitely book the roundhouse if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hs_fushnchups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi there and thank you for your kind words, Yes the round house is a very special and charming room, many who have stayed there have not wanted to leave and like you enjoy the very special feeling the room gives with its high vaulted reed roof (it's our favorite as well:))

There is sometimes the problem for light sleepers as it is close to the road, ear plugs help or a couple of happy hour special cocktails to end the evening also do the job.

We hope you had a good trip home and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Nadia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    33
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
93
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We found Roundhouse just walking down Klong Nin main road and fell in love with this peaceful place right away!!

When we got here all bungalows were fully booked but the owners offered us to stay in the open bamboo houses right next to the bar. Sleeping right next to the beach was an awesome experience!

We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and nice views on Klong Nin Beach.

Shared bathrooms were perfectly clean. Food and drinks are also very nice and affordable.

We met very nice people, felt welcome from the start and would definitely come back!!!

See you soon
Rebecca, Lea, Detta & Freya

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FreyaSteffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us and we are so glad you enjoyed our new bamboo sala's open stay;)

We look forward to seeing you again.

Greetings
Nadia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I close my eyes to find a place
In different time and different space
And in imagination find
A cloistered arbour for my mind
Where thought may there be unconfined

Then in my dreams a path I take
As in a trance, yet wide awake,
To see the world with open eyes
Its glist`ning sands and azure skies -
I take a walk through Paradise

Simone, Jem, Sally and Alex xx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Simone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
WOW......Thank you, we are touched!!

It was an absolute pleasure having you all here, it makes us feel great to see that our efforts touch people in such a way that tears come on departure, and enjoy so much that we are attracting guests/friends, that live our little peace of paradise and enjoy it as much as we do.

We look very much forward to your next visit and hope you had a safe journey home.

Nadia and Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

So nice atmosphere in this place, and the location is absolutely perfect! Really friendly staff and nice sunset bar. We had the round room (?) and it was spacious and clean, maybe bit noisy, but well worth of the money we paid (1000 baths/per night) we had lovely stay, and sorry about the hammock :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kekki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi there and thank you for your review and NO we are sorry about the Hammock, which, by the way is back up and awaiting your return;)

We love our Round House room, a great space with high straw ceiling and surrounded by a wooden balcony, it can get loud from the road and sometimes, depending on the wind direction, it can feel like the 'Morning Prayer' is taking place next to the bed...but hey it's original and Thailand and we do have ear plugs for the light sleepers;)

We hope you had a good trip home and look forward to your return.
Paul and Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Just completed two month trip around SE Asia and Roundhouse on Lanta was the best place i stayed on the entire trip. First of all location, not only right on the beach but on the best part of the best beach on Lanta. Also, the friendliest owners and staff (Steve) you will ever meet. Nadia and Paul treated me like family (maybe better...I paid my bill). During my stay can't tell you how many time I would be sitting at the bar and someone would walk up looking for a room and of course the Roundhouse was full but instead of just turning the person away Paul or Nadia would call another resort to check on possible vacancy...I will be back...thanks

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Paul and I know what its like when the island fills up and rooms are difficult to find and walking around with backpacks and luggage in the heat is not the ideal start to a well earned holiday;) All are welcome to stop off at our place, have a cool drink and leave their luggage with us if we're full to continue their search, we get to hear from friends and other resorts what the room situation is like so we do our best to help out.
We now have two Sala's, open bamboo huts where many have stayed when there is no other rooms around....all adds to the fun of the place.
Hope to welcome you again here.
Greetings
Nadia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

There is nothing to make you feel quite like you are on a beach holiday than stepping out of your bungalow and feeling sand. This is what you get at Round House, along with a great view of the beach and the water about 20m immediately outfront. It was delightful to wake up, open my door, immediately see & smell the sea, wander a few metres (in my case from Bungalow 2 about 10m) then sit sipping on an excellent morning filtered coffee to start planning my day. For those so inclined you could sit, or lie in the restaurant/bar area, immediately overlooking beach all day & night, or there were a few deck chairs & umbrellas on the on beach. Excellent beach for safe swimming or wandering (for some more athletic running!) up & down.
Don't book at Round House if you want to be where you can hear nothing but the lapping of the waves, or if you want AC, and other extras that you expect in a 3*+ place As others mention everything is quite close and the bungalows are simple bamboo constructions so yes you can hear others talking and laughing over a few drinks
at night. If you are a light sleeper &/or someone who likes to go to bed early then maybe this is not the place for you. It was definitely not a loud noisy music scene when I was there for 4 nights. I am not young, I am a light sleeper, and I do often find it difficult to get to sleep so I simply use gel earplugs that work fine. Nadia & Paul were attentive hosts & Nadia's local restaurant suggestions were fantastic. Make sure you cross the road to Shanti Shanti & Nadia will tell you were to find Yang. Definitely recommend if you are looking for simple bungalows, in a beautiful position with an excellent beach

Room Tip: Beach bungalow if you want to step straight onto beach , want something bigger & with a few extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello there, thank you for taking the time to review us and for your comments. We are a small resort in the finest location on Klong Nin beach, our Bungalows are small and cozy, authentic Thai bamboo huts on our small patch of land.

Paul and I took over the Round House only a year ago and love the place, we make a big effort to keep it clean and tidy and welcome all and any suggestions on improvement.

High season, between November and end of April, sees the island explode with tourists and holiday makers and we do our best to accommodate the huge variety of travelers, with their individual expectations and needs, who pass through our home.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Wonderful staff. Lovely, relaxing place to be - not only for backpackers. Good price/value. The beach around here is great - some say the best on Lanta. This was my favourite place to be so far in Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi there thank you for taking the time to review us. It was great to meet you and we look forward to your next visit.

Yes, Klong Nin is renowned for being the best beach around, we love being here and receiving guests who appreciate the wonderful environment.

Greetings
Nadia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.9 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#35 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#43 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.2 mi away
Baan Rim Lay
Baan Rim Lay
#5 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round House

Property: Round House
Address: 112 Moo 6, Ko Lanta 81152, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocome to our nice beachfront resort on the beautifull beach Klong nin. If you like a total relaxed place with superb food direct on the beach, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Round House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing