We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury, impeccable service”
Review of Alanta Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alanta Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I are currently staying here for our honeymoon, and I felt inclined to leave comments about our stay so far because I'm so pleased that we spent a few extra dollars to stay at such a fantastic place. Alanta Villas are stunning, private, and impeccably clean. The service you get from Geng, the owner of the villas, is so friendly and helpful - he wants you to feel relaxed and happy, and makes it possible for you to not even lift a finger! Every detail is looked after - from complimentary breakfast items in the fridge to flashlights and mosquito picks, everything you could need is stored neatly in the villa. The best thing about Alanta villas is how it manages to be luxurious and high end, without losing touch with authentic, natural surroundings - this is so far from the generic atmosphere you get at so many resorts! The villas are decorated with beautiful Asian accents, the landscaping is lovely, the private pool is welcoming after a day out in the sun, and the open-air bathroom is really awesome (having your morning shower with butterflies fluttering around is a great way to start the day!) I can't recommend this place highly enough - do yourself a favour and stay here for an absolutely amazing holiday :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandiPandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

After a week on Phuket we moved on to Koh Lanta. We had stayed in Krabi many years ago but when I checked out Krabi and Phi Phi Island it was not the sort of holiday we were after. Everything had changed, not necessarily for the better.
Due to it being low season the boat transfers to Koh Lanta were not available so it was a five hour drive via minivan from Phuket to Koh Lanta, which includes two ferry crossings to get from the mainland to Koh Lanta .
Everything was booked online through Alanta Villas, including the transfer there and back,. This was relatively hassle free apart from having to pay two deposits and the remainder, in cash, on arrival and incurring substantial bank fees in the process.
A word of warning here if you are using the transport recommended by Alanta Villas. The driver had some sort of death wish and we were genuinely in fear of our lives a number of times. The trip took five hours going down and four coming back, at 120+km/hr in blinding rain at times. This was taken up with the company on our return and I am confident the matter has been rectified. As anywhere else in Asia there are plenty of transport options available.
We arrived on Koh Lanta at Saladan, it is the main town and ferry terminal on Koh Lanta. There are a number of shops, restaurants and banks in Saladan. I mention banks as we never saw a money changer, apart from the banks during our stay. It may be different in the larger resorts but we never went there. Apart from that there are not many other shops on Koh Lanta apart from the inevitable minimart and 7/11.
Alanta Villas is approximately 10-15 minutes South of Saladan. It was an inauspicious start when we turned off the road onto a muddy track, however this improved after 200m and was a smooth concrete road for another 200m before entering the gates of Alanta and Saneh Villas. By way of explanation these are two separate Villa units within the one complex. Alanta has four villas inside the gate and Saneh another six further up the hill. Saneh are for sale and rent whereas Alanta are only for rent. Geng the resident manager has an interest in both complexes.
There is a large swimming pool and change facilities at the top of the area for communal use, however having our own pool we never used the main pool.
We were met by Geng and some of the staff and taken into our villa through the typical Balinese temple gates. All four Alanta Villas are identical in layout and facilities, we had the first unit inside the gates.
Breathtaking is the first reaction, it is exactly as you see it on the internet only better in real life.There was a large open pavilion on our right that contained the lounge with large flat screen TV and DVD player, which flowed in to the dining room and the kitchen. All beautifully appointed and the attention to detail and the small touches made it even better. There is free wi-fi and a kitchen that has everything you could ever want and then some, and all of a very high quality.
At the end of the pavilion were the two totally separate bedrooms, airconditioned and fan of course, and without a doubt the most comfortable beds and pillows we have ever slept in. we are even trying to buy the pillows at home!
And then the "piece de resistance" the outdoor bathroom, shower and toilet, again beautifully presented and immaculately clean.
Then there is the outside - our own 6x5m pool, lounges and umbrella and outdoor pool shower in immaculately groomed gardens.
Everything was cleaned daily, including he pool. There were a couple of minor maintenance issues that were fixed or replaced immediately by the pool/maintenance guy.
Geng was very helpful and knowlegeable and arranged motor bikes for us, which we glad to hand back. It is very easy to ride around Koh Lanta, but when you are as bad as us the minivan is a better option. There are any number of drivers touting for business but we lucked on to Farouk, who was a delight. Very reliable and prompt whenever we rang.
The villas are approx 400m to the road and then another 200m to the beach. Unfortunately we were unable to use the beach due to the rough windswept conditions during our stay. This also limited any water based activities. One of the drawbacks of going low season. However, conversely nothing was ever crowded and a lot of the accommodation and restaurants were closed for the season. The units are 300m from Nengs restaurant, deservedly #1 restaurant and other smaller restaurants and shops.
Time for Lime was a hit both as a restaurant and cooking class, but as the "lazy partner" I was only allowed to watch and eat. Relax Bay restaurant was not as good, beautiful location on the beach but the food was not as good as others we had experienced, despite a 20% discount courtesy of Geng and Alanta Villas - same owner.
If you can find better accommodation on Koh Lanta I doubt it. It is obviously not for everyone being self contained and away from the night life, shops and restaurants, but nothing is far on Koh Lanta. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are no best rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TasMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Think: Designer space, Modern, Outside living space, Close to shops and local restaurants, friendly staff, Effortless stay.

Stayed here for a few days for our Honeymoon.

This exclusive villa sits in a small compound just in from the coast. There are 4 rental properties and a half dozen other owned ones from their sister company in the same compound, making it personal but still retaining privacy.

The 2 bed accom is outstanding, with all the mod cons, including A/C and plasma TV/DVD. The kitchen is well equipped if you fancy cooking yourself or just having breakfast.

The beach is close but you are not right on the beach so it is much quieter (and nicer) in my opinion.

'Ghen', the compound host, arranged an effortless transfer from our other accomodation on the island, as well as dropping us off at the bus station upon our departure. Also on hand to arrange anything from renting scooters to offering advice on where to eat/drink.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All acom is great. Satisfaction guaranteed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhysotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My family and I stayed in Alanta Villa during the Christmas season and it was beautiful. The villa had two gorgeous rooms and one of them had an extra bed, so it slept 5 people total. The design, layout, and styling are all top notch. The outdoor dining room kitchen is very enjoyable and the private pool in the villa was great. It was perfect for swimming or lounging in the chairs, you could lay in the sun or under the umbrella. The staff keep everything very clean and maintained well!

It is not on the beach, but a short walk away from a really nice beach. It is also close to a reasonable amount of restaurants shops, but there isn't a huge selection. We rented scooters for the week, so that we could get around more. Geng, the manager, was terrific and helped us rent the scooters and setup some trips in the area. He used to be a dive instructor in the area for a number of years and has great knowledge of the area.

I would definitely recommend Alanta Villa to anyone with a larger group who wants to stay together or for anyone looking for some private relaxation. It was very beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grant24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Newly opened and built villas by same owners as Resort Bay. Not cheap for Ko Lanta standards if you are a couple at £100 per night (we were offered a good discount which was very generous and kind) but fantastic value if a going as a family or 2 couples as the smallest villa (which we stayed in) has 2 spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, private pool, very large open plan lounge with large flat screen TV and DVD player and fully equipped kitchen area.

Top quality luxury accommodation – extremely comfortable beds, lovely soft bed linen, sun loungers, Ipod dock, safe in both rooms, laundry service, water provided daily, and small details such as mosquito coils all provided. No downsides at all unless you want the convenience of a resort for breakfast and restaurant facilities on site and direct beach access

Maid service & pool cleaning once a day, 24hr security, on site concierge (9-6pm) the friendly and charming Geng, provides all services including transfers, scooter hire, day trips, even your own chef in villa if required! However, do check on boat transfers to other islands with Geng as we were booked on the wrong boat for our transfer to Ko Lipe.

The villas are located 150 yards from nearest beach with numerous relaxed and chilled out beach bars and restaurants and half that distance to the main road where it was easy to pick up tuk tuks to anywhere you needed. 5 min up the road to other good value restaurants and shops including Neng 1 of the most highly rated restaurants on Trip Advisor (good food and fantastic value, we ate there twice). ATM 5 min away and 7 Eleven for breakfast/snack supplies. There is sparse info on the website about the location and facilities which makes you think it will be somewhere remote but it very well located for everything you need. To find on google maps it's on the opposite side to Lanta Thai Cookery School. (We did a course there last year and can recommend it for a fun few hours).

We had a wonderfully relaxing time at Lanta Villas and would definitely stay again and recommend it highly. I just hope they don't all get bought up as they are also for sale!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellabijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Alanta Villa for a week. We had such a great time in this villa all we can said is " What a lovely villa!" The villa are brand new 2 Bedrooms fully furnished Balinese style (This villa made us feel like we stay in Bali : ) ,private swimming pool and really relaxing. If you like to cooked just like me you will enjoy this villa so much because they provided fully kitchenware and great qualities. In this villa also have a cable TV and High Speed Wi-Fi Internet. We felt like what a perfect holiday for us! The most important thing we have to mention about this villa is "The magic bed!" the bed here are so incredible comfortable we had such a great sleep every nights since we stayed this villa. It's totally recharge our battery and we are ready to continue our duty : )Thank you to all the lovely staff here who made us feel so special. We will come back to stay at Alanta Villa again very soon. Looking forward for return. The best Villa on Ko Lanta : )

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AeyJolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed in this lovely villa one week with some friends, it's very peaceful, the pool is magic to hang out when the afternoon sun is crazy hot. Villas are brand new, very well decorated with some antiques and beds are just amazing.... so comfy !!!... we loved it. Thanks to the helpful staff even if communication is not always easy in Thailand :-)

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asiaisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.4 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,484 reviews
4.5 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
2.2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
4.9 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alanta Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanta Villa

Address: 429 Moo 2, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £81 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alanta Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ko Lanta, unspoiled island of Andaman sea, Alanta Villa offers 2 bedrooms villas with private pool, Dining area and expansive al fresco living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Alanta Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing