We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most friendliest adn honest with large portion of really delicious food never have i been so impressed .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonya Restaurant & Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 175 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2011

the food is great the rooms are comfortable and the kindness and efort they gave was beyond words . the best place ive come across in a long time .i have traveeled for many years and its great to find a place like this .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universe297930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2011

The previous review about the passport being held for ransom is pretty much exactly the same situation I had. I rented a motobike for 3 days, had not one tiny accident (thankfully) nor did the bike ever hit the ground. After returning it, they found scratches on the right side and incorrectly assumed I had crashed. I honestly would have admitted if it was my fault as I have spent some time here on Lanta and knew a good mechanic who could fix for cheap and would have gotten it checked out right away. But since I didn't do anything I didn;t bring it anywhere. But here are the real problems I encountered with the family at this point:

1. They refused to let another mechanic even look at the bike. They insisted their mechanic knew the history and wouldn;t even consider letting me take the bike to get a scond opinion.
2. The price started at 4000 baht for repairs. Then suddenly it dropped to 2000. If these were legitimate and fixed prices as they insisted they were via paperwork, than how could the price ever be slashed in half? A true sign of shadiness.
3. They were extremely rude, unhelpful, and tried to make me feel awful about the situation.

In hindsight there was nothing I could have done differently at the time. I had to sign the contract to rent the bike, something unavoidable. I should have taken pictures although to be honest I;ve never had a moto company investigate a bike so closely before. In the end, all I can do is write this review and hopefully someone will avoid coming here and making the same mistake I did which was trusting these people.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank skatz1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We should have paid attention to the strange vibes we got when we checked into this place. Technically, we booked at "A Little Nice Place By The Road", which seems to be an extension-in-progress of Sonya Guesthouse, run by a Swedish guy who was nice enough. When we arrived, however, we were told that our room was to be in the Sonya Guesthouse, and not A Little Nice Place By The Road, "All is the same, we are all friends here! No worries!" Fine. So we checked into Sonya. Unfortunately, after the first day, this Swedish guy was nowhere to be seen, and we ended up interacting mostly with the family that runs the Sonya Guesthouse, who were unfriendly, unhelpful, and in some cases downright rude, running out of the room and hiding when we wanted to ask simple things like "where is the bathroom?". Speaking of, the bathrooms, even for SE Asia standards, were pretty deplorable. The room itself also had numerous insect problems, and the mosquito net was full of holes. Their description states that they are "on the beach", when they are in fact about a 5 minute walk down the road, through a different resort's driveway.

The worst experience came when we rented a motorbike from the Sonya staff. We paid 250B for a bike, and the guy showed us all the damage done to the bike beforehand, and said "don't worry about these scratches here, we know about them. It's fine." Gesturing vaguely to the front and side of the bike. There were huge gashes along the front right of the bike, and down the side. Obviously this bike had been in some sort of accident before, and he seemed pretty nonchalant about it, so we took off, and had a great day on the bike. Big mistake. It never left our sight the whole day we were with it, and we had absolutely no problems with it. The next day, I went to the desk to get my passport back (they keep it as a "deposit"), and a different woman told me "oh no! you had accident! you pay!". I was shocked to hear this, as we honestly hadn't done a single thing to this bike while we had it. Surely we thought she must be talking about a different bike. She took us over to our bike, pointed to all the scratches that the first guy had pointed out to us the previous day, and said "new! new scratches!". Then the guy from yesterday came over, looked at the bike, and said "There are new scratches here! You must have crashed or somebody crashed into you!" We were still in disbelief that this guy could be so dishonest with such a straight face. He started pointing to the lower half of a set of scratches that were obviously the result of the same accident, which had been there when he showed us the bike at first, and said "These are new. The ones up here are old, but these are new." We went back and forth for a few minutes, and finally I gave up and said "I won't pay for damages that I'm not responsible for!" and he said "Fine. We keep your passport, no problem.". Then he walked away and wouldn't talk to us again. After a few minutes stewing in frustration, I finally asked the woman "Okay, so you're holding my passport hostage. How much to get it back?" She then started punching random numbers into her calculator. She started with 2500B. "I don't have that much." "Okay, 2000B." "I don't have that much either!" "Okay, how much do you have?" I said I have 1800B. "Okay." Obviously a blatant example of extortion. We were supposed to stay for an additional night but we immediately packed our bags and left.

We are honest people, and if we had gotten into an accident, or even put minor scratches on the bike, we would have owned up to it, and paid a fair price to repair the bike. We even rented a car in Australia a few months, back, actually did ding the front, and paid a very generous amount for this error, despite the fact that we could have lied and said the scratches were already there. What is so frustrating about these people is that they acted during this situation as if they were the victims, that I had ruined their bike, and that I was trying to screw them, when in fact the exact opposite was true. I would also be shocked if my 1800B ended up anywhere else but in that woman's pocket, where it will be spent anywhere else but a bike repair shop. I just felt so wronged, and it really colored my whole Koh Lanta experience, which was unfortunate.

If you do find yourself here, your best bet is to hit the beach down the road, turn left and check into Bee Bee's Bungalows. We ended up there after this experience, and haven't regretted it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jessicaandtravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed here in 2,5 weeks,
you can rent motorbyke here, you can get help with travel tickets, and lots of other stuff, realy realy good place to stay at.
and the resturant is realy good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haraldh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

A big thanks to Luke and his family for taking such good care of us in regards of organising daytrips, providing excelent food and drink in an enormously friendly family like atmosphere (We didn't sleep there, but we will next time...). We had no worries with getting around and finding the right places to go, fun things to do due to the great information and help provided. Keep up the good work and all the best for the future! We'd definately pass by, if in the region.

Best regards
Nicholas

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTallGuy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pascal1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer auf der Südseite sind ruhiger, hinten raus Blick ins Grüne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexander v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#16 of 85 in Ko Lanta
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#42 of 85 in Ko Lanta
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#17 of 85 in Ko Lanta
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
#3 of 175 in Ko Lanta
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Thip House
Lanta Thip House
#4 of 175 in Ko Lanta
200 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonya Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonya Restaurant & Guesthouse

Address: 62/1 m.2 Klong Khong Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £8 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sonya Restaurant & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing