We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nik's Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nik's Garden
Ranked #12 of 141 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night when we decided to extend our stay in Lanta. The lady in the bar area was extremely friendly and helpful and offered to show us the room available before we committed. Its located on a fabulous stretch of golden sandy beach with plenty of small beach bars and restaurants within walking distance. The room itself was basic but had everything you need. Hot shower, Flushing toilet, Good air conditioning, Fridge and comfy bed. The price is in line with all other accommodation along the beach, I would say you pay approx. £4 more per night here for the luxury of a hot shower and air con, but £4 well spent. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalO182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    33
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
82
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Nik's early February and had a blast. Daniel, the manager was extremely helpful with everything we wanted. It's also next to Ottos bar and grill which has amazing western food for those looking for a break from Thai food.

It's convenient to everywhere on klong nin too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SmoothCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was on the whole was just "fine", right on the beach and clean, but it was completely overpriced. We booked this online so we had somewhere to stay when we arrived, however we would never have chosen this place if we were already on koh lanta and looking around in person as there are so many better options that are less expensive. When we arrived we were immediately disappointed as it was not what we were expecting and once we did a price conversion and compared to other places around the area it became apparent that this place was a rip off. From the pictures it looked as if the space had a larger garden but in fact the hotel is very close to the road. The location is good for when you first arrive as it's central and the staff were friendly and helpful; it's just that the place was far too expensive for what we got and it did not have any atmosphere. On the whole nothing terrible happened and our stay was adequate, but I wouldn't recommend it to friends as it was overpriced and has nothing that sets it apart from the rest of the places on the strip.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaSparkles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

My Thai girlfriend and I love staying at Niks Garden in Koh Lanta. We came here last April (end of high season) and now again in January high season. Lovely spot right on Andaman Sea. Owners Daniel and Michael are super helpful and staff is great. Good find!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laird L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Having stayed at other spots on Lanta, we found the beach at Nik's the best by far. As a result of the gentle slope of the beach, swimming is great regardless of what the tide is doing. There are no rocks and as a result of an empty lot next door, the beach is never busy.

The staff at Nik's, particularly Mau, attend promptly to any request. He is welcoming and will teach you some Thai words if interested. Rooms are clean and serviced daily.

Beds are firm, but comfortable. Each room has air conditioning and an apartment sized fridge, especially important to keep some Singh cold during the afternoon prohibition hours.

Nik's will provide a pleasant stay in a great area on the beach. Make sure you bring cash, as they will require you to pay for your entire stay up front, regardless of how long your stay is.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had a wonderful time with my wife Tanya at Nik's. We stayed here in the beginning of December 2013 for 14 days. Nik's Garden is located on the Klong Nin beach which is a stunning, long and clean beach-great for couples. The accommodation was more than adequate for the both of us,was very clean and we found the fridge useful to keep fresh, the pineapples and mangoes we bought at the local fruit shop.The bar was a cool place to hang out in or watch sunset from. The greek salad and the burgers from Otto's restaurant and brought to Nik's were excellent. When we were not doing any sight seeing we just hung back on the beach -playing cards and frisbee and swimming in the blue-green Andaman sea. Daniel/ Michael arranged our transfers from Krabi airport and was very helpful when we had missed our connecting flight into Krabi from Bangkok and kindly rearranged our pick up. Daniel also arranged a snorkelling and sightseeing tour to Koh Phi Phi which the both of us thoroughly enjoyed. Meow was always at hand to help. We were also able to rent scooters which were well maintained from Nik's. Finally all restaurants, bars and super markets were all located at a very convenient distance from our accommodation.

Room Tip: We had a garden facing view room..we found it more than adequate and it was reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NavnMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at Nik's Garden, Khlong Nin, Ko Lanta, Thailand for 4 nights in early December 2013.

We booked it as a change in plans based on our itinerary while touring through Thailand. Seeing some mixed reviews we did not know what to expect. But upon check-in we were glad to be their.

Nik's Garden is located on a great stretch of beach (not rocky - great for swimming) in Ko Lanta. The beach is Khlong Nin. It also happens to be across the street from some great coffee shops - one that we loved to eat at every morning (Shanti Shanti). The rooms are large, the service is good, and the wifi works well.

The property has only 7 rooms and it is never busy because they do not prepare food at the restaurant. They order from a great place two doors down called Otto's.

The owner and the staff are all friendly. Mao is the head of the bar and the hotel. He is top notch and really works hard to provide A+ service. We really enjoyed chatting with him and hanging out on the bar. The massages are great their as well.

The only cons for us are the prices are high for drinks. Also, Otto's is a pricy eat. We wished we could enjoy more drinks at the bar with Mao, but the prices were too high. The other bummer is that the breakfast is not included in the room rates (at least for us). This would have been nice, but again there are plenty of places to have breakfast and the hotel also does cook their own for a charge.

- We also did wake up in the middle of the night each night because of a Muslim prayer comes over loud speakers near by. This happens many times throughout the day and the night.

All in all we were happy to stay for four nights at Nik's Garden.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTravelRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.0 mi away
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
#10 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Rim Lay
Baan Rim Lay
#5 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soontreeya Lanta
Soontreeya Lanta
#4 of 141 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonya Restaurant & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nik's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nik's Garden

Property: Nik's Garden
Address: 131 Moo 6 Khlong Nin, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nik's Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nik's Garden is a small beachfront resort in the middle of the beautiful Klong Nin beach on Ko Lanta. Ideally located between the main road and the beach, we offer some cozy rooms and bungalows set among a tropical lush garden. Relax at a Sala in our garden, enjoy a massage with sea view, sunbath on our white sandy beach or round up your days at our chilled little Beachbar.You can choose your breakfast à la carte on a daily base and enjoy the beautiful view of the Andaman Sea in the morning.It’s a place where your most difficult decision of the day will be, if you have a snack at the bar before the massage or just a freshly squeezed juice: Why spoil the day with work, if it works to be spoilt by the day.The timeless magic that makes this place and this island so special cannot be broken by a few modern conveniences.Nik’s Garden and Team wishes you an excellent stay and an unforgettable holiday with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing