We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Bliss”
Review of Round House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Round House
Ranked #17 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beachfront Bliss”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stumbled across the Roundhouse while wandering down Klong Nin beach - arguably the best beach on the island. The beach offers pristine sand, exciting waves and a range of great little beachfront restaurants. It's got a fishing village feel to it and throughout my travels all around Thailand, it is one the best for swimming. Initially I was drawn into the Roundhouse by the cool beach bar, but eventually opted to rent the beach front room for a few nights. A room, which if situated any closer to the beach, might have offered a mermaid experience.

The soothing sound of waves crashing eased me to sleep each night, while the hosts Paul and Nadia provided pleasant conversations thoughout my stay. They are both really kind and personable, and the rest of the staff keep up. They serve excellent variations on classic Thai dishes and the modest price for everything from a beer to the room made this an incredible find in Ko Lanta. For the budget traveller, they also have a series of smaller bungalows that were nicely constructed and well maintained.

Room Tip: Beachfront or bust! Aircon if you need it. Fan if you don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonypappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us.

Yes Klong Nin Beach is one of the best and even in what they call 'Low Season' guests can enjoy perfect beach days.
We especially enjoy having time to get to know our guests in this quiet time and hope you had a good trip and look forward to your return.

Greetings
Nadia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    34
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
94
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great rustic location. From the moment we arrived - we kicked our flip flops off!! And they pretty much stayed off whilst we were there!The bamboo bungalows are so cute and as other reviewers commented, truely authentic. But most of all the owners and staff are wonderful. We were made to feel totally at home and totally relaxed. Nadine and Paul are great fun and great hosts. Sit with a cocktail and watch the amazing sunsets in a wonderful chilled environment! Or chill in a hammock!!!! Food wonderful too. Will definitely recommend it and would love to go back some time. Wonderful!!!

Room Tip: only a small number of rooms - I would say the beach house if you can get it is the key one to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are so pleased you loved our place and enjoyed your time with us...next time your here we will have some new cocktail concoctions to try out on you:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Round House is an absolute gem on the island of Koh Lanta , the rustic authentic bamboo Thai style bungalows are beyond paradise , the location on Klong Ninbeach is way way beyond paradise , the beach is footsteps from the bar and huts ,the beautiful ocean is in full view all day , even at low water well beyond paradise . The owners Paul , Nadia and their staff ,especially Steve are wonderful hosts , lovely people and great company and fun , nothing is ever a problem . The garden has a lovely ambience , rustic bar , sublime cocktails , amazing sunsets and you are made to feel very welcome what ever time of the day . All in all Round House is an amazing place to stay or visit for the day , beyond paradise , cant wait to return Thank You .

Room Tip: All the photographs tell the truth .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us.
It was as pleasure having you with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Klong Nin was a gem of a find on koh Lanta, & when I stumbled onto a hammock at The Roundhouse whilst travelling in November 2013 I knew I had to come back. So feb this year I returned. As once you've stayed you won't want to leave. The rustic simplicity is utterly breath taking. Been home a month & I still visit there every night in my dreams. Thank you Paul & Nadia for your laid back smiley hospitality. Much appreciated in this world of stress & demanding individuals. I will be back. :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katietrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we can't wait to see you again here...next time you won't escape from the RH tattoo:-) Round House is not just a business for us but also our home and we love sharing it with the free spirits that come through our doors.
You are always welcome.
Nadia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was all by my lonesome, first time on Lanta and soooo thrilled that I stumbled across The Round House. With it's cute authentic Thai style huts and lovely staff, Who really made my holiday a top one! So much so that I came back not long after with my little girl for our annual escape from Chiang Mai smoke...Now it really is a home away from home for us both! Nadia, Paul and Steve welcomed us in like family, gave me wonderful advice on boat trips, places to visit and fun nights out! They have lovely breakfast and lunchtime food and some other great restaurants less than a stones throw away for dinner! Their cocktails are lush...the best on Klong Nin beach for sure, with a sweeeeet choice of music to set the mood...(wouldn't go anywhere else at sunset... Pure heaven)... Really loved our holiday thanks to these guys and we will definitely be back asap! Love, light and peace to all Claire and Bonnie

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope your next visit will be very soon, we have plans to make some changes here to make it even more comfortable and homely...We should be done by the time you get back:-)
Greetings,
Nadia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Roundhouse was definitely the best place i stayed on my 4 week travels round Thailand.Klong Nin was my favorite beach on Koh Lanta, great for swimming, has great bars and restaurants, white sands, not too busy but still has some atmosphere at night for hanging out and drinking cocktails. Paul also happens to make the best Mojito i had while in Thailand. I was lucky enough to stay in the Roundhouse which is a wonderful room, lots of space, balcony, great views and perfect for me when i needed to catch up with a little bit of work back home. Would definitely love to set up my office there for a month one day. Nadia and Paul are extremely welcoming, you feel like your part of the family while there. The place is very clean, the atmosphere is homely and has that personal touch being a small resort. Best wifi on my trip which is always a bonus for me. It's right on the beach and hanging in the bar and chatting with the friendly crowd that pass through was a pleasure with the beach a stones throw away. I was only supposed to stay a couple of nights but stayed for 4, could have easily stayed for longer but was determined to drag myself away and get to see another island before my trip home. A very relaxing and welcoming place to be, i will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLiquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi there and thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words...

Yes the Round House room has proved to be the place to be!! We lived in there for the first Season and loved it, the Spacious room and high thatched roof, wooden floor and surrounding balcony all make for a dreamy special place to relax in...write in...work in and love in;)

We are open all year and look forward to all travelers giving and receiving inspiration in this beautiful space.

Greetings
Nadia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Think, it's a nice place, if you get there. We enquired via email one week before getting to ko lanta and got an offer for a room, so that we sent our booking confirmation to them. We hadn't got any confirmation mail back and it was finally only one day left to our arrival,so that we asked, if everything was ok with our booking. But they only sent us an email telling us that they were fully booked. Perfect. We had to phone to lots of other places before finding another accomodation (it was chinese new year and the island was getting fully booked). That was exhausting and frustrating. Instead of an apology they only repeated that they were fully booked and that we would have to hurry up finding another accomodation because the island was getting crowded. They never apologized for having forgotten to book us in. Thank you very much Roundhouse! That is unprofessional!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElephantP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia S, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi there, what can we say except that there is a first time for everything.

Normally we send a deposit request with our confirmation, alternatively we send recommendations of other resorts in our area if we are full or we suggest travelers make their way to us and while enjoying a cold drink we will call around and find them a room ourselves...if none of this happened then we are truly sorry.

We hope you did have a good stay on Lanta anyway.

Greetings,
Round House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
4.9 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,454 reviews
4.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nik's Garden
Nik's Garden
#10 of 146 in Ko Lanta
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,023 reviews
0.8 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.1 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round House

Property: Round House
Address: 112 Moo 6, Ko Lanta 81152, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocome to our nice beachfront resort on the beautifull beach Klong nin. If you like a total relaxed place with superb food direct on the beach, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Round House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing