We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Nik's Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nik's Garden
Ranked #11 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was on the whole was just "fine", right on the beach and clean, but it was completely overpriced. We booked this online so we had somewhere to stay when we arrived, however we would never have chosen this place if we were already on koh lanta and looking around in person as there are so many better options that are less expensive. When we arrived we were immediately disappointed as it was not what we were expecting and once we did a price conversion and compared to other places around the area it became apparent that this place was a rip off. From the pictures it looked as if the space had a larger garden but in fact the hotel is very close to the road. The location is good for when you first arrive as it's central and the staff were friendly and helpful; it's just that the place was far too expensive for what we got and it did not have any atmosphere. On the whole nothing terrible happened and our stay was adequate, but I wouldn't recommend it to friends as it was overpriced and has nothing that sets it apart from the rest of the places on the strip.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaSparkles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    33
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
84
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

My Thai girlfriend and I love staying at Niks Garden in Koh Lanta. We came here last April (end of high season) and now again in January high season. Lovely spot right on Andaman Sea. Owners Daniel and Michael are super helpful and staff is great. Good find!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laird L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Having stayed at other spots on Lanta, we found the beach at Nik's the best by far. As a result of the gentle slope of the beach, swimming is great regardless of what the tide is doing. There are no rocks and as a result of an empty lot next door, the beach is never busy.

The staff at Nik's, particularly Mau, attend promptly to any request. He is welcoming and will teach you some Thai words if interested. Rooms are clean and serviced daily.

Beds are firm, but comfortable. Each room has air conditioning and an apartment sized fridge, especially important to keep some Singh cold during the afternoon prohibition hours.

Nik's will provide a pleasant stay in a great area on the beach. Make sure you bring cash, as they will require you to pay for your entire stay up front, regardless of how long your stay is.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had a wonderful time with my wife Tanya at Nik's. We stayed here in the beginning of December 2013 for 14 days. Nik's Garden is located on the Klong Nin beach which is a stunning, long and clean beach-great for couples. The accommodation was more than adequate for the both of us,was very clean and we found the fridge useful to keep fresh, the pineapples and mangoes we bought at the local fruit shop.The bar was a cool place to hang out in or watch sunset from. The greek salad and the burgers from Otto's restaurant and brought to Nik's were excellent. When we were not doing any sight seeing we just hung back on the beach -playing cards and frisbee and swimming in the blue-green Andaman sea. Daniel/ Michael arranged our transfers from Krabi airport and was very helpful when we had missed our connecting flight into Krabi from Bangkok and kindly rearranged our pick up. Daniel also arranged a snorkelling and sightseeing tour to Koh Phi Phi which the both of us thoroughly enjoyed. Meow was always at hand to help. We were also able to rent scooters which were well maintained from Nik's. Finally all restaurants, bars and super markets were all located at a very convenient distance from our accommodation.

Room Tip: We had a garden facing view room..we found it more than adequate and it was reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NavnMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at Nik's Garden, Khlong Nin, Ko Lanta, Thailand for 4 nights in early December 2013.

We booked it as a change in plans based on our itinerary while touring through Thailand. Seeing some mixed reviews we did not know what to expect. But upon check-in we were glad to be their.

Nik's Garden is located on a great stretch of beach (not rocky - great for swimming) in Ko Lanta. The beach is Khlong Nin. It also happens to be across the street from some great coffee shops - one that we loved to eat at every morning (Shanti Shanti). The rooms are large, the service is good, and the wifi works well.

The property has only 7 rooms and it is never busy because they do not prepare food at the restaurant. They order from a great place two doors down called Otto's.

The owner and the staff are all friendly. Mao is the head of the bar and the hotel. He is top notch and really works hard to provide A+ service. We really enjoyed chatting with him and hanging out on the bar. The massages are great their as well.

The only cons for us are the prices are high for drinks. Also, Otto's is a pricy eat. We wished we could enjoy more drinks at the bar with Mao, but the prices were too high. The other bummer is that the breakfast is not included in the room rates (at least for us). This would have been nice, but again there are plenty of places to have breakfast and the hotel also does cook their own for a charge.

- We also did wake up in the middle of the night each night because of a Muslim prayer comes over loud speakers near by. This happens many times throughout the day and the night.

All in all we were happy to stay for four nights at Nik's Garden.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTravelRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

--- short version ---
Small (7 rooms), very picturesque resort directly on the very relaxed Klong Nin-Beach, with a very family-like atmosphere. If you don't want servile service staff, but friends, you're at the right place.

--- long version ---
We were at Nik's Garden from end of october till mid november, and stayed in one of the beach front bungalows. Although the rate is not on backpacker level, you get what you pay for: a quite large wooden floor private patio in front of the bungalow, perfect for sitting around looking at the sea (and the glorious sunset. The bungalows itself are concrete, with A/C and hot water. The floor is tiled with black tiles, and are quite clean, as is the very spacious bathroom.

But the accommodation itself wasn’t the thing that got me raving about Nik’s Garden, it’s the staff. Starting from the two swiss owners, Daniel and Mike: Daniel is living in Thailand for a long time, and has lots of good advice what to do on Lanta - we will not forgot the overnight trip to Koh Rok, which is not advertised at all, but Daniel told us about it! The Massage Ladies, Na and Yaa, are also very friendly and know their stuff, and especially Na is always good for some jokes and chitchat, and also hour-long discussions about living and loving in Thailand and Europe (and she’s maybe the best cook on Lanta). And finally, the Manager, Meaow: A true asset - spent some time in switzerland, and knows what makes the Farangs (us) tick. He was always looking after us, caring if we had everything, babysitting our then 7-month-old daughter et cetera et cetera.

Bottom Line: If you want to be aloof from the service staff and be left alone with your privacy, maybe the larger resorts are better suited for you. But if you want resort-level amenities mixed with being immersed in a Thai family - go there!

We’ll be back!

Room Tip: My favorite is the leftern (southernmost) beach front bungalow: large private patio, bed looking ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkxl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

. Unfortunately, we visited in low season so we were the only guests. We did not bother staying on our own but can imagine that it is more comfortable and nice to stay with more guests and have a chat at the bar. I can highly recommend this place if it is high season. If it is low season you might want to look after another place with more people staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterpanda1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
5.2 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
4.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.1 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nik's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nik's Garden

Property: Nik's Garden
Address: 131 Moo 6 Khlong Nin, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nik's Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nik's Garden is a small beachfront resort in the middle of the beautiful Klong Nin beach on Ko Lanta. Ideally located between the main road and the beach, we offer some cozy rooms and bungalows set among a tropical lush garden. Relax at a Sala in our garden, enjoy a massage with sea view, sunbath on our white sandy beach or round up your days at our chilled little Beachbar.You can choose your breakfast à la carte on a daily base and enjoy the beautiful view of the Andaman Sea in the morning.It’s a place where your most difficult decision of the day will be, if you have a snack at the bar before the massage or just a freshly squeezed juice: Why spoil the day with work, if it works to be spoilt by the day.The timeless magic that makes this place and this island so special cannot be broken by a few modern conveniences.Nik’s Garden and Team wishes you an excellent stay and an unforgettable holiday with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nik's Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing